We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cumberland Hotel

2.5 km from Edinburgh centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
1 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JQ, Scotland
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cumberland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 237: English reviews
Ossett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016

My wife and I decided on a few days in Edinburgh, and would normally book something like a Premier Inn or equivalent, but soon realised that parking the car in the City would be a problem, and costly, so after much searching, came across the Cumberland Hotel, which seemed to fit the bill. We arrived mid afternoon, and after parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenquinn50
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

I arrived here with friends for a Theatre and social weekend, we picked this Hotel for its proximity to the city centre and its location to Tram and Bus stops which was excellent as the bus stops right outside the hotel and it is a short walk to the tram and train terminus. Arrival at the hotel was good as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David U
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

I unfortunately stayed in this "hotel" for the night whilst working away and it is the worst place I have ever stayed. First off, the owner is the biggest misery imaginable, all he did was moan and complain that he had to open the door when I pressed the buzzer to get in, and then caught him complaining about having...

Review collected in partnership with Deutsche Telekom
 Report
Helpful?
Thank strachan123
Corstorphinehotels, Manager at Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, you did not stay in the Hotel and you are writing lies. You must be ashamed.

Boblingen, Germany
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Old rooms with leaky windows and poor heating . Good luck that we had an additional electric heater in the wardrobe. Very friendly staff although some didn' t speak english. Breakfast ok. Good choice if you are looking for an affordable hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jkaepple
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016

I stayed here last December and it was terrible. I decided to give them another go this time with my wife and 2 grand children. We stayed in a "Family Room" it was spacious and the beds were clean and comfortable. However, the toilet did not flush properly but to be fare they repaired it straight away. I also found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
nuneaton
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Paid only £50 per night for single occupancy for two nights. The receptionist who greeted me could have been a bit friendlier when I checked in but all the other staff I came into contact with were friendly and helpful. My room was a double, very clean, a little out-dated but perfectly ok for a couple of nights. Free wifi,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nuneatonmark
castle douglas
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We stayed here last night as a party of 3 adults and were given the room with a 4 poster bed and 2 singles. Very clean room and facilities. Staff very helpful.breakfast was adequate and was nice and fresh. Central place for Edinburgh. Well done hotel staff at running this hotel well. All very friendly.x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doddfi
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

This Hotel is within walking distance from the City(that is, if you are fit and well!). However the bus stop is just in front of it, with regular buses(bear in mind to have change, as high chance you won't get any change for your money, it is just the way it is!). We had 2 rooms, both very clean, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morena435
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Room was spotlessly cleanly and was good enough for a three star hotel. However if you are in room 16 the staff begin work at 6am and given the flooring it was very noisy and disturbed me. The breakfast was fine, my husband had the cooked breakfast which was nicely cooked. I had cereal and toast... can't really go wrong...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
NORTHERN IRELAND
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Stayed over a weekend at this hotel as part of a wedding party. It was very convient to the centre of the city which is just about over a mile away. There is a bus stop just beside the hotel if you do not decide to walk. Have the correct fare as the bus drivers prefer this as a means...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM B

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Ashgrovehouse Hotel
#160 of 445 in Edinburgh
76 reviews
Corstorphine
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
#222 of 445 in Edinburgh
142 reviews
4Kt Guesthouse
#38 of 445 in Edinburgh
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
No 32 Hotel
No 32 Hotel
#119 of 445 in Edinburgh
317 reviews
Edinburgh Lodge Hotel
#106 of 445 in Edinburgh
200 reviews
16 Pilrig Guest House
#161 of 445 in Edinburgh
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cumberland Hotel is a 'B' listed detached stone Victorian house of character and architectural interest. Built in the 1850's, it has been carefully refurbished to retain many of its original features, and lies in its own attractive grounds overlooking the main A8 tourist route into Edinburgh, within 10 minutes walk from Princes Street and within 10 minutes drive of Edinburgh Airport. Featuring free wi-wifi in rooms. Limited private parking on a first come first serve basis. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel

Address: 1 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $76 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cumberland Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cumberland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay in room 14, its right next to the kitchen, very noisy evening time and also from 6am when they prepare for breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles ShaunMartin, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best for Murrayfield events.”
 of 5 bubbles TattooDubai, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 7 was massive. Great for a family.”
 of 5 bubbles Sine6, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 14 for peace and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles kenquinn50, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose a quieter room at the rear of the main hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles BrianH935, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5