We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel

121-123 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD Scotland
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
USD 41
View deal
Trip.comUSD 54
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (472)
Panoramas (4)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 22/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Updated 22/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#37 of 161 hotels in Edinburgh
Travellers' Choice
If you want your pick of upmarket shops and historic landmarks, you'll be hard pressed to beat Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) hotel. Steeped in history and majesty, Princes Street is a mecca of top retail brands with pub-packed Rose Street on one side and the beautiful Princes Street Gardens along the other. Across the road is The Mound, connecting Princes Street to Old Town, with Edinburgh Castle and the famous Royal Mile just a short (but steep) 15 minute walk. Then it's homeward bound to a delicious meal with a castle view at our Thyme restaurant.
Read more
Room & Suite (253)253
Full view
Property amenities
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Paid wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
3,645Reviews128Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,275
  • 1,039
  • 232
  • 56
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ken E wrote a review Jan 2021
London, England, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed at the hotel for 1 night in May 2018, the weekend of the Royal wedding. On the following morning I slipped in the bath causing me to be in absolute agony with my being diagnosed later at the Hospital with 2 fractured ribs. Upon returning to the hotel in mid afternoon it was clear that plans to travel outside of Edinburgh that day would have to be abandoned and we would need to stay in Edinburgh for another day. The reception staff were most unhelpful, unsympathetic and lacking in compassion and no senior member of staff was available to speak to that day. My husband checked with local hotels but found that there were no spare rooms available at all. The reception staff said that they did not have any spare accommodation and we faced having to sleep on the streets overnight. Eventually a room was found in the hotel but at vastly increased rates, compared to what we paid for the previous day, but we had no option but to take it. To add insult to injury we were offered in the new room a filthy bath mat. The hotel has since refused to pay any compensation for my injuries or for the extra costs that I had to incur. This was a nightmare experience and with such appalling staff attitude I would not recommend this hotel to anyone in their right mind.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
LauraSkipton_86 wrote a review Oct 2020
Coventry, United Kingdom15 contributions30 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Well where to start with this wonderful hotel! We have just arrived home after a 3 night stay here. The staff here are fantastic, friendly, helpful and can't do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble. You can request anything you need, extra tea and coffee, bedding, towels, heating turned up, and they are so efficient at sorting it out. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, cosy and absolutely spotless. We are a family of 3 and had a family room, enough space for the 3 of us, 1 double and 1 single bed, large tv with freeview, generous sized bathroom with a good supply of towels and a great shower. The beds are super comfy with amazing thick duvets and an absolute dream to get into after a long day walking round in the cold. I slept really well here, better than I do at home! My husband and daughter also slept well and felt comfortable. Breakfast is delicious, full English or the continental option, unlimited tea, coffee (Costa Coffee), juice etc. Service at breakfast is efficient and the restaurant is warm, friendly and welcoming. This hotel is central, right in the middle of the city centre with most attractions within walking distance. Fantastic transport links, buses and trams are regular and there are loads of stops on Princes Street. Staff have some great local knowledge and can advise you on the best way to get to attractions. Edinburgh itself is the most beautiful city, so much to see and do. I could go on and on about this hotel and how fantastic it is, and how brilliant the staff are. We will definitely be staying here again. Thankyou for a wonderful stay, it's been a pleasure.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Neilyman wrote a review Nov 2020
Mauchline, United Kingdom174 contributions48 helpful votes
I stayed here recently for two nights taking advantage of the low low prices on offer. Normally you would pay at least double what I paid for a night here. Situated on Princes Street in the heart of Edinburgh opposite the castle which I had a wonderful view from my room. This is the the usual standard Prem Inn, clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and a great breakfast in the morning. Totally abiding by the covid rules. Only very small complaint is that they are not serving draught beer at the moment only small bottles but it wasnt a problem.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Alison M wrote a review Oct 2020
5 contributions5 helpful votes
Quite tired in the rooms. Brilliant service by staff at breakfast. Be careful with parking despite validating ticket three times and checking with a member of staff we were still charged £32 for parking 24 hours which was a disappointing end to our holiday
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
katarzynaw282 wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom4 contributions11 helpful votes
Great location for shopping and sightseeing. Room clean but beds very uncomfortable. Once you in bed you srart sinking in one position. So called restaurant serves microwaved food in cardboard boxes with the Hilton price. You need to keep usking for tea or milk. I understand it's difficult time with virus spreading around, but it shouldn't be the reason to ignore customers.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Room Tip: Good location
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Responded 23 Nov 2020
Hi there Thanks for taking the time to share your review. I'm pleased to see you found the room to be clean and liked the location of the hotel, however it's a shame to hear the bed wasn't up to our usual standards and that you weren't happy with the food provided in the restaurant. Our website does advise that the restaurant at that hotel is currently offering a Cafe Bar Takeaway menu for food to be taken to your room, however I've passed your feedback on to the Restaurant Manager for their consideration. I've also sent your comments on to the Hotel Manager so they can ensure their beds are checked and they'll have any replaced if needed, so as to avoid your experience being repeated. I apologise for the disappointment and hope you'll give us another chance in future. Kind Regards Amy
Read more
USD 40 - USD 241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghNew Town / Princes Street and Gardens
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Edinburgh Castle (0.3 km), Escape Hunt Edinburgh (0.10 km), and Edinburgh Chihuahua Cafe (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dine, Fortuna Coffee Bar, and Aizle.
Is Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (2.0 km), The Real Mary King's Close (0.8 km), and Gilmerton Cove (6.6 km).
Is Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.