Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Traveller (619)
The view of Edinburgh Castle and the Grassmarket (West)
Room & Suite (329)
Dining (106)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#85 of 162 hotels in Edinburgh
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Perfect for pictures and plans, this Old Town gem is the dream destination. Onlooking one of the most vibrant areas of the city, the 4-star Apex Grassmarket Hotel offers amazing views of Edinburgh Castle from the same place you snooze. Inclusive of luxurious bedrooms with free Wi-Fi, an ambient restaurant and relaxing fitness and wellness facilities, an Apex adventure awaits. Find yourself making endless discoveries in luxurious bedrooms. With a comfy bed and spacious en suite, enjoy taking a bath or shower with Antipodes organic toiletries helping you to stay green while you stay clean. The flat screen TV will keep you entertained, and the mini fridge and air conditioning will ensure things are kept fresh. Some rooms have a Nespresso Coffee machine to make yourself right at home. Cots and highchairs are available on request. With a stylish restaurant, intimate bar, an indoor swimming pool and a fully equipped gym, eat in, chill out and work out in style! The Metro Bar & Brasserie serves Scottish inspired food with a twist and has spectacular views to match! Dine here and take your taste buds on an adventure. Both The Royal Mile and the National Museum of Scotland are approximately 600 yards away, Princes Street is a 12-minute walk and Edinburgh Castle is about a 10-minute walk from the hotel. Plus, with Edinburgh Airport just a 25-minute drive, stay here to be well-connected.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS Scotland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Turnhouse Airport
10.2 km
See all flights
Dundee Airport
57.5 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,879 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

At the Apex Grassmarket Hotel, guests have called out the significant noise from nearby nightlife and streets as a detriment to a peaceful night's sleep, often overshadowing the hotel's praised cleanliness and attentive service. While the location earns rave reviews for its convenience to local attractions, some travelers feel that the hotel's value is diminished by overpriced amenities and the occasional maintenance hiccup. The atmosphere and decor, along with the room amenities like temperature control, also receive mixed feedback, suggesting a need for modernization.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Uninspiring
Rooms
Uncomfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,879Review86Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 911
  • 612
  • 218
  • 76
  • 63
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dawncouk wrote a review Oct 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Apex Hotel Grassmarket is close to everything. We paid extra for a castle view room for two nights the view of the castle was second to none both day and night.

Check in was efficient and the receptionists were friendly and helpful even lending us an umbrella on a rainy day. The hotel is kept very clean and safe by the cleaners, the hotel is adheres to covid restrictions throughout with a modern, stylish interior.

Once parked up you don't need a car as everywhere is within walking distance.
We parked at the hotel for £12 a night and were able to stay parked all day after checkout, although maybe this was because the hotel was not busy due to the covid pandemic.

We had a great view from the room and balcony, although I did not like the lack of privacy there is just a thin waist level bar marking each end of the balcony, the door has a security chain to allow you to leave it slightly open, but people can easily walk onto your balcony and into your room if the door is open, also there is a high and wide ledge to step over on to the balcony which I mis-judged and bruised my leg on.

The room was a good size with a comfortable super kingsized bed, large flat screen tv, kettle and safe.
The bathroom was modern with a bath, large walk in shower, good water pressure and quality (The Works) toiletries. We enjoyed staying in this hotel and would stay again.

We did not pay for the breakfast option as Grassmarket and the surrounding areas have lots of nice eateries. We had an evening meal in Petit Paris, the French onion soup was absolutely delicious. We a breakfast in Zaza's Coffee House it was nothing to write home about. The Greyfriars Bobby bar and restaurant is our favourite place to eat, its so good we went on two occasions the food is traditional, tasty and wholesome.

The hop on hop off your bus stops right outside and is good value at £8 - £10 each for a 24 hour ticket.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bruce C wrote a review Aug 2021
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Let’s start with the positives, which are really strong positives.
The hotel is on the Grassmarket, which is extremely central; in the heart of the Old Town.
Despite this there is not too much noise in the bedrooms.
Rooms are a decent size and beds are comfortable.
They do say the most important three factors are “location, location, location” but we were disappointed by a number of things…
This is a large hotel, 5 floors and hundreds of rooms. There are only 2 lifts. Due to COVID, only one party at a time in the lifts. Fair enough - until you understand that the staff use these lifts as well, not just to get housekeeping trolleys up snd down floors, but also the more white collar staff just to move around the hotel.
We used the lift to go up to our fourth floor room and took the stairs down. Not once did we see an employee on the stairs.
The rooms have very little storage. No drawers at all, even in the bedside tables and desk.
Two shelves only in the wardrobe, plus enough hangers for half a dozen tops.
The step up to the balcony is very high; my aged parents needed help so be wary of that if booking a balcony room.
Also be wary of the seagulls which appear late afternoon and may come to see a n your balcony if you are having a cup of tea, as happened to us.
There are one way systems in place in the hotel, which is good, but they are not signposted. We figured it out but it wasn’t helpful.
No one way system around reception, where people tend to mill around somewhat.
The internal coffee shop has shut down.
We tried to book breakfast for the morning but were eventually told there was nothing until mid-morning.
We did book two tables for five. My parents were first down but the staff refused to seat them at a larger table (even though they said they were meeting family members) and were put in a table for two instead, so they’ve didn’t have breakfast with family members whom they hadn’t seen for a couple of COVID years.
Service in bar snd restaurant is very slow. Staff in the bar seem more concerned with chatting and tidying behind the bar than actually serving customers.
In the restaurant (breakfast) we were not allowed to order coffees and breakfast at the same time in case “the food came quicker” than the machine coffee and cranberry juice. I say cranberry juice but it tasted more like the cheap cranberry and raspberry you get in supermarkets. Not good.
The pillows in the room are very soft but also thin, to the extent that you need two or three to get your head off the bed.
They only have one type of pillow available so we had to ask for extra pillows but to be fair they arrived promptly.
The phone in my parents room wasn’t working,
These may seem minor but for nearly £300 a night (room only) I think we are entitled to a bit better than we experienced.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
BeknBri wrote a review Mar 2020
Virginia Beach, Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a week in a room with 2 queen beds which was great as a hotel with 2 queens is difficult to find in Edinburgh. The beds are firm but comfortable, the pillows are down and way too soft for my liking. As other reviews have mentioned there are no drawers, only shelves in the closet to try to arrange your things. This may be fine for short stays but we were essentially living out of our suitcase for a week as we used the shelves as a place for laundry, souvenirs and small snacks to take on our day trips. There is an electric kettle with instant coffee, several teas and hot chocolate replaced daily. There were also small packets of cookies on the shelf and 2 bottles of water in our fridge replaced daily. The bathroom was quite small and the shower was awkwardly accessed as it is quite high off the floor and then difficult to safely step out of without using the towel bar as a grab bar for safety with wet feet and damp floors. Overall the location was great. Several restaurants and pubs nearby, very easy to access all attractions. The staff was consistently friendly and helpful, we were greeted every morning when we walked by the desk and again upon our return. Our room was quiet but no view.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FionaG1777, Front Office Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Responded 8 Mar 2020
Dear BeknBri, Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. Firstly I would like to apologise that the pillows were not to your liking, the team would have been more than happy to swap these to foam pillows for you. Regarding the shower accessibility, we have several different bathroom layouts in the hotel so we would have been more than happy to move you to one which was more easily accessible for you. However I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay overall and that you found our staff to be welcoming and helpful. Thank you Craig Tidy Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
norman B wrote a review Jan 2020
Lisburn, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My Wife & I have just spent 3 nights in the Apex Grassmarket, turned out to be a great choice of Hotel, we had arrived early on the Thursday Morning and our room wasn't ready, the receptionist took our bags and later had them taken to our room when it was ready and then rang me to say that the room was ready for us. We were there for our wedding anniversary and there was a lovely card and a bottle of wine in our room, there's a £10 discount card in the room to use in the bar etc which was very much appreciated, as part of our deal when we booked we were upgraded to a superior room & continental breakfast, All the staff are very approachable, friendly & informative Tea & Coffee making facilities plus your own little plastic duck to take home. The Superior rooms have a fantastic view of the Castle. The Location in the Grassmarket is excellent for exploring the Old Town & 20 mins walks you over to the New Town, because of the choice of Bars & Restaurants in the area we didn't have to venture far at nights. The bar in the hotel is well stocked and keenly priced. Have to give special mention to the housekeeping staff, every day the room was left immaculate for us coming back and on one occasion we had a visit from a member of staff to ask if everything was to our satisfaction, we will certainly have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to any of our family and friends, one other thing i would say is, when booking go directly to the hotels own website for the best deals!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FionaG1777, Front Office Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Hi Norman, Thank you very much for your lovely review, we really appreciate the feedback. It is great to hear our staff made your anniversary special for you and I am glad that we managed to exceed your expectations. I hope you had a lovely time in Edinburgh and we look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you Craig Tidy Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
graemecole74 wrote a review Oct 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for one night in October for a short break with my wife and son. I feel that the price of a room only is too much. For the price of the room, breakfast should have been included which would have made it much more value for money. The food in the restaurant during the evening was very poor and the menu offered little choice. Three burgers and one ice cream came to over £45. The staff on reception, and the staff in the restaurant, although fairly helpful, did not offer any sort of warm welcome or make you feel at ease.
The TV in our room didn’t work and the amount of toiletries was not enough for the three adults sharing the room. The room was a decent size, and had two double beds, but it was cold and we had to ask reception how to turn the heating/radiator on in the room. The swimming pool was decent enough, fairly small, but obviously the sauna was unavailable due to the coronavirus and to use the pool you had to book an hours slot, which wasn’t particularly convenient.
Overall, this was a nice hotel which was clean and tidy. It was in a good location, offered fantastic views of the castle and possibly the reason for the lack of atmosphere was due to it being quiet because of the current lockdown restrictions in Edinburgh. I doubt I will stay in this hotel again, mainly due to the fact that breakfast wasn’t included in the price of the room.
The current alcohol ban throughout the central belt of Scotland meant that there was no alcohol available in the public areas of the hotel, however you could drink alcohol in the privacy of your room and the hotel were charging ridiculous amounts (I.e £32 for a bottle of Prosecco) to facilitate that. In addition, if you did choose to purchase alcohol from the hotel, there was also a £50 deposit required for the privilege!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MazziFamily wrote a review Jan 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel for our 30th anniversary which our children & family booked for us with a castle room view,and it didn’t disappoint we had a brilliant view of the castle only thing I would say is it would be nice if hotel either clean the concreate come balcony outside or maybe lay some artificial grass it would make all the difference. The staff had a bottle of Prosecco waiting for us in our room which was a lovely touch. The hotel is situated in an idea place with lots of cafes, pubs, shops, and restaurant right on the door step. It’s old town feel makes it magical and we preferred it to the new town. Staff were always happy to help, the gym room was ok had all the right gym equipment you would need, the pool room & sauna was ok to the only thing I would say is it would be nice to have more sun loungers and chairs there so more guess can relax there instead of rushing off due to poor seating, the hooks to hang clothing were rusty and could do with a change, in our room we had wi-fi, ironing board, iron, hairdryer, kettle, coffee/tea biscuits, small fridge with fizzy & still complementary water, & shampoo / conditioner, all in all a great hotel 100% location wise
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FionaG1777, Front Office Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear MazziFamily, Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your anniversary celebration with us and happy to know you enjoyed the rooms, location and our staff. We appreciate all the comments regarding the suggestions for improving the balcony and our spa area and will certainly take these on board. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards Fiona
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael W wrote a review Feb 2020
Bangor, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
You can’t fault the hotel location and the view of Edinburgh Castle when you are having breakfast but service is slower than slow in the restaurant and the bar. Room was clean and comfortable.
We were given a £10 voucher and informed we could use it for food or drinks. I specifically asked if I could use it for coffee and was told I could.
The staff behind the bar that made me my lukewarm coffee wouldn’t take the voucher and I had to pay cash for them. I might have said to the staff on reception but I feared it would eat into my day, as everyone there seemed to be on a go slow.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel have a view of the Grassmarket and the castle.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FionaG1777, Front Office Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Hi Keith, Thank you for your lovely 5* review, we are so glad you had such a nice time and we hope to see you again. Thank you Craig Tidy Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
calm2504 wrote a review June 2021
Addlestone, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 sons. Check In and out were chaotic; we were presented with incorrect invoices for food and beverages we had not had and no-one could itemise the charges for us. It is still unresolved. We had no assistance with our luggage any point. Reception was busy and we had long waits to speak to anyone. The facilities and services here are greatly reduced due to Covid restrictions but this was not communicated to us prior to arrival. The Family room was nothing like the photos and was cramped and overly warm and stuffy. There are no temp controls in the room so we had to sleep with windows wide open but that meant contending with a lot of street noise. The pool was not cleaned and sanitised between uses as it was supposed to be and were were restricted to only 30 mins in the pool despite it not being used afterwards for the rest of the day! Breakfasts over the weekend were shambolic! The only good part is that staff were extremely friendly and as helpful as they possibly could be. This is a nice hotel, in an excellent location, but I don't feel they are ready to be reopen yet and are just under prepared for the flow of guests again. I have stayed in far better hotels for far less money!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Blake S wrote a review Sept 2020
Tamworth, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this Hotel on 23rd August 2020

I proposed to my fiance the night before, and came up to Edinburgh the following day. I had messaged the hotel prior to see if they would be kind enough to do anything, and they gave us a free room upgrade and placed lots of rose petals on the bed... such a lovely gesture from the hotel which was extremely appreciated

On arrival, we were early so sat in the bar and had a few drinks (they were quite pricey, but that is literally the only negative I could say about our stay)

When entering the room, there was an overpowering sanitary smell, which was actually very pleasant. The room was spotless, with towels even being in a shrink bag. The bathroom was also gleaming in cleanliness. there is a note on the table to state what had been cleaned which was lovely peace of mind.. and I had to try to absolute hardest not to bring Austin the duck home with me!!

The view of the castle from our room was out of this world. After our evening meal we spent a few hours just looking out whilst on the balcony which was very special.

Extremely comfy bed, and very quiet too. very little noise from other guests walking up the corridor and banging the doors which was appreciated too!

Check out was effortless, just paid our room balance and left with ease.

parking was £12, but in a city centre, I was quite happy to pay this. Room was £107 for the night, which I believed to be very good value for money also.

Would 100% stay here again, and would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Thank you for some amazing memories!! - Blake
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steph wrote a review Sept 2020
Wales, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of this hotel is fab and we were able to walk to all the local attractions. The hotel has a booking system in place at the mo which meant the breakfast room was not overcrowded. Breakfast menu had a good selection of food and staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and bright and we had a good view of the castle. The storage in the room could have been better and our room on the first floor was a little noisy at night due to the bars opposite but not unexpected given it’s city location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ed M asked a question Aug 2023
Winter Springs, Florida44 contributions16 helpful votes
Does anyone know if the restaurant requires reservations for breakfast and dinner? Also is there a free breakfast?
The Netherlands458 contributions164 helpful votes
You can book with or without a continental breakfast. I don't know about dinner, we've been outside for dinner.
Ed M asked a question Aug 2023
Winter Springs, Florida44 contributions16 helpful votes
We will be staying here next spring. Wondering if the hotel has or offers a laundry service. Thanks
The Netherlands458 contributions164 helpful votes
Yes they do but I haven't used it so I don't have an experience with it
Ryane L asked a question July 2023
Ballwin, Missouri
Is there AC in the guest rooms?
Answer from galofmanycities
Dallas, Texas234 contributions66 helpful votes
No
Kelly R asked a question June 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom499 contributions42 helpful votes
What time does the pool open and close?
Answer from supersafite
Birmingham, United Kingdom253 contributions84 helpful votes
I'm almost certain it's 7am-10pm. But it definitely closes every day at 10pm
NRGTravel asked a question Mar 2023
Auckland, New Zealand6 contributions4 helpful votes
Also interested to know if this hotel has parking and if so can you prebook?
Answer from Joy A
Linlithgow, United Kingdom54 contributions40 helpful votes
Hi , yes there is parking and you can pre book it , cost is £15 per night which is probably an ok rate for Edinburgh .
TLC wrote a tip 19 June
26 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the castle view!"
Read full review
harriet b wrote a tip 12 June
8 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We booked our meal before hand for evening."
Read full review
Out This Door wrote a tip May 2024
Mesa, Arizona585 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The dry sauna is tiny (fits 4). Location is perfect for HP fans. Not a good night's sleep--noisy and hard bed."
Read full review
Carol G wrote a tip May 2024
Washington DC, District of Columbia64 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There's an indoor pool, but it's fairly utilitarian There was a room safe but it wasn't bolted down"
Read full review
zharga wrote a tip Jan 2024
Dunedin, New Zealand9 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"On arrival receptionist offered a deal “two breakfasts for 20 GBP” - we said there’s three in our room - could you do three for 30 Pounds !?"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$414 - AU$617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
apex international edinburgh, hotel apex international
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghGrassmarket / Old Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
169
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

APEX GRASSMARKET HOTEL: 2024 Prices & Reviews (Edinburgh, Scotland) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Scotland (0.4 km), Edinburgh Old Town (0.3 km), and Camera Obscura and World of Illusions (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Quinn's Cafe, Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, and Doctors.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Apex Grassmarket Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Apex Grassmarket Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Apex Grassmarket Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (0.5 km), Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.6 km), and Gladstone's Land (0.3 km).
All Edinburgh HotelsEdinburgh Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EdinburghHotels near Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars