We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

24 Royal Terrace

Save
Share
24 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AH Scotland
Update from hotel: This property is temporarily closed until 01/06/2021.
Lowest prices for your stay
USD 216
View deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
Booking.comUSD 216
Expedia.comUSD 217
eDreamsUSD 216
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (300)
360
Panoramas (32)
Room & Suite (172)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#23 of 161 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
24 Royal Terrace is situated on one of Edinburgh’s most iconic Georgian terraces. The 16-bedroom hotel backs onto the Royal Gardens of Holyrood Palace and Calton Hill with commanding views across to the Firth of Forth. Ideally suited to both business and leisure guests, the rooms vary from spacious apartment suites to affordable single rooms. All bedrooms feature en-suite Shower Rooms and our two Feature Deluxe rooms boast luxurious cast iron baths in the bedroom. All bedrooms offer wireless and wired internet connection, have Samsung Smart TVs fitted with amplified Soundbars, plus USB power sockets for charging devices. The hotel features a private, original art collection including works by renowned Scottish artist John Bellany. rt’s bar, a stylish meeting point for guests serves food all day. From Scottish and Continental breakfast in the morning, to rt's menu in the evening. rt’s serves a fine range of whiskies, living up to Royal Terrace’s historical nickname, ‘Whisky Row’.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
24-hour security
Concierge
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Street parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Bulgarian, Greek, Hungarian and 1 more
536Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 407
  • 101
  • 17
  • 9
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Philos wrote a review Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom24 contributions44 helpful votes
The location was excellent, close to the centre, the train station, Brae house and Holyrood clastle, while being quiet. The host was helpful and friendly. Rooms are spacious with beautiful views, shower rooms are small. To recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
B S wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Having spent the last 8 years travelling to Edinburgh I've stayed in may hotels, serviced apartments etc. Knowing the area very well decided to try a smaller boutique hotel for my shorter visits and fell upon 24 Royal Terrace. The hotel is really comfortable and friendly. There is a small selection of food if you decide to dine in but not extensive. The breakfasts are great. The full Scottish breakfast is fab and i struggle to finish it - and i can eat! The rooms are lovely with great views and the building itself is a perfect example of of Georgian (i think) architecture that makes Edinburgh so special. Royal Terrace is probably one of the best streets in Edinburgh with everything on your doorstep. Athur's Seat is a short stride away and Carlton Hill is even closer where you will find the best views over Edinburgh and over the Leith . In short- great little hotel, in a great location. I will defiantly be making it my first choice for me next short visit in a couple of weeks
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Melville, General Manager at 24 Royal Terrace
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Dear B S, Many thanks for sharing your feedback. We're glad that you gave a smaller boutique hotel a try and that you enjoyed your stay here at 24 Royal Terrace. It's great to hear that you will be returning once more in a couple of weeks, we look forward to seeing you. All the best, Jonathan M
Read more
David Sionnach wrote a review Mar 2020
Yorkshire239 contributions78 helpful votes
It is quite a novelty to stay in any Scottish hotel, far less one in Edinburgh, and not see the walls bedecked with pictures of ‘hielan coos’ and highlanders in ‘traditional’ attire. The art (and it IS art no, matter what some might think) could not be further from an illustrated Walter Scott novel if you tried. My wife was surprised to see some works by a particular artist she has an indirect, but interesting, link with. However, enough about the art, what about the hotel? Wonderful is the first word the comes to mind. Elegant, stylish, a cut-above are others. I had chosen a deluxe room and was not disappointed. I won’t go into all the details, but suffice to say it fully met all expectations and exceeded several more. The staff are exceedingly polite, helpful and professional and gave the impression of being totally relaxed and in control. It was also nice to see a ‘proper’ bar in a small hotel like this with a selection of draught beers and the inevitable, but understandable, wide range of whiskeys. Too often smallish hotels just make a token effort to provide a bar and you are left feeling you have put the staff out by wanting a drink, not so here. So, I would have had no compunction in giving full marks to the hotel and would have felt it churlish to make any negative remark whatsoever, had we not decided to partake of breakfast! I do not usually have breakfast in hotels, especially when on social trips. They tend to be overpriced and underwhelming, and my preference is to find a local café nearby. However, it was pouring with rain and when we checked-in the receptionist was very effusive about their breakfast, so we decided to take the risk. Oh dear! Firstly, let me say that the basic breakfast items (cereal, yoghurt, juices, croissants) were perfectly acceptable and had we stuck with those we might have left reasonably happy, despite the £12 per person charge. However, my wife opted for the porridge and I opted for the ‘full Scottish’. As I am Scottish, and my wife is Irish we are no strangers to porridge and we both learned a very long time ago that there is some cooking involved in its preparation. It is not enough to just pour hot milk over porridge oats, all you get then is a sort of warm muesli. In my ‘full Scottish’ I received: A slice of black pudding that was one of the best I have had, so the basic ingredients were of obvious quality. A slab of overtoasted sourdough that even the fat oozing from the bacon couldn’t soften Two rashers of streaky bacon that seemed to have been left over from the day before. A potato pancake that had the texture of a Jacobs cream cracker. A very unpleasant sausage made even more unpleasant by the fact it wasn’t cooked. A pile of something that was supposed to be scrambled eggs. I have had some bad hotel scrambled eggs in my time, but these have got to be the worst! Based on the fact that they were four different colours I am guessing that at least two eggs with different coloured yolks were involved. If you are not capable of mixing eggs together then you have an uphill challenge in actually cooking them. When my wife expressed her disappointment to the waitress she apologised and explained ‘the chef was new’. In my experience of the catering trade in Scotland this usually means the chef didn’t turn up because he was drunk/got poached by another establishment/got arrested/got beaten up by the housemaid's husband. As a result, the teenager who normally washes the pots has to cook breakfast. Anyway, it wasn’t a disaster, basically just another overpriced hotel breakfast. Nevertheless, we filled up on toast, cereal and a very nice fruit salad and left sufficiently fed, if a little disappointed. So, to summarise, a fantastic hotel that I have no hesitation recommending and would happily stay in again. Just think twice before having breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Melville, General Manager at 24 Royal Terrace
Responded 8 Mar 2020
Dear David S, Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm glad that the majority of you stay surpassed your expectations. I am sorry you had an unfavourable experience during your breakfast. As you will see from the majority of our recent reviews our individually prepared plated breakfast is something we take great pride, so your experience something we take very seriously. On the whole our guests are more than satisfied and we receive positive feedback both on review sites and verbally from the guests themselves. I'm sorry to hear that we appear to have dropped the ball on this occasion. Given the polite and professional service which you reference of our fantastic staff, I hope that you were able to bring this to their attention straight away to give us the opportunity to fix the problems for you. As you mention the produce we use in all of our breakfasts is of high quality and along with the services we provide and the hot drinks and juices included we feel our pricing represents great value for money for breakfast in Edinburgh. I hope that we are able to welcome you back to 24 Royal Terrace in the future and I am confident that you would have a positive breakfast experience. Kind regards, Jonathan Melville
Read more
ANDREW M wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Fantastic hotel. Can’t fault it. We were upgraded to the junior suite and it was stunning. Breakfast the next morning was great and the staff were really helpful and welcoming. I would recommend this hotel for a trip to Edinburgh. It’s also a five minute walk to the Playhouse
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Melville, General Manager at 24 Royal Terrace
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Hello Andrew M, Many thanks for your great feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your upgrade and mad the most of our fantastic breakfast! Very much appreciate your recommendation, that is very kind indeed. Hopefully we will welcome you back to 24 Royal Terrace soon. Kind regards, Jonathan M
Read more
LDGK90 wrote a review Mar 2020
Switzerland299 contributions89 helpful votes
Stayed 3 nights and were not disappointed. The room was clean and comfortable and a good size. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was nicely set out. We didn't take any meals during our stay due to our schedule but we did sample their lovely homemade mince pies each day. The hotel is certainly a feast for the eyes with all the art work on show. The only point we would make is that we were on the top floor so had to negotiate the stairs several times a day. This might be an issue for some guests. The chap on Reception quite happily took our cases up for us.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Melville, General Manager at 24 Royal Terrace
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Hello LDGK90, Thank you for your positive feedback! We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're glad you sampled our delicious mince pies which are a lovely treat over the Christmas period. Hopefully if you visit us again you would be able to try our breakfasts as well. We appreciate that the stairs can be a bit difficult but we think the views are worth it from the top floor and they give us lots of wall space to show our private art collection! I'm glad we could make the stairs easier for you by taking your luggage. Hopefully if you return to Edinburgh we will be able to welcome you back to 24 Royal Terrace. All the best, Jonathan M
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 116 - USD 331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ailsa craig edinburgh, hotel ailsa craig, ailsa craig hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghBroughton & Calton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about 24 Royal Terrace
Which popular attractions are close to 24 Royal Terrace?
Nearby attractions include Calton Hill (0.5 km), Nelson Monument (0.4 km), and National Monument (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at 24 Royal Terrace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at 24 Royal Terrace?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at 24 Royal Terrace?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 24 Royal Terrace?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pera - Turkish Mangal & Meze Bar, Polentoni, and Kahani Indian Restaurant.
Is 24 Royal Terrace located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at 24 Royal Terrace?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, Greek, Hungarian, and Bulgarian.
Are there any historical sites close to 24 Royal Terrace?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.6 km), The Real Mary King's Close (1.1 km), and Gilmerton Cove (6.3 km).