We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

779 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
See the most recent reviews
Showing 730: English reviews
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Reviewed 12 January 2015

Just stayed at this hotel for one night as it was close to where we wanted to be. Its about 6 mins away from Princess Street by bus and has ample parking space. The staff were all very friendly and the rooms were very comfy. Opposite the hotel is Craigleith shopping, very handy if you don't want to go into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank divajules
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear divajules, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you found the staff very friendly and the rooms very comfortable. However I am disappointed to learn that you were not fully satisfied with our breakfast and will pass on your feedback to the Food & Beverage Manager and...

Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2015

arrived at hotel and was upgraded to Junior suite brill. room quality, bed quality,food quality all good. free parking 35 minute walk to centre but bus stop right outside hotel , bus every 10 minutes. only downside for hotel was price of drink, £9.10 for a pint of beer and a whisky and mixer highest price i paid in Edinburgh.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brian5154
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear brian5154, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with the quality of the room, the bed and the food however I am disappointed to learn that you found the prices of the drinks high. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and you will...

UK
Reviewed 8 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed between Xmas and new year for a couple of nights in a family room. Slightly small but excellent view of the city from the 5th floor. Much better than the pictures on the Internet. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff. A couple of miles from the centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yazanmas
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Yazanmas, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I am delighted to read that you liked the view over Edinburgh and that you found the breakfast excellent and the staff friendly. I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in the future. Best Regards

Newport
Reviewed 6 January 2015 via mobile

Staying here on business trip. Good location, easy to access the city or motorway. Check in was excellent Great room - I was upgraded to a mini suite Excellent buffet breakfast - they also do Starbucks from the bar!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RSH_Wales
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear RSH_Wales, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you found the breakfast excellent and I appreciate your comments on the location. I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in the future. Kind Regards

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2015

We met our friends and ate in the restaurant,The buffet had a poor selection,the wine was very good but extremely expensive,(£14+ for two large glasses)The staff was most attentive and the hotel in child friendly,very clean,and on a busy bus service, The new tram service from the airport is very useful,get off at West End,and catch a bus from Queensferry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nark36
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear nark36, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you found the staff attentive. However I am disappointed to learn that you did not liked the selection of the buffet and that you were not fully satisfied with our prices. I hope you had a great time...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2014

We stayed here on a weekend break to Edinburgh during December and it exceeded my expectations. We were upgraded to a suite which had a sofa and arm chair and was very comfortable. Although the bed wasn't quite the same and was a bit lumpy but we were only there one night. We got the bus into town which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJE40
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear AJE40, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you were so happy with your room and that you found the breakfast excellent with plenty of choice. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and we look forward to your next visit. Kind...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2014 via mobile

Arrived at 3am after a weary journey from England!!! Two double beds for us all very comfy beds. Breakfast was excellent I had an omelette with peppers, onions it tasted great! We spent so long unwinding over breakfast that by the time we wanted some pancakes the machine had run out. There was a small play area outside that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Joanne C, Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you found your beds very comfortable and that the kids enjoyed the play area. I am pleased to read that you wish you could have stayed longer and we look forward to your next visit. Best Regards

Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2014

If going for short city break by car this is worth considering. It sits just on the edge of the city centre, no more than a 10 minute bus journey to Princess Street. Big plus is free parking as you do not want to take your car into town if you can avoid it. A retail park is opposite. Another...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allan T
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Allan T, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with the price of the breakfast and I appreciate your comments on the location. I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in the future. Best...

Reviewed 21 December 2014 via mobile

Food was brilliant. Nice and hot and good choice Service excellent Music great and suited everyone Spirits wee bit expensive, although prosseco great price ..Overall A GREAT NIGHT. .we all agreed to book next year

 Report
Helpful?
Thank animb
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear animb, Many thanks for this fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the Christmas Party Nights with us and that you found the food brilliant. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards

Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2014 via mobile

I spent a month looking for a hotel in the Edinburgh area during school holidays. When I came across an offer on superbreak I took a gamble. I was pleasantly suprised, as the hotel was on the outskirts as I was unsure about Transport links, for those looking for a trip and don't want to pay city centre parking, this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scoop_78044
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear scoop_78044, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I appreciate your comments on the location of the hotel and I am pleased to read that you found our customer service first class. I am sorry that you were not fully satisfied with the buffet but I am happy that you...

236 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (85)
Viewed
Double Room with Handicap Accessiblity (12)
Viewed
Double Standard Room with a Sofa Bed (14)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Suite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,075 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#78 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,041 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $110 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on upper floors facing city”
 of 5 bubbles 481grahamn, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a high up room facing the city”
 of 5 bubbles Pammyjz, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the castle.”
 of 5 bubbles R5350CVroberth, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The higher up your room is, the better the Edinburgh view”
 of 5 bubbles Tsturgess, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For best views ask for a room on 6th floor”
 of 5 bubbles allisonc781, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5