We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Save
Share
10-18 Windsor Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JR Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
USD 64
View deal
Hotels.com
USD 64
View deal
FindHotel
USD 44
View deal
Expedia.comUSD 64
PricelineUSD 64
StayForLongUSD 68
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (500)
Room & Suite (127)
Dining (40)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#107 of 161 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated in the lively theatre district of Edinburgh with the old town just minutes away, the Cairn Edinburgh has recently undergone a complete refurbishment to high standard. The hotel offers fantastic accommodation suited for leisure and corporate guests alike easily accessible by rail with the Edinburgh Waverley station only a 10 minute walk away.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1,586Reviews43Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 500
  • 598
  • 287
  • 109
  • 92
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Princesstaws wrote a review Oct 2020
Gateshead, United Kingdom87 contributions41 helpful votes
Stayed here last night with my daughter. Have previously stayed with my husband. Great location with lovely staff. Cheap and cheerful. Nice big bedrooms. Very clean. Bed was super comfy, plenty of toiletries and lovely little touches like bottles of water , crisps , biscuits aswell as the normally tea and coffee. Unfortunately all the restrictions were in place so no pubs and bars were open so we just had an Uber eats delivered to the hotel. My daughter loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Dear Princesstaws, Thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure serving you again. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your say with us. As mentioned by you, we offer great accommodation at a great value. It is the toughest time for everyone. We appreciate your support and looking forward to serving you near future. Please remember to book directly to avail 15% return discount. Kind Regards Kannan Nair General Manager
Read more
Gavin14774 wrote a review Oct 2020
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom19 contributions56 helpful votes
I can't recommend this place highly enough, the rooms are very high quality and very well equipped down to free bottled water, crisps, biscuits and tea and coffee. There is soap, shower gel and shampoo. We stayed in a 5* hotel in Mexico last year and honestly the quality of the rooms were not much different. The Cairn is short walk from Princes Street and there is a bus stop at the end of the road. For the price this is a no brainer, we will definitely be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 14 Oct 2020
Dear Gavin, Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to serve you at Cairn. We offer great value to our guests and as you mentioned, the location is few minute walk from city centre. Windsor street is a residential street and hence a quiet street too. We offer great rates when you book directly with us. Our team are more than happy to meet or exceed our guest expectation. Once again a big thank you for your custom and looking forward to serving you near future. Kind Regards Kannan Nair General Manager
Read more
bunnySouthport wrote a review Sep 2020
Southport, United Kingdom715 contributions218 helpful votes
Considering how close this was to the city it was excellent for £45 a night. The rooms weren’t big but beds comfortable enough Nice little bar there and WiFi so couldn’t complain at all. I would certainly use this hotel again Good attentive staff
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 30 Sep 2020
Dear BunnySouthport, Thank you for a great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We offer great rates and value to our guests. We are 8-10 min walk from Princess street and all the touristic and transport facilities are on a walkable distance from he hotel. Our team are dedicated to our guest services. We appreciate you taking the time to write the review and thank you for the kind words. It was a pleasure serving you and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Kannan Nair General Manager
Read more
Dooby57 wrote a review Sep 2020
16 contributions28 helpful votes
The hotel is a 10/15min walk from the centre which is fine if you dont mind walking, we arrived and checked in without a problem, the corridors had a musty smell about them, the room was spacious enough but had an overwhelming smell of pee when we went inside. Also the room was cold no heating on. The beds were comfy even though the "large" bed was 2 singles pushed together we had an awful view of a walled area full of rubble and surrounding flats looking down into, a net curtain was up but still not ideal. Due to covid no bar/restaurant open which meant a small paper bag breakfast brought to the room between 7-8am, but the first morning the people only came walking into start at 8am?? the first morning we only got 2 breakfasts, there were 3 of us, and only 2 sets of clean towels left after the room had been cleaned. I did tell them this and it was rectified but the excuse of oh maybe only 2 people on the system wasn't good enough when my booking obviously said for 3 guests. We will stay more central next time but the hotel was OK for our base.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 24 Sep 2020
Dear Dooby 57, Than you for your valuable feedback. Our sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory experience you had with us. Although I do not accept certain comments you have made, we do care about the comments. If there was any unhappiness about the room, we encourage our guests to mention them at check in. Which will give us time to rectify. The heating in the room works on a regulator at the radiator in the room. Which allows the guests to adjust according to their liking. We are a budget 3 star property and not all the rooms have great views. Windsor street is a residential street and there are residential properties in neighbourhood. We offer great rates for our guests and we have repeated guests visiting us. We apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We thank you for you feedback once again. Kind Regards Kannan Nair General Manager
Read more
Tina B wrote a review Sep 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom9 contributions22 helpful votes
Stayed here for 1 night at an unbeatable price , fantastic location ,superb room and brilliant staff , had a nice little packed breakfast brought to our room because of covid ,it is a continental one , but it was lovely not having to hurry in the morning to get down for breakfast with a hangover 😂🍹, had a great stay . definitely stay here again .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 9 Sep 2020
Dear Tina, Thank you for a fantastic review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your time to post a great review and thank you to your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back you Cairn Edinburgh. Kind Regards Kannan Nair General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 66 - USD 404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cairn hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghLeith
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Which popular attractions are close to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Nearby attractions include Nelson Monument (0.5 km), National Monument (0.5 km), and The Lion King Playhouse Theatre (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Yes, secured parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Little Chartroom, Educated Flea, and Pera - Turkish Mangal & Meze Bar.
Is Cairn Hotel Edinburgh located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are there any historical sites close to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.9 km), The Real Mary King's Close (1.1 km), and Gilmerton Cove (6.6 km).