We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Ettrick Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 129*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 294*
USD 129*
USD 294*
USD 129*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Ettrick Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Ettrick Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 279: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We booked this hotel because it was cheap and had private parking - these are its best points! Alongside this it was a beautiful building and had a lot of potential. The rooms need TLC and the staff need some serious training on customer service. Our room was supposed to be a double and they gave us a twin -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L0uiseH
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear L0uiseH, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel. It has always been the hotels policy to take payment on arrival, we feel this is a better option than holding an amount on a guest’s card higher than the rate they booked. You were informed at Check in that you had been given...

Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

I booked this for a surprise for my wife for our wedding night the staff were amazing especially calum the manager who was so helpful when iwas making my requests made sure that the champagne was chilled and chocolates in the room on arrival we even were upgraded to the best room in the hotel the James suite which I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sw1kw1
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sw1kw1, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel. Congratulations to you both on your recent marriage! I am glad that we were able to play a part in such a special day for you both. The complimentary upgrade was our pleasure and I am happy that it was a nice surprise for...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Been back to this hotel for meals recently after a long absence. Use it mainly as its within walking distance of home. was pleasantly delighted as the food was really lovely and although they were fairly busy in the restaurant - we were served relatively quick. Can really recommend the Sizzling Fajitas. will definitely be going back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janette29
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janette29, Thank you for your comments regarding your experience in our bar and restaurant. I am glad you enjoyed the freshly prepared food and the service in our conservatory restaurant. The sizzling fajitas are a very popular dish, when guests see and hear one come out there is always another one ordered! We look forward to welcoming you back...

limerick
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

We arrived late and were delighted to be greeted by a lovely Receptionist. She upgraded our room free of charge and was very helpful and was able to answer a number of questions that we had about the area. The room was large and nicely decorated. The only fault I had was that the kettle & hairdryer were quite dusty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aokeeffe
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear aokeeffe, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff here to be very helpful and friendly. I have spoken to housekeeping regarding the issues with dust and we have began retraining on our deep clean and departure rooms. We look...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

We found this hotel by chance, having tried others in the previous year; our daughter is studying in Edinburgh and we visit regularly from Aberdeen. On this occasion we took a double room for ourselves, plus a single for my Mum. Both rooms were very pleasant, with comfortable beds but I particularly loved ours, spacious, with a sofa, huge, modern...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ang J
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ang J, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us when visiting your daughter here in Edinburgh. All our food is freshly prepared in the kitchen from the Breakfast being cooked to order and the bar and restaurant menu with a good choice of...

Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Just had a 3 night stay,our room was lovely ,plenty of space in the bathroom tastefully done.Breakfast freshly cooked to order with a good choice served by friendly staff.Good choice of menu for dinner,local people where enjoying a meal so speaks for itself. I would recommend ringing the hotel as we had problem with Expedia which I have to say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SPOONER6
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SPOONER6, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to ensure our guest rooms are always to the highest standard and have recently refurbished some more of the bathrooms in some of them. The bar and restaurant are...

Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2015

This is an absolutely lovely hotel, everything has been done very tastefully and the staff are very helpful, however, I don't know if it is because the hotel is very busy or because I have booked through an agent but the room provided for us is a converted box room in the attic and is not suitable for a couple,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John G, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We do our best to ensure that we keep the rooms well maintained and they are redecorated each year so that they are always looking freshly decorated and clean. The room you...

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Me and my husband stayed on the 15th, 16th and 17 May, the first room was very disappointing as it seemed to be a makeshift room with no proper window and a pull door into the smallest bathroom that had a toilet that you would normally find in a caravan and this was very noisy, my husband could also hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corinna B
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Corinna, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some constructive feedback, we appreciate all of your comments. I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the first room you were allocated, I'm glad we were able to move you into a different room when you raised your concerns with our management team. I have spoken...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2015

Just stayed for one night bed and breakfast and my wife and I were very impressed with the room( and comfortable bed) which was excellent value for money. The large bathroom was also a treat .We enjoyed an excellent breakfast and were well impressed by the helpful and friendly staff. In the evening we visited the bar which was pleasantly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
royalettrickmanager, Front Office Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we look for see you again soon

Reviewed 8 May 2015

Be aware! Very disappointed. Room was meant to luxury suite but instead they gave us a standard triple room. Having booked a luxury suite for four people a month before (10/3/2015) for 10/4/2015, I was quite sure everything was well organized. On arrival to the hotel the daily manager asked for direct payment and gave us the keys for a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vicky M
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vicky M, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Royal Ettrick Hotel. The booking that you had made was for a Room only rate through Booking.com. This rate is something new that we had recently started doing with the agent and we were unaware that it was not connected to our Channel Management System which...

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#121 of 147 in Edinburgh
340 reviews
Masson House
#117 of 147 in Edinburgh
403 reviews
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#131 of 147 in Edinburgh
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Salisbury Hotel
#79 of 147 in Edinburgh
813 reviews
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#109 of 147 in Edinburgh
282 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Ettrick Hotel offers 3 star accommodation in Edinburgh within the mature, leafy, Victorian suburbs to the south of Edinburgh city centre. The Hotel provides the perfect getaway from the bustle of Edinburgh whilst still being within walking distance of The Old Town. Whether you're a business traveller looking for corporate accommodation or a family enjoying a fun filled break or family occasion in Edinburgh, you'll receive a warm welcome at The Royal Ettrick Hotel. With free parking in our private car park and ease of access to the Edinburgh bypass any travelling is simple and relaxed. Superb public transport links also service the hotel, with two main bus services into the heart of the city stopping directly in front of the hotel. Guests can also enjoy free WiFi via fibre optic broadband throughout the hotel which is of great benefit to guests and especially for corporate events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Ettrick Hotel

Address: 13 Ettrick Road | Polwarth, Edinburgh EH10 5BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $138 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Ettrick Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Ettrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ettrick Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Ettrick
Royal Ettrick Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Ettrick Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Royal Ettrick Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to see it first?”
RaibeartAlba, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“go some were else”
munch2014, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If booking a standard single may be disappointed.”
872fs, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“First floor, and ensure you ask for/book a room with a window.”
HelenH840, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“22 or 24, both very spacious and on the ground floor”
EmCee2013, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 129* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Hotels.comUSD 129
AMOMAUSD 294
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates