We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cowgate Tourist Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 231: English reviews
Start your review of Cowgate Tourist Hostel
 Click to rate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Ok,the good thing is location, safety but Edinburgh is safe anyway,and heating. BAD THINGS: shower is horrible (water problems and it's dirty),no plugs in the room and it's old like in the old jails.. Kitchen hmm, no bad but sockets are sh**. If you want a nice hostel ,go to "budget backpackers " just next to this one and cheaper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catpagal
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Very average hostel, as hostels go. Facilities were clean and overall convenient. Excellent location right off of Edinburgh city center. Good proximity to the castle. Staff were especially great! All very pleasant and professional!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjdwan08
CowgateHostel, Front Office Manager at Cowgate Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and feedback will be provided to the staff. With regards to the hostel we always look at ways in which we can improve, we will hope to renovate in the near future which along with the location will...

Reviewed 26 January 2017

My original review of Cowgate would have been negative -we found out that the front desk closed at midnight while we were on a train from Skye that did not arrive in Edinburgh until 1:00 and absolutely no one was answering the phone, then when we finally got there someone from the front desk on-call told us we were going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
CowgateHostel, Front Office Manager at Cowgate Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Anne, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, very great to hear that the staff are taking everything on-board and ensuring that we put our guests needs first as this is a priority for our hostel. I am unsure as to why there was issues initially with the booking but am glad everything was sorted and...

brisbane, australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Something important to me when staying in a hostel is the security/safety of the hostel. This hostel has a code system and then 2 doors to unlock to get to the rooms and I really appreciate that. I stayed in a 6 bedroom door and found the beds to be comfortable and the rooms to be clean. I would say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tslashla
CowgateHostel, Front Office Manager at Cowgate Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your review, we will take this feedback on board regarding the sockets as we appreciate the importance of this for travellers. Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, please keep us in mind if you are to return to Edinburgh. Best regards, Dylan - Office Manager

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Hostel was so good and in centre of city! Was such good value for money and had good facilities like wifi and good kitchen and showers. Had a great time and would definitely stay again thanks so much!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjury99
CowgateHostel, Front Office Manager at Cowgate Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for taking the time to leave your review. If you are to return to the city please contact us and we can arrange a discount! Kind regards, Dylan - Office Manager

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 27 December 2016

The location is amazing, right in the heart of the city and very close to all attractions. However, the building itself is very old, smelly and dirty. Very very basic furniture in the room (not even a desk or a chair). For the price we paid, I m sure we could have found something better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank athens2
CowgateHostel, Front Office Manager at Cowgate Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review, we understand that the building is becoming older and that we must keep on top o this. We are hoping to start renovating in the near future and this will take care of any ongoing issues at the moment. Kind regards, Dylan - Office Manager

Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

The hostel has a good location - within walking distance of the train station, several convenience stores and the main town. But the rooms were exceedingly cold (the walls were freezing for some reason) even though the heater was working fine. Our stove and oven in the kitchen did not work, and when we entered the showers just after checking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rende410
CowgateHostel, Front Office Manager at Cowgate Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, very sorry to hear about the issues you had experienced and this feedback will be taken on board. We are hoping to start renovating in the near future and with a maintenance man on site this should take care of any ongoing issues. Kind regards, Dylan - Office...

Reviewed 12 December 2016

Stayed here for one night and was pleasantly surprised after reading bad reviews. Our twin room was very basic with just a set of bunk beds and a wooden stool but we were only sleeping here so it did the job. Staff on reception were friendly and explained how to enter the rooms as they're in a separate building. Had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl R
CowgateHostel, Front Office Manager at Cowgate Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Carl, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you to our hostel again in the future. Kind regards, Dylan - Office Manager

Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

In all honesty we just stayed here because it was cheap after being out. Was just somwhere for us to get the head down for a few hours. I was extremely inebriated and was happy to fall into bed. Staff not very helpful mind you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelma89
CowgateHostel, Front Office Manager at Cowgate Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, in the city our accommodation can be great for some due to cheaper prices perhaps after a long day out. Feedback will be passed onto the staff also as this is not acceptable, thanks again for your feedback. Kind regards, Dylan - Office Manager

Seattle
Reviewed 4 December 2016

My family of 4 has been traveling the world for 2 months at the time we stayed in this, our 3rd Hostel. At the train station we schlepped our bags from the station for a 15 minute walk to our Hostel. It was in this really odd location on Cowgate street which is beneath the main streets above. Very cool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
CowgateHostel, Front Office Manager at Cowgate Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Wendy, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review, glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and have perfectly explained what staying at a hostel is all about! We would be more than happy to discount a second stay if you are to visit again. All feedback will be taken on board...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
280 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,407 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#22 of 215 in Edinburgh
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#41 of 215 in Edinburgh
154 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 215 in Edinburgh
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A hostel with a difference! Our 168 bed hostel contains 12 individually lockable apartments all fully fitted with their own toilet, shower rooms and kitchen/lounge including an oven, microwave, fridge freezer, toaster, plates, dishes, cutlery and cooking pots. An apartment sleeps between 8 and 22 people in a combination of 4 and 6 bed dorms and twin or double rooms. That's 12 fully fitted kitchens and 17 shower rooms with toilets plus 12 separate private toilets! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cowgate Tourist Hostel

Address: 96-112 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Price Range: $19 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cowgate Tourist Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Cowgate Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowgate Tourist Hotel Edinburgh
Cowgate Tourist Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cowgate Tourist Hostel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cowgate Tourist Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only stayed in Room 94”
  • Info card you receive upon arrival
355WendyR, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Without any payment issue, this is a good hostel to stay a night.”
mariobross18, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“104 flat contains two rooms of six beds and one twin room. Private toilets and kitchen for the flat.”
scottmccaffrey, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If travelling with young Children book private rooms”
499joycek, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try EH! round the corner !”
RebeccaMaude, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5