We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Links Hotel

#113 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Links Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Links Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 317: English reviews
Aberdeen
Reviewed 21 September 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here this month due its great location for "student land". Both times we have felt that the hotel has huge potential to be really good but it needs some work before I could describe it as that. The mattresses are a complete nightmare. In both the rooms we stayed in the springs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chocolateyAberdeen
Robsthomson, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Links Hotel. I am very pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay but there are areas on which we can improve. We are in the process of upgrading our mattresses and we are replacing the existing pump dispensers with individual soaps and shampoos - these...

gateshead
Reviewed 2 September 2014

this hotel has ticked all the boxes the rooms, the decor, the food outstanding the staff make you feel completely at home top marks in all departments if edinburgh is your destination and you want everything to be right come here itis truly an advert for how it should be done booked direct with the hotel best deal ever simply...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graham b
Robsthomson, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted we delivered such a memorable experience for you and that you enjoyed your time with us. We continue to work hard on all areas of the hotel and the guests experience and it is wonderful to have our hard work and efforts affirmed in this way. We...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Not a bad experience overall except this one guy who was on his night shift the morning we checked out. I had a family triple room, and I specifically asked at the time of checking in that if my room rate included breakfast for three people, which he said yes to. The second morning I had to leave early for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim Z
Robsthomson, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you fro your review. Given your experience at breakfast i am pleased to see that you view us favourably based on the entire stay and not this one unfortunate incident. In my time here I have not yet had any poor feedback regarding the Night and Morning teams but I shall certainly investigate and address this issue....

Oregon, USA
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a good stay at the Links, though there was some confusion between our tour agent and the hotel (very likely the agent's fault, and the hotel went out of their way to rectify). We were 2 families and a grandma, there are limited rooms for families here so we had to split up with 2 people per room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mangojenny
Robsthomson, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide fellow travellers your views. We are only a 15 minute walk to the heart of the City Centre but many guests choose to stay with us as our leafy surroundings do make it feel a world away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Given that...

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great young staff. Good food. Can walk to town but bus stop two blocks away. 23 bus is good. Will use again. Cool lay out. Free pitch and putt golf next door 36 holes. See golf Tavern for club rental.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madcitybill
Robsthomson, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening and thank you for your review. We are especially enjoying the 'young staff' part! We may not all be quite so young but the team here have bucket loads of enthusiasm and we all enjoy what we do very much so I am delighted we were able to look after you. The Links Pitch and Putt is a...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Last minute booking to get away from it all. Residents to Edinburgh we decided on a last minute staycation and the booking was as much about location as venue. However we were absolutely delighted by the experience,particularly having known the Links of old. The new management have got the Links firing on all cylinders with atmosphere and character in abundance...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stuart b
Robsthomson, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are seeing an increase in 'stay-cation' guests who are taking the opportunity to relax and unwind in their own city and with so many fantastic hotels in Edinburgh I am delighted that you stayed with us and we delivered on all fronts. As the recently appointed GM...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Booked last minute via hotel tonight! Very impressed! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet, large and luxurious. Service was available all night as they have a cheerful night porter who is always willing to help. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Katie.F

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie F
Robsthomson, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hotel Tonight is a fantastic app and I'm delighted you found us via this method. I am even more pleased that we met and exceeded your expectations - thank you for your mention of our night team, we are very fortunate to have committed and friendly staff members...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here as part of a self drive tour booked from Australia. Well done there is not park except pay parking on the street. The TV reception was very poor I fact impossible, floors in the room squeaked badly, the mattress was too thin so we bottomed out, we are not big people either. The fan in the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oldskool1961
Robsthomson, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry to read that we did not deliver on several fronts. It is rare for me to have to respond to so many issues being raised at once and I do hope that you had the opportunity to discuss your concerns whilst you were here...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for a hen do in May, fantastic hotel! Lovely rooms, very comfortable, great breakfast the next morning! Staff where great very helpful! Would def stay here again great hotel! We got taxi's into the centre which only took about 5mins so handy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clairecj1
Robsthomson, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Although I was not yet in my role in May I have taken on the stewardship of a lovely hotel with a fantastic staff team and it is no surprise that you benefited from this when you stayed. I trust the wedding was equally great, our congratulations to...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I went with some friends for a dinner out and I loved it. The food was tasty and the terrace outside is wonderful. I ordered a glass of red wine which was pretty good too. The manager of the bar/hotel came outside to check and ask if everything was ok; very nice gesture. I recommend the nachos!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaTma
Robsthomson, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, I do indeed remember saying 'hello' so it's lovely to see you have taken the time to write a review, especially as we provided you with a comfortable and happy stay. I am particularly pleased to read that you enjoyed our Nachos - something I find so many places do badly. Ours are made with 100% steak mince,...

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
2:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 147 in Edinburgh
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
778 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Southside & Holyrood

Neighbourhood Profile
Southside & Holyrood
Many of Edinburgh’s student hangouts gather around university buildings in Southside, the sort of neighbourhood that supports a long string of second-hand shops and eateries serving ethnic food for just a few pounds. In August the student population is replaced by vast numbers of boisterous visitors here for the Fringe, Edinburgh’s world-class comedy and arts festival which headquarters itself here. Flanking Southside are two great parks. The Meadows is a vast flat and sporty space where football, rugby, tennis, cricket, croquet, and golf often all take place side by side. Kids in its big playgrounds add to the joyful noise. Far bigger and much wilder, Holyrood Park extends to the east and provides a real hike up Arthur’s Seat, but the district is best known as the site of Scotland’s Parliament and its premier Royal Palace—and their steady stream of sightseers.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Links Restaurant
Links Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, Scottish, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Links Hotel

Address: 4 Alvanley Terrace | Whitehouse Loan, Edinburgh EH9 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood , Bruntsfield
Price Range: $121 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Links Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Links Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Links Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Links Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Links Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I called the receptionist and found out the specs of the room, then booked.”
gannr, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“1. Advise staff prior to reservation, if you have difficulty negotiating stairs. 2. Rooms at front may be noisy due to smokers outside bar.”
PJM06, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a 'quiet' room.”
Cindy1712, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Any mobility issues advise the staff prior to going so they can allocate an appropriate room. My High floor room 210 had no noise.”
susanc740, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Please confirm booking in advance and carry proof of any payment made Demand one of their better rooms”
13GwenC, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates