We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Piries Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Piries Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

584 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Piries Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 431: English reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

So booked this for my birthday back in April. Forgot to write a review at the time. Room was vile yellow stains on the pillows and they had no covers, stained walls and sheets. Hairs all over bed including what looked like pubic hairs. Had to leave and stayed in a different hotel Glad it was through superbreak, as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blurtle
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. It took me a while to find your records as you have stayed last April 2013. First I would like to apologize for your experience but I have to say that you didn't give the team 5 minutes to put things right(change your room for example) With regards to refund. the team were...

Reviewed 17 July 2013

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights in July. The hotel was like an oven and there is no aircon and only small window to open. Other rooms bathroom extractor fans extremely noisy and lots of noise from other guests. Breakfast was a disappointment - we were told that we had an upgrade and breakfast was included but when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theholidaymaker113
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh. May I take this opportunity and clear that your package you booked with Superbreaks was standard twin room only(breakfast not included). The reception staff did explain at check in and have managed to upgrade your booking to an executive twin room I agree that...

Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst in Edinburgh. This hotel is very nice. We got upgraded to a suite too which was unexpected and very nice! The staff were friendly and the hotel is clean. The breakfast is okay. If you go expecting a full cooked breakfast then you will be disappointed as it is a continental. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bigblade40
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and Piries team was up to your expectations Once again may I take this opportunity and thank you for staying with us Looking forward to welcome you in not too far...

Reviewed 24 June 2013

After a 7 hour drive to get here we find out that there is no Parking and that we will have to Pay £12 a day to park at the premier inn... Not amused. Room is small, bathroom is modern but door is broken and all the bedroom floor is damp. Not overly impressed. Reception staff are very helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chazeh S
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your stay at Piries hotel, Edinburgh I agree that parking arrangement is not the best but we have no control over it. with regards to wet floor. after investigation it appears that the radiator was leaking overnight in your room which caused the carpet to be wet..The issue has...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I was only staying in Edinburgh for one night (on route to the airport) but I couldn't haven't picked a better hotel for that one night. The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, it shares the street with homes and other guest houses but does have a large sign so it's easy to spot. At the road end,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your stay with us at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh I am delighted that Piries and its team have made your stay enjoyable May I take this opportunity to thank you and hopping for a return visit to extend our hospitality further Kind Regards Khaled Ibrahim

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2013

me and my girlfriend stayed for 3 nights in room 8, The room was very clean and a nice good size for us, we haven't got 1 bad word to say about this hotel. The staff were great and helpful and met all the standards anyone could ask for. The breakfast was really nice too. If you're looking for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh I am delighted that your stay was enjoyable with us Looking forward to welcome you in near future Regards Khaled Ibrahim General Manager

East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A pleasant hotel offering reasonable value REooms were clen and large .Good as a stopover for a night or two.On the main bus route to city centre and from airport ,however a pleasant walk to the city.One drawback was a lack of reasonable restaurants in the area Breakfast included in rate was adequate

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foodfreak550
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh I am delighted that Piries and the team have provided you with a satisfactory service Once again we thank you for your customs Regards Khaled Ibrahim General Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The Piries was an okay hotel for our weekend away in Edinburgh for the money we paid. Definetely wouldnt have wanted to pay anymore though. The room was very very small and was really warm (too warm) but the bathroom was really nice and modern. Flat screen TV. On our last morning, we were in bed in the buff and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim E
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments on your last stay at Piries hotel, Edinburgh.. Your comments has been discussed with all team members to review the procedures and move forward Please accept my apology for the inconvenient we may caused Regards Khaled Ibrahim

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I chose this hotel as it was ideally located for the reason I was in Edinburgh. As some other reviewers have said, the photos used to "sell" the hotel really paint a VERY different picture to reality. I feel it was WAY overpriced for the what you got - only a 3 star so I wasn't expecting super luxury but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrmatey
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your time and comments on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh We take all our guests comments very seriously and address them when appropriate. Please accept my apology for the inconvenient during your stay Regards Khaled Ibrahim

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The hotel is in a fairly quiet location near to Haymarket station. Many of the main roads in the area are closed due to the ongoing saga of laying the tramway which will continue for sometime. This can make driving to the hotel difficult in you want to drop off or park nearby. The reception staff were very efficient and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BT0409
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh I have discussed all the issues mentioned in your review with the hotel duty manager and other concerned department Once again thank you for highlighting these concerns which I believe it will help us to move forward in a better operations Please...

258 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Executive Twin Room (34)
Viewed
Junior Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (16)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#142 of 150 in Edinburgh
246 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#145 of 150 in Edinburgh
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Twenty
#146 of 150 in Edinburgh
490 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#90 of 150 in Edinburgh
696 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#74 of 150 in Edinburgh
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Piries Hotel

Address: 4-8 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $52 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Piries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piries Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Piries Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Aberdeen
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Malta
over a year ago
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Piries Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I believe rooms in the main building may be more spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles 846Anna, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room 42 as for others no idea apart from a couple of ladies said there room in the m,ain building was a bit small”
 of 5 bubbles philip2781, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 33 at the back so very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles DEEYGEE3, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“in the main part of the Hotel is best.”
 of 5 bubbles Hoops-Morton, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be put into the main part of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Kirstlees73, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay