We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Show Prices
#45 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,539 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,397: English reviews
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

the staff at this hotel were amazing. Every one of them we encountered were very pleasant & always made time to speak to us & offer advice on the attractions to visit. They were particularly friendly to our seven year old son. The hotel & our room were very clean, the room was huge, warm & welcoming after a long...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 513psw
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at this hotel. Every member of staff we encountered was helpful, friendly and professional. This was the first time we had stayed at this hotel but look forward to returning on our next visit to Edinburgh.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne M
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for 3 night short break for my wife's birthday from 12th January. We had great service from moment we arrived to when we left. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good plenty to choose from and the staff at breakfast very friendly and willing to have a chat about plans for the day. Hotel in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1dartmoore
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear 1dartmoore, Thank you for choosing the hotel to celebrate your wife's birthday. Although I am delighted to read that you both had a great time at the hotel, I would like to apologise for the dreary weather that has impacted the light within the room. We are working through an enhancement program for lighting which will see spot lights...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My family chose to have our Christmas Day meal at the Family Carvery being offered by the Doubletree Hotel, and we had an excellent experience. The staff were very helpful, the food excellent both in terms of quality and choice, and an activities room for the five boys with us meant that they fully enjoyed the experience. As Grandad, I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Douglas0504
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Douglas0504, Thank you for choosing the hotel to celebrate Christmas with our first Family Carvery on Christmas Day. I am delighted to read tat you had a great time with the family highlighting Alain and Murray as being particularly helpful throughout. I appreciate your feedback which will be shared with the team at large but more importantly with Alain...

Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here on business and got a great rate (<£70 0per night, breakfast an extra £10). First impressions were good. Reception staff were friendly, check in was quick and I got a warm cookie! The room was ok (bit of a weird shape, very long and narrow) - clean and pretty well equipped. Breakfast was excellent, with one small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wolframwolfred
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Wolframwolfred, Thank you for staying with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh whilst on business. I am happy to read that everything was perfect except the breakfast timings which was clearly unacceptable as we all know the time the buffet should be ready daily. I will discuss this with the Restaurant Manager today to understand why this occurred...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fantastic Hotel, most friendliest and kind staff. Location excellent near grassmarket and we had a fantastic view onthe 4th floor of the castle Evening menu at Hotel poor, food disappointing but apart from that Fantastic Hotel

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jean D
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Jean D, Thank you for choosing the hotel and for sharing your experience. Although I am delighted to read that your stay was a good one, I am sorry to read that you found the food offering and quality poor which is disappointing. Your feedback is important to us and will be shared with the team to understand your...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

fantastic hotel very friendly staff. went away for my wifes birthday she loved it. supurb city 5star. would highly recommend hotel and city loads of pubs and clubs loads to do. breakfast in hotel was spot on....no complaints

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arron B
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Arron B, Thank you for choosing the hotel to celebrate your wife's birthday in Edinburgh. I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with the team and hotel's location the highlights from a great city break and celebration. Until next time, Ronald Little General Manager

Essex, England
Reviewed 1 week ago

Easy check-in and welcomed warmly I chose the room beforehand and was pleased with my choice. Very clean, immaculate! Views of the Castle which was nice Bit noisey early in the morning due to bins being collected, but it's a City, so what do you expect Breakfast is well worth it, top quality and great selection. Service is top notch,...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorraine C
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine C, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with an early arrival catered for, great view of Edinburgh Castle from your room, a fabulous breakfast and great service to top it off. I appreciate your feedback and time and look forward...

Glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel let down by a few issues. Firstly the hotel is in a good location walking distance to haymarket station and right next to Edinburgh Castle with some stunning views. There are many shops and cinema close by too. Rooms are big and fairly modern but quite dusty in places. Main issues were with poor breakfast quality, air conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diablos5
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Diablos5, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry that your stay fell short due to issues experienced for which i would like to sincerely apologise. I appreciate that you brought this to out attention on departure and hope that the team Made it Right before you left to apologise. Kind regards Ronald Little...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Large - 140 rooms – business/tourist hotel located in central Edinburgh. The exterior of the building of the hotel is oldish and gives the impression that it has been converted from an old office building – I am uncertain if this is correct. However, the interior lacks a certain amount of charm or architectural merit. Apart from this observation, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marc S
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Marc S, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel after your recent stay. I am happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and can confirm that the hotel was converted from a Co-Operative Department store with the building dating back to 1892, 1912 and 1935 as the building is actually in 3...

656 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (289)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (118)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (299)
Viewed
Amenities (70)
Viewed
Guest Room (50)
Viewed
Junior Suite (74)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
731 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#61 of 150 in Edinburgh
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,577 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,329 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh enjoying beautiful views of the city and castle, the iconic listed hotel boasts 138 modern guest rooms, Bread Street Brasserie, Monboddo Bar, roof top terrace and conference centre with 3 meeting and event rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Address: 34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $133 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre Scotland
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get one with a Castle view”
 of 5 bubbles Douglas0504, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter, although the street at the front isn't that busy at night”
 of 5 bubbles Wolframwolfred, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask about room outlook as I believe many have good views but the one we had was poor”
 of 5 bubbles Zabza29, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“At the back would be quieter but does not have a view”
 of 5 bubbles CSPtraveller, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“higher the better and end of the halls”
 of 5 bubbles IlluminatingRose, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay