We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Piries Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Piries Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

598 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 442: English reviews
Start your review of Piries Hotel
 Click to rate
glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just back from a 1 night stay at the hotel after the Rugby, excellent place to stay when going to Murrayfield and our room was lovely and clean and much bigger than expected. The only downside to our stay was the rude young man on recepetion who did not make us feel at all welcome on arrival, he was most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gavinjack10
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I booked the Piries Hotel Friday 3 March till Sunday 5 March - 2nd time at this hotel - quick check in - lovely staff and we were upgraded to a Junior Suite. Lovely large room to the front of the hotel. Hotel convenient for bus, train and tram. Overall a fantastic stay, will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jamesmca2017
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel was an unexpected delight from the early check in free of charge, the warm welcome from the receptionist to the delightful room. Being a 10/15 minute walk from princes street , it was perfectly located next to haymarket The shower itself was my favourite part, best hotel shower I've used. Only issue would be the wifi would cut...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David C
Kouvola, Finland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was okay, bar has not good variations of drinks. No free parking space, very expensive to pay and hard to find a plce to car. Upstair rooms were freezing bc window let the wind in. Sewery didnt work but staff took care of it very quick. Downstairs room was hot and toilet door was broken. Ok stay, if you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shotzz
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted somewhere convenient and comfortable for our first ever trip to Edinburgh and we hit the jackpot first time with Piries. It is just around the corner from the Haymarket train station as well as the tram and bus stop. We'd looked at the map and seen where it was, but in actuality, it was waaay more convenient that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bigsnapper_UK
PiriesManager, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review of your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

County Mayo, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First impressions....surprised it was called a hotel more like a guest house. Reception in a corner. Steps down to "Bar" in another corner. Room we were allocated No. 7 in the basement...tiny...had to walk sideways around the double bed which was under a drafty window. Asked to be moved and in fairness to the chap at reception we were moved...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maryirl2017
PiriesManager, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We acknowledge your comments relating to breakfast and this will be looked into and addressed, with relevant personnel. I have also passed along your constructive feedback about the room size to our owners, who are intending to conduct a full renovation of the hotel in the not too...

Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in the Piries Hotel last night. Last minute booking at low cost to attend a business event. Could not believe the quality and value for money. Hotel was spotlessly clean. My room was large and the staff were excellent- will certainly be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DadP70
PiriesManager, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had the disabled room as I was unable to climb the stairs. It was huge and quite convenient. We didn't eat there. We were in room 13, the sink was badly cracked and we were unable to get the kettle under the tap to fill it up! There was also black gunk around the outlet in the sink. Apart...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grangie60
PiriesManager, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, and for offering such constructive comments. We will address the points you've raised regarding the quality in the bathroom of room 13, as a matter of priority.

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 15 February 2017

If you're landing at Edinburgh Airport hop on the tram heading for town and get off at the Haymarket stop. From here, it's a 2 minute walk to the hotel. After a bit of hassle at check-inn, we were finally given a room earlier than the ridiculous 3pm check in time. The room was large, clean, and nicely decorated. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ADRIANPGalway
PiriesManager, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed yourself. Your comment regarding the hassle at check-in has been noted and will be looked into to prevent further hassles being experienced by our guests in the future.

Penrith, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Stayed for 1 night, through a deal break. If i'd read these reviews before going, i'd have been gutted about my break. In reality the hotel appeared clean and well presented, check in there was a bit of a suprise, we needed photo ID, neither of us had ever had to produce this before when checking in, and neither if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou F
PiriesManager, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review

It is always pleasing to read that we were able to surprise our guests, by exceeding their expectations. Reviews on sites such as this can be very subjective, as they're based on the opinions of individuals and their mood at the time of staying and/or reviewing. I acknowledge the feedback about requiring photo ID at check in. This will be...

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Executive Twin Room (34)
Viewed
Junior Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (16)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#141 of 150 in Edinburgh
248 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#144 of 150 in Edinburgh
369 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#72 of 150 in Edinburgh
983 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Piries Hotel

Address: 4-8 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $64 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Piries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piries Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Piries Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Aberdeen
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Malta
over a year ago
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Piries Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Email ahead for any requests”
 of 5 bubbles jamesmca2017, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't accept a room you are not happy with as they appear to have larger rooms according to other reviews.”
 of 5 bubbles maryirl2017, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“This basement room has stairs going down to it,not easy with luggage. You need to sort out parking,street has residents parking.”
 of 5 bubbles barbarajalmond, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I believe rooms in the main building may be more spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles 846Anna, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room 42 as for others no idea apart from a couple of ladies said there room in the m,ain building was a bit small”
 of 5 bubbles philip2781, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5