We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Twelve Picardy Place

Show Prices
#96 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Twelve Picardy Place
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 287: English reviews
Start your review of Twelve Picardy Place
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Birthday treat from partner Great hotel lovely big room very central staff all very helpful can't fault anything about our stay even when our room wasn't ready was given a complementary drink will definitely visit again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ailes70
Twelve Picardy P, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Mairéad

Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was excellent and on third floor rear the view over the Firth of Forth was fantastic the only gripe was no lift a lot of stairs. The facilities in the were superb so no complaints I would recommend this hotel to any one except the elderly if on third floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
Twelve Picardy P, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your lovely review. As the building is listed and protected by the law, we are unable to change it's structure, which is why, like many buildings in Edinburgh, we do not have a lift. I am glad that this was not a problem for you; we do advise of this on our website so I...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

A friend booked me into 12 Picardy Place for the last night of my trip to Scotland. Given the price, my expectations were low. Clearly, given the title of my review, I was way off. The hotel is small (13 rooms I believe) but absolutely charming. Each of the rooms is named after one of Scotland's abundant Lochs. Mine was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KSahyoun
Twelve Picardy P, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your lovely 5-star review and kind words. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we can welcome you back to Twelve Picardy Place in the future again. All of our guests who book with us directly receive an automatic 10% discount which is a good tip to be aware...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return & would recommend it. Thankyou for a very pleasant mini break! Pros: Executive double "Loch Eck" -Modern , Spacious & Very Clean -Skylight with retractable B/O blind -Comfy bed & Pillows -3D & Sky TV -Extra Heater provided - Nice towels & Robes -Complementary milk tea coffee water & biscuits...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zjcogger
Twelve Picardy P, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to return. We do provide a hairdryer in each bedroom, these are located in one of the bedside tables in the small shelf, sometimes it might be pushed towards the back...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend recently stated in this hotel for 3 nights. Our flight arrived in Edinburgh very early so we arrived at the hotel at 9am and they had our room ready for us and allowed us to check in!! Another great surprise was that we got a free room upgrade! The staff in the hotel were so friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
Twelve Picardy P, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your lovely 5-star review and your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future. We pride ourselves on our customer service standards and so I am delighted to hear that you found our team to be...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We've just spent three nights at the hotel, we had a lovely suite with a huge bathroom, and it is very clean and tidy. The staff were helpful and the reception area was welcoming with someone there all of the time. The hotel is in good location for the tram restaurants, and the shops, all just a few metres away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jo50hun
Twelve Picardy P, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I appreciate your feedback. I hope we can welcome you back again in the future and achieve a 5 star rating. Please be aware, that if you do decide to return, you will receive a 10% discount if book with us directly. Kind regards, Mairéad

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

very nice hotel in a great position in edinburgh some great eating places and pubs in broughton st and surrounding area, the room are very spacious and they have all the mod cons it has no lift so could be a problem for some but did not bother us would stay here again loved it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mac8156
Twelve Picardy P, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your kind review. I hope we can welcome you back again in the future and change this 4-star review into 5-stars. Please be aware that should you decide to return, that you will receive the best available rate if you book with us directly, as our direct guests receive an automatic 10%. Kind regards, Mairéad

Reviewed 20 February 2017

My Wife and I recently spent a lovely weekend here, from the moment we arrived to all throughout our stay the service was first class. We arrived early in the morning before check in and the receptionist on duty allowed us to leave our luggage while we explored the city and then gave us a call as soon as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aspen0801
Twelve Picardy P, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your kind words and 5-star review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Please be aware that should you decide to return, we will always be able to offer the best rate available, offering a 10% discount for guests...

Wishaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We have stayed a few times at this hotel now and love the quirky rooms. Only complaint is the rainforest shower head - you expect an amazon downfall and it's a light trickle. Bar area with the fire lovely and the staff pleasant and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hmcghee68
Twelve Picardy P, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the Steak on Stones Bar area. I am sorry to hear that you didn't find the pressure to be strong enough in your room, I will be sure to investigate this with our Plumber, thank you for notifying me. I hope we...

Reviewed 16 February 2017

We had a nice stay recently at this hotel; we booked two rooms on the top floor. Positives: - Great location for the Play House and shopping centre. - Good location for plenty of restaurants. - Rooms had a quality feel, nicely fitted bathrooms. - 20-minute walk to Waverly Station Negatives: - No lifts, it's a very long climb to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
Twelve Picardy P, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed that we do not provide a breakfast service and that the hotel does not have a lift. As the building is listed and its structure protected by the law, there is no wheelchair...

349 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (161)
Viewed
Other (53)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
771 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,208 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Twelve Picardy Place Hotel is an oasis of comfort, style and sophistication in the heart of Edinburgh City Centre. Centrally located in a Georgian townhouse, it is one of the most innovative venues that can be found in the Scottish Capital and an extravagant playpen for the most discerning of guests. A celebration of edgy Scottish glamour and individuality, Twelve Picardy Place is small boutique hotel with a big personality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Twelve Picardy Place

Address: 12 Picardy Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $118 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Twelve Picardy Place 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, HRS, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Twelve Picardy Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twelve Picardy Place Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Twelve Picardy Place staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Wallasey, United Kingdom
2 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Twelve Picardy Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views and quieter to rear of hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles alanj108, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My room faced the front. I feared it would be loud. I heard nothing at all.”
 of 5 bubbles KSahyoun, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the back looks over the water.”
 of 5 bubbles les046, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front facing rooms have a beautiful view.”
 of 5 bubbles anne572015, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Dont book room on top floor enquire about ventilation”
 of 5 bubbles Frecklesdog, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5