We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Budget Backpackers

Save
Traveller (157)
Dining (90)
Room & Suite (73)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good44%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“bed dorm”(40 reviews)
“great location”(90 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
Laundry Service
Free Parking
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
200
246
76
44
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
200
246
76
44
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormthe free walking tourgreat locationpubs and clubscommon roomcommon areasluggage storageshared bathroomroyal milehot watergrass marketedinburgh castlebeds were comfortablewould stay againcity centrehostelunisex
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 593 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good location. Maingy enough with the 2£ towel charges and there was a really bad stench. Other than that it was ok. Close to the three sisters. Don't go to the chipper beside the aus bar. Good weather too.

Thank jimmyber1234
Response from BudgetB, General Manager at Budget BackpackersResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We appreciate the feedback and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels onward from us.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

good location (closed to all attractions). good kitchenette. clean room and toilet. however, was given to stay on 4th floor (5th storey) with toilet on 3th floor, shower on 2nd floor, kitchenette at 1st floor, lobby at ground floor with no elevator ! 200 metres...More

Thank platinumSingapore
Response from BudgetB, Manager at Budget BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so pleased you liked our great location and clean facilities. Our hostel only has 2 floors (Ground, First and Second). and unfortunately we do not have a lift. We hope that you where not too inconvenience by this and yes are located in...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've traveled Europe quite a bit, and this hostel was definitely near the top of my list! Outlets beside your bed (USB included), very clean facilities, fantastic prices and quality at the restaurant/bar, the list goes on! I did take advantage of their free walking...More

Thank Barbara M
Response from BudgetB, Manager at Budget BackpackersResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so very much for your very kind words . We are so pleased your stay with us was such a great experience. We hope you had a safe onward journey and that you will choose to stay with us again when you next...More

Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

Budget Backpackers is a very cozy hostel and nice place, good localization,it is really close to all attractions in Edinburgh, good price and very helpful staff :) the rooms are good as well. Shower and toilet is also fine.

Thank Małgorzata K
Response from BudgetB, Manager at Budget BackpackersResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the great feedback and awesome ratings. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future. BB Manager :)

Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

The team is really nice amd caring and the rooms are good as well. Shower and toilet is also fine. Theresa kitchen as well and you have the possibility to pit your own food, which doesn't go in the fridge, in a box in the...More

Thank RxOxNxJxA
Response from BudgetB, Manager at Budget BackpackersResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased your stay with us was all good and we hope you had a safe onward journey after you left us. We very much hope you will consider staying with us again when...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Edinburgh
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 22 - USD 187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 22 - USD 187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (157)
Dining (90)
Room & Suite (73)
Amenities (55)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jodie027
8 June 2017|
Answer
Response from BudgetB | Property representative |
Yes There are ironing facilities in the hostel. :)
0
Votes
rgs1997
15 April 2017|
Answer
Response from BudgetB | Property representative |
Hi there. The bathrooms we have are as follows. Some of our bathrooms are mixed gender , what this means is that the sinks areas are the the only sections that are mixed and shared. The Showers areas are Private pods that... More
1
Vote
Caligiiiirl_19
12 December 2016|
Answer
Response from BudgetB | Property representative |
Hi there we are unfortunately not offering weekly rates at the moment. We do have a longer stay section of the hostel but this is fully booked at the moment. Our standards rates are very low at the moment to encourage our... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ask for a warm room. If you are tall, better have a sleeping bag with you."
Read review
"Stay in a room close to open fields, there are no airconditioners"
Read review
"Perhaps a room on one of the lower floors if you need wifi"
Read review
"Excellent location, good atmosphere."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing