We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rick's

25/06/2017 26/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Rick\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

439 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rick's
See the most recent reviews
Showing 418: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 January 2015

We were looking for a decent place with seafood & steaks. Found Rick's just a few minutes walk from Princes Street! Warm welcome and great atmosphere! Menu was attractive and service was even better! We were delighted to be looked after by a very attentive and professional member of staff called Becky. Had a small issue with one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NikoCHka
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Thank you all at Rick's bar (especially Becky) for a great night, the food, service and atmosphere were brilliant, great value for money on a very special night, well done, we had friends with us freom Kent who were thoroughly impressed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angus k
Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed 2 January 2015

This hotel is in a great location in Edinburgh, a perfect place to stay during the Christmas Holidays, just a 5 minute walk to the Princes Street Christmas Market. We booked an overnight stay with 2 course dinner, a glass of prosecco and breakfast included. The staff were friendly and welcoming, in spite of the busy festive period. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kmcroberts622
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2015

We stopped in for lunch on a referral from a friend who lived in Edinburgh. At first we were put right by the door to the kitchen. This was by far the last place we wanted to be seated, we found this strange as there were plenty of other tables free in better locations. So we asked to move and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adriaan S
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2014

Charged twice for the same room, extra charges that can't tell me.After 24 hr still no satisfaction. A word to the wise never go there. POOR POOR SERVICE, after sales are non existent. Mr McPherson it in our finance dept as they take payment off your card right away, spoiled my Xmas night out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jok150
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2014

We didn't stay in the hotel but ate in the restaurant. Well, I booked the restaurant but was brusquely waved into the bar. The food was on a deal but the deal portions were extremely small and the food was rather cold. My friends had to return the dessert which had very little (and cold) sauce. I had been before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 365HeatherC365
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2014

We booked our one night stay in response to an internet offer and were not disappointed. Although our room and bathroom were both small, the bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed a good sleep. Breakfast was typical buffet style, perfectly acceptable if not special. Great city centre location and a perfect place for a city overnight stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Very relaxing restaurant with a good varied menu, including a special lunch selection. The staff are very friendly giving good service. The bar is very well stocked with a good selection of beer, wine and spirits.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2014

Despite getting a very good deal we were disappointed when we saw our room given the hotels 4 stars and having seen some good reviews. The biggest issue was that instead of a double bed we had two singles pushed together which I didn't notice until we were in bed, I moved and rolled into the gap! The beds themselves...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kay811
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write your review and to pass on your feedback.

City of Discovery
Reviewed 3 October 2014

We arrived to go down approximately 8 or 9 steps the top of which needs a repair as concrete broken and could be trip hazard. We were greeted by Michael who on seeing we both had walking difficulties as we were using sticks promptly after telling us our room was on fourth floor rearranged bookings to bring us down to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scotwanderer
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. I have briefed all staff, and maintenance so we can resolve the problems you had to improve our serivce.

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
2:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (23)
25/06/2017 26/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#114 of 147 in Edinburgh
666 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#78 of 147 in Edinburgh
784 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#19 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 147 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
West End
Angels Share Hotel
Angels Share Hotel
#101 of 147 in Edinburgh
439 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in New Town

Neighbourhood Profile
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town, until after dark when strappy dresses come out to play. This is the city’s central business district with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric squares, and self-important statues. But it’s also a very wanderable neighbourhood, with a healthy bustle at almost any time of day and fine people-watching in places like St Andrew's Square which fills with picnickers around lunch. You’ll also find a series of cheerful basement bistros on Hanover Street, while dark Rose Street has something of the feel of an undiscovered back alley and is chock-full of characterful pubs and small independent shops.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Rick's

Address: 55A Frederick Street, Edinburgh EH2 1LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range: $225 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rick's 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Rick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rick`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Edinburgh
Rick's Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rick's staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rick's staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay elsewhere unless you can sleep through anything”
SparklyOne71, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not 1st floor (for privacy)”
simono1958, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay, only ate in the restaurant”
frasjas, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Level 1 is at street level”
stevebV5439VV, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if your mobility not so good.”
tbs2507, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
Agoda.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates