We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace

Traveller (273)
Room & Suite (233)
Dining (35)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features. We have recently undergone a renovation. Each space at the Royal Terrace has been sympathetically designed to achieve a fine balance of modernity and tradition. A Celtic thread weaves through the interiors, with subtle indigenous design motifs informing the design narrative. Thistles motifs and highland wall linings provide cultured Hibernian undertones to the lounge bar. The restaurant provides a refined contemporary setting drawing inspirations from Edinburgh’s royal botanical gardens, sunflower walls and an alfresco feel provide a light, bright atmosphere which compliments the darker, amber tones of the adjacent lounge, lobby and bar. Our rooms are warm and contemporary creating a relaxing space for your Edinburgh stay.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free Internet
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Classic
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Book Direct and Save
Hotel deals
Location
Full view
91Great for walkers
Grade: 91 out of 100
89Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
31Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Neighbourhood
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
1,103Reviews
543Photos
28Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 370
  • 376
  • 209
  • 94
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is a bit of a tricky one to score. The hotel is lovely, beautiful architecture, lovely gardens, exceedingly informative concierge and reception staff. Ideal situation for walking around Edinburgh. However, we stayed here for 4 nights and I barely got 1 nights worth of
Read more
Response from Royalterrace, Front of House Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Responded today
Dear V8300WCheleng, Thank you for your recent stay and review. Naturally I was disappointed to learn of the dissatisfaction caused during your recent stay. I have since called your partner and would be delighted to have an opportunity to welcome you back and ensure that you leave with a more reflective experience. Kind regards, Murray Murray Brand Front of House Manager
Read more
We stayed here in December prior to Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is full of character and grandeur. Our stay was helped by the excellent recommendations and help from Scott the concierge. His local knowledge and advice regarding restaurants was second to
Read more
Response from Royalterrace, Front of House Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Vincenzo, Thank you for your recent stay and review. I am pleased to read that you had such a pleasant stay with us, with Scott being a particular highlight - he is a credit to the hotel. I hope that you had a safe and pleasant onward journey and that we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Royal Terrace in the future. Warm regards, Murray Murray Brand Front of House Manager
Read more
We really enjoyed our two nights at the Crowne Plaza in Edinburgh. The hotel is well situated for all the tourist 'hot spots', especially Author's Seat and the nearby Playhouse Theatre! Our room was a little on the small side, but perfectly fit for purpose and nice and clean.
Read more
Response from Royalterrace, Front of House Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Charlotte, Thank you for your recent stay and review. I am pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us, with breakfast being a particular highlight. Thank you for highlighting that our TripAdvisor page is still showing that we have a pool - please rest assured that we are in the process of having this removed from our listing. I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Charlotte Square in the future. Kind regards, Murray Murray Brand Front of House Manager
Read more
Definetly will stay here again. Everything was 1st class. Room was not ready for 2pm check in and had to go out and return. Was hoping to change before theatre but as room was not ready we could not. I would recommend this hotel for a great stay.
Read more
Response from Royalterrace, Front of House Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Steve, Thank you for your recent stay and review. I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience with us. I hope that you had a safe and pleasant onward journey and that we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Royal Terrace in the future. Warm regards, Murray Murray Brand Front of House Manager
Read more
We stayed here for a weekend break and our trip was made so much easier and better by the staff. Scott the concierge was fantastic and couldn’t have possibly done a better job- lovely bloke and went out of his way to help us, very knowledgeable of the area and great
Read more
Response from Royalterrace, Front of House Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mimgunn, Thank you for your recent stay and review. I am delighted that the team were able to assist and make your journey and stay so relaxing and enjoyable - especially Scott. I hope that you had a safe and pleasant onward journey and that we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Royal Terrace in the future. Warm regards, Murray Murray Brand Front of House Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementCrowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Guest room
Photo provided by managementCrowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Guest room
Photo provided by managementCrowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Guest room
Photo provided by managementCrowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Guest room
Photo provided by managementCrowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Guest room
PreviousNext
12345647
Right behind it is a hike to the top of the hill with a great view plus a tower that was closed when I was there. Otherwise not really close unless you like to walk.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there prosecco available in the club lounge? Thanks
I do not believe so
0 votes
How many floors do you have? Is there a lift ? .
It’s either 3 or 4 floors and yes there was a lift
1 vote
It was quiet while I was there, although I did ask for a quiet room.
1 vote
Show all answers
The pool is no longer open, well it wasn’t when we were there last week. Annoyingly/confusingly it was shown on the confirmation email.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123456
"Rooms on the lower ground floor ar really quiet"
"avoid room 211 because of constant engine noise"
"Ask for second floor with a view"
"3rd floor rooms for view and better rooms"
"Ask for a king room when booking"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
USD 75 - USD 378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal terrace edinburghhotel royal terraceroyal terrace hotel edinburgh
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Le Meridien Edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghBroughton & Calton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing