We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Merith House Hotel

Booking.comUSD 64*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 128*
USD 64*
USD 114*
USD 128*
USD 64*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Merith House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Merith House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 215: English reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed with our 3 year old daughter for 2 nights and the room was awful it hadn't been hoovered and there were screws on the floor. The toilet broke but give the staff their dues they tried to fix it and the second night was better than the first. The breakfast can't be classed as continental in the slightest....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stephiesimspon87
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We left it late to book after a urge to spend New Year in Edinburgh but were delighted find a hotel within twenty minute walk of the city centre. On arrival the hotel looked presentable from the outside but found the previous reviews about the poor attitude of staff to be correct. We were then taken outside and walked two...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank samanthaanddavid1
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

My girlfriend and I stayed here for four nights over the New Year. We booked the hotel at the beginning of December so we expected to pay over the odds because we had left it late and most hotels were fully occupied. Unfortunately, I would say £10 a night would be classed as 'daylight robbery' for a room at Merith...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank hollykiera10
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We do not promise any Car Parking spaces at Merith House as it is clearly stated that it is Free On Street Parking, we do not own any Parking spaces so we could not have given you this information. Yes there are charges for using Cards here as clearly stated on the booking confirmation you...

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Some of the time it felt as though I was staying in a prison, as I did not feel appreciated as a paying guest; and I'm sure a prison breakfast would have been better than the Farm Foods offerings here. Not exactly hospitality, and I felt sorry for any foreign visitor who might have ended up here, and embarrassed for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tanzderlemming
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

This is a duplicate review previously posted and replied to.

Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 30 December 2016

I made a reservation on their official website for a stay of 3 nights at the total cost of 60 pounds (single ensuite room). A confirmation latter was sent to me right after the booking was done. I paid 60 pounds at the reception upon my arrival. Everything seemed alright. However, after having stayed there for two nights, I suddendly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PetiteNemo
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

I can only once again apologise for the error on the website. As I explained we never got the email until your 2nd nights stay. I offered to show you the email so you would not think we were conning you. Website do sometimes mess up with the amount of traffic going through them and this was no fault of...

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

The parking is just street parking and can be difficult at times. The house is clean but could use some updating. All and all it was right on for the price. The owners we nice and gave some good recommendations for local eats.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dm928
Reviewed 5 December 2016

I stayed at the Merith House Hotel for 2 nights in November. On arrival, the staff were rude and did not welcome us to the hotel, just reminded us of the 5% surcharge on using a credit or debit card. We expected a breakfast in the morning as the hotel website states that 'complimentary breakfast' is provided for all guests,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nicole B
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

All Guests are greeted at the Main Door on Arrival as staff members have to open it to let them enter. As clearly stated on all websites there is charge for payments by Credit cards. The room you booked was a Double Room Only with a Shared Bathroom, this room does not come with Breakfast. If you wished to have...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Davies great patter is second to none! We stayed for two nights in the hotel. On Friday we were greeted by Davie who is a great guy. He couldn't do more for us over our couple of days and he was a great laugh. We arrived a wee bit before check in but Davie had no problem in letting us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank murraysmith92
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review.

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed in at Merith for the first night of our two night stay in Edinburgh. We arrived late (approx 11.30pm) and so incurred the late fee, which was £10. This fee does seem quite excessive but we were warned of it after calling the guest house to alert them to our late arrival. We were greeted by a gentlemen...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SEJ24
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review.

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Stayed for 3 nights. Breakfast included(Continental) Couple of minor problems but they where sorted straight away. Bed was not the most comfortable but have slept on worse. Parking is on the main road but always found a spot to park. This hotel is a 5 minute walk to Princess Street great location for tourists.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonotter
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review.

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Twenty
#144 of 147 in Edinburgh
518 reviews
Victoria Park Hotel
#122 of 147 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#139 of 147 in Edinburgh
254 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 147 in Edinburgh
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Merith House Hotel is a family run centrally located guest house in the City of Edinburgh. Centrally located on a main bus route, No. 25, the Merith is within easy access of all Edinburgh's main attractions and is approx a 10 min bus ride to/from the city centre (1.5km). The Merith Hotel has 14 en-suite rooms, all with LCD TV offering over 50 channels, tea/coffee making facilities, free WI-FI and rooms are maintained daily. Front facing rooms have lovely views of the Leith Links Park famous for being the location of where the first rules of golf were drawn up, playing the game over 5 holes. Free on street parking and complimentary sit down continental breakfast. A Full Scottish Breakfast is Available upon request for an extra charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merith House Hotel

Address: Leith Links 2-3 Hermitage Place, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $77 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merith House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Merith House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merith Hotel Edinburgh
Merith House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Merith House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid at all costs !”
nat010, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Very Accessible: Bus from in front of the hotel directly to Princes Street.”
213sergec, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front has view over a Park but not noisey”
Jonotter, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a different hotel.”
  • The 'Harry Potter' experience.
H6580SErichardh, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Two floors only accessible by stairs, so something to consider if you have mobility problems.”
barryw908, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 64* /night
View Deal
Toprooms.comUSD 114
PricelineUSD 64
Hostelworld.comUSD 128
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates