We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bouverie Bed & Breakfast at 9b Scotland Street

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Bouverie Bed & Breakfast at 9b Scotland Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bouverie Bed & Breakfast at 9b Scotland Street
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
Manchester
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This was my second visit to this beautiful B&B. Placed is a great location, just a short walk from the city centre it was the ideal place to stay for our trip to the Edinburgh Festival. Archie, Cassie and Sacha are perfect host providing a warm welcome and amazing breakfast. I have to say along with the location and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank miss-b20
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here with some friends during the Fringe Festival. The door to our room in the basement didn't close very well. Our bathroom was separate and under the stairs. It was so small that my husband, who is 6' was unable to stand to have a shower. Our friends' room was cold and damp. The breakfast was poor. We...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sunshine186383
BouvEdinburgh, Owner at Bouverie Bed & Breakfast at 9b Scotland Street, responded to this review

We were sorry you were so disappointed in your stay with us. The bedrooms are not cold and damp as stated and central heating is put on if asked for. As it is mid summer we do not have the heaing on but are always happy to pur it on for those who feel the cold. You are clearly told...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I stayed at this cute little B&B for two nights in July 2011 and was very pleased with it. The location just outside the city centre suited me and my travel plans very well. The rooms were clean and no outside noise could be heard. The housekeeper was kind and friendly and the room was throughouly cleaned. The service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kadri T
Nice, France
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The first time we went to the B&B, we found that it was very welcoming, the room very cosy and we had a very nice stay. So I came back again with my nephews . Everybody was very kind with us and very helpful. I like this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniele A
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The door to the room needed to be slammed just just to close it room very cold and damp tried leaving cloths in case but still they got cold and damp unable to have a proper shower as water pressur low just trickles out breakfast very poor not as on web site hearty breakfast over priced at £60 per person...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mark e
BouvEdinburgh, Owner at Bouverie Bed & Breakfast at 9b Scotland Street, responded to this review

Mark E and Lin T are part of the same party that booked one ensuite double room and one double room with private bathroom. When they arrived in very wet conditions they demanded two ensuite rooms, which they got and heating in the middle of the day which was put on for them. When they did not like the breakfast...

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We found the accomodation to be nothing like the website promised, all accomodation is in the basement which meant that the rooms were cold and damp, cold showers and bedroom doors that stuck so badly the house keeper had to let the occupants out, we had to request the heating be put on in August, the breakfast was poor, cheap...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lin T
BouvEdinburgh, Owner at Bouverie Bed & Breakfast at 9b Scotland Street, responded to this review

Mark E and Lin T are part of the same party that booked one ensuite double room and one double room with private bathroom. When they arrived in very wet conditions they demanded two ensuite rooms, which they got and heating in the middle of the day which was put on for them. When they did not like the breakfast...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We arrived @ the B & B during the Fringe week in Edinburgh & therefore expected to pay a bit more. The B & B itself was centrally located & therefore within easy walking distance to the town centre (10 minutes). The room was OK although very cold. The bed OKish. The shower was very poor & weak & there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane D
Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 3 June 2011

A Stay made perfect by a lovely host family. They were very welcoming and warm, and as my trip was rather long I spent a lot of time talking with them - especially Cassie. The children were a delight, even when they were a bit noisy. ( nenäkäs apina! ) The room was spacious and the breakfast was really good,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderErkka
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2011

I really appreciated the artistic and charismatic interiors of this hotel. Another unusual aspect was the breakfast where you feel like you are sitting within the kitchen of a large farmhouse - with aga and very large breakfast table laden with homemade jams. Extremely welcoming and friendly people - I very much recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackilb
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Great Georgian abode in convenient location and in the heart of Alexander McCall Smith storyland. Friendly family feel with welcoming chat over some hearty breakfasts.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alexgebr

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#21 of 445 in Edinburgh
291 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,691 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#94 of 445 in Edinburgh
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
637 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,398 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Bouverie Bed & Breakfast at 9b Scotland Street

Address: 9B Scotland Street, Edinburgh EH3 6PP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bouverie Bed And Breakfast At 9b Scotland Street
Bouverie Bed & Breakfast At 9b Scotland Street Hotel Edinburgh
Bouverie Bed & Breakfast At 9b Scotland Street Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bouverie Bed & Breakfast at 9b Scotland Street staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bouverie Bed & Breakfast at 9b Scotland Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Garden Room”
 of 5 bubbles RobertFishbone, 21 May 2012 | Read review
“We stayed in the primrose room.”
 of 5 bubbles JamieM865, 27 Aug 2011 | Read review
“comfortable bed, cosy”
 of 5 bubbles DanieleA507, 18 Aug 2011 | Read review
“Poppy room OK, had en suite with a weak shower, plenty of storage for clothes. Small window which made it dark & cold as in basement”
 of 5 bubbles JaneD10, 10 Aug 2011 | Read review
4 of 4