We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Merith House Hotel

Toprooms.comUSD 49*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 166*
USD 49*
USD 166*
USD 90*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Merith House Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 212: English reviews
Start your review of Merith House Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The people at checkin were not friendly at all. The accommodations were terrible. Only had bottom sheet and comforter on the beds. The bathrooms were disguisting. So send a little more. You won't be sorry.

Thank lifeinthejeys
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Our beds have sheets and duvets on them, shared bathrooms are checked twice a day after the housekeepers have cleaned them, if you had problems you could have mentioned to us as upon departure you said the stay was good

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I spent 2 nights at this B&B with my kids and if you're looking for a bargain I highly recommend it! It's in a quiet location but only a 15 minute walk to the city centre also it's really close to a big supermarket and local pubs and restaurants. The staff are really friendly and helpful!! If you're looking for...

Thank leedsolly
Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What I liked the best in this property is that it's the cheapest (based on my needs) and the bus station is right in front of it. The neighborhood is very calm and the hotel is facing the Leith Links, an amazing park for a morning walk or meditation. - The room is very unclean - The floor was sticking...

Thank Serge C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The location was amazing! The bus 25, took us to the middle of town. And even Better the bus stop was right outside the hotel! The Breakfast was brilliant, with friendly staff, giving you plenty of chioces to choose from. The rooms were clean and tidy The staff were pleasant and I would hill recommend this hotel!!! Definitely a visit...

1Thank Haris A
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Pre-booked 5 months in advance. Paid a deposit. Only to be told 2 days before that the room has been cancelled with no explanation. But still advertised on numerous websites that there are still rooms available at double the price due to the 6 Nation rugby this weekend. Absolutely disgusting behaviour. Told my partner and now she is really upset...

8Thank chizzy83
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

This Guest did not stay at Merith House Hotel, Trip advisor needs to review there postings and only put on Genuine ones

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

The room was small and wasn't really that clean unfortunately. Stairs quite cramped and difficult to climb with bags. It was cheap but the service reflected this. The location is quite good, just next to the park and the bus to the old city runs right past here. Supermarket and pubs quite close by.

1Thank mbg1969
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here over the new year period. It's only a Hotel in name only, this is a B and B. The Room was Small but clean, hot water and heating very good. Free Wi if is available. There's tea and coffee aplenty in the room. Check in was quick, 5 % for paying by Debit Card totally unfair. Staff were...

1Thank sawmanwilson
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed with our 3 year old daughter for 2 nights and the room was awful it hadn't been hoovered and there were screws on the floor. The toilet broke but give the staff their dues they tried to fix it and the second night was better than the first. The breakfast can't be classed as continental in the slightest....

1Thank stephiesimspon87
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We left it late to book after a urge to spend New Year in Edinburgh but were delighted find a hotel within twenty minute walk of the city centre. On arrival the hotel looked presentable from the outside but found the previous reviews about the poor attitude of staff to be correct. We were then taken outside and walked two...

6Thank samanthaanddavid1
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

My girlfriend and I stayed here for four nights over the New Year. We booked the hotel at the beginning of December so we expected to pay over the odds because we had left it late and most hotels were fully occupied. Unfortunately, I would say £10 a night would be classed as 'daylight robbery' for a room at Merith...

3Thank hollykiera10
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We do not promise any Car Parking spaces at Merith House as it is clearly stated that it is Free On Street Parking, we do not own any Parking spaces so we could not have given you this information. Yes there are charges for using Cards here as clearly stated on the booking confirmation you...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (53)
Room/Suite (6)
Bathroom (5)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (4)
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Twenty
#146 of 150 in Edinburgh
509 reviews
Victoria Park Hotel
#124 of 150 in Edinburgh
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#141 of 150 in Edinburgh
251 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#144 of 150 in Edinburgh
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Merith House Hotel is a family run centrally located guest house in the City of Edinburgh. Centrally located on a main bus route, No. 25, the Merith is within easy access of all Edinburgh's main attractions and is approx a 10 min bus ride to/from the city centre (1.5km). The Merith Hotel has 14 en-suite rooms, all with LCD TV offering over 50 channels, tea/coffee making facilities, free WI-FI and rooms are maintained daily. Front facing rooms have lovely views of the Leith Links Park famous for being the location of where the first rules of golf were drawn up, playing the game over 5 holes. Free on street parking and complimentary sit down continental breakfast. A Full Scottish Breakfast is Available upon request for an extra charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merith House Hotel

Address: 2-3 Hermitage Place, Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $70 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merith House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merith House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merith Hotel Edinburgh
Merith House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Merith House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very Accessible: Bus from in front of the hotel directly to Princes Street.”
213sergec, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front has view over a Park but not noisey”
Jonotter, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a different hotel.”
  • The 'Harry Potter' experience.
H6580SErichardh, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Two floors only accessible by stairs, so something to consider if you have mobility problems.”
barryw908, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“D o not book a room in the annex building.”
chrisrossc, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
USD 49* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 166
Booking.comUSD 90
TripAdvisorUSD 90
View all 11 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates