We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street

Show Prices
#64 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,413 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,383: English reviews
Lahore, Pakistan
Reviewed 1 week ago

This travelodge is very near to the Waverly station, hardly five minutes walk and right behind the Princes Street. We booked this place on internet and paid through our credit card, but when we reached there they said the payment haven't been received. The reason they gave was that they don't have the option to charge international credit cards. After...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madiha M
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location and price. Lynn on reception was very friendly, helpful and made us all feel welcome. A few minutes walk to Edinburgh Waverley station, and all the sights we wanted to see. There's even a McDonald's 30 meters down the street if you need breakfast to recover from the night before 🙃

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chazamn
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this Travelodge right in the centre of Edinburgh - with its entrance just behind Princess Street. The staff were so friendly and welcoming on our arrival and put us into a wonderful room with amazing views over the castle. The hotel front is obviously from an older previous buildings facade and has lovely windows. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fran E
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was fantastic, everything you would expect for the price. However, what made this hotel such a great place were the very friendly staff and the outstanding views from our room. Thoroughly recommend a booking here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimmyOi
manchester
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just spent 2 nights over easter and had a great time . Rooms nice big and clean special mention for the reception staff Lynne and Gemma very helpful friendly and knowledgeable of the area . Definitely will be staying there again .👍🏻

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaygriff69
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelled to Edinburgh by train with family, so picked Travellodge close to station. Was also just off Princes Street. Entrance is down an alley which is essentially delivery area for local shops, but hotel itself was nice and our Family room was at front so had a great view of Old Town, and glazing kept out the noise. Can't say...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D3167URcharlesr
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room had the view of the Castle and was step down to train station. Loved it. McDonald's is outside the property. Coffee shops shopping everything is on the doorstep. buses , taxis, tour rides all are accessible to you at this property

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 948humayuns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good size room for a family of 4, a very friendly staff, good location only 2 min from train station, Our children loved staying there, places to eat very close by, would stay anytime again. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 286josefw
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The street where the reception is, is disgusting. Filthy, dirty and smelly puddles of water (no rain!) and a very strong smell of urine. Made me feel very dirty and not what you expect at the entrance of a hotel. The pavement outside the door was filthy and had some sort of white stuff everywhere and more dirty smelly water....

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Z1111RFchristopherw
TravelodgeUK, Poppy from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to our Edinburgh Central Princes Street Travelodge Hotel. We are truly sorry to learn of the experience you have had whilst staying with us. We would kindly ask you contact one of our Customer Services Advisors with your review via our website help form to look into this...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location great for sightseeing, across road for hop on hop off bus tours. Shops and restaurants on doorstep. Helpful staff, good suggestions where to visit. Would recommend for short break to Edinburgh.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CSD1956

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,010 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,953 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
284 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Princes Street and Gardens

Neighbourhood Profile
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street is only half one, since buildings only line one side. But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views are from Princes Street as a result. From here you look onto expansive and decorative public gardens beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look the other way, as they’re concerned with chain store shopping or catching the tram or a train at main train station Waverley. But it’s not all utility here; the Scottish National Gallery rewards purposeless wandering, and December’s huge winter market in the gardens begins a season of revelry which ends with Hogmanay, Britain’s largest New Year’s street party.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street

Address: 21 Meuse Lane | off Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Price Range: $92 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, LateRooms and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 409 which was huge and had great views”
FranE254, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't book a room adjacent to Meuse Lane”
  • Dirty Bed Sheet and Beds made up as Single Beds when Described as Double on Booking
  • Photo showing location of refuse bins in relation to hotel room
  • No layers between mattress and sheet
anothergoodone, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“507 - Not a "city" or front facing room, but for a couple its massive.”
joshuabN6694EV, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't pay for wifi in advance!”
Tarea32, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great views from front facing rooms”
AndyR519, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5