We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Scotsman Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Scotsman Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Scotsman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,075: English reviews
Durham, Connecticut
Reviewed 25 August 2014

If you are a first time visitor to this beautiful hotel, dont allow yourself to be seated in the 'Drawing Room' at the Scotsman hotel. It is bleak and has tiles (similar to my friend's wet room, perfectly suitable for a bathroom) round the walls. The window vista is onto a stone wall. The sandwiches and scones were fresh as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Trish373
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent afternoon tea here at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise. I am sorry that you felt the drawing room was not suitable for your visit. This is unusual to hear as we always have...

UK
Reviewed 23 August 2014

From the wonderfully warm greeting on arrival (thank you Fraser), to having our luggage smoothly whisked away until check in time, to the free upgrade for our one night booking in a 'de luxe room' to an 'Editor's Suite' (room 614): we found this hotel very friendly, welcoming and relaxing. The architecture and ceilings of this old building have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cannicUk
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your stay with us at the Scotsman hotel. We are very proud of our team here and I will personally pass on your comments regarding Fraser. I am disappointed to read your comments about the shower curtain, I will pass this onto our head housekeeper to check and replace...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very disappointing stay at the end of July. We arrived late after a delayed flight....the room was incredibly hot and no effort had been made to cool it...even though we had called ahead to say we would arrive after midnight. Next day after a terrible nights sleep we found a fan in a cupboard. We booked a room for three...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gillrick
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your stay with us here at the Scotsman hotel. I am sorry to hear that the room was not of your desired temperature, each of our guests have different preferences with regards to temperature and I am sorry that this was uncomfortable for you. With regards to our 5...

Sydney
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were excited about staying in Edinburgh and in particular the Scotsman Hotel as it looked fantastic on the website and cost a lot more than we were normally paying but happy to pay if it delivered. This lovely old building used to house a newspaper and resembled an old castle. We could accept that the "parking available "advertised wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JacquesSydney
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your stay. Here at the Scotsman we appreciate feedback good or bad and I would like to assure you that I will personally pass this all on to our head housekeeper to investigate. As I am unsure of which room you were allocated I cannot comment with clarity with...

New York
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here for four nights in July and had a fantastic time, and excellent service. I'd like to thank Gillian, Ivor, and Barry in particular for their help and attention (and advice on the best Indian place nearby). We stayed in room 304, and I want to thank Gillian for getting us in there (I had messed up our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank callavere
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more. I would like to thank you for your kind compliments with regards to all of...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2014

1) If you have problems walking this hotel is not for you, NO PARKING ON SITE only parking is 10 to 15 minutes away in Waverley Station uphill walk to the hotel, the hotel offer a discount on the parking but still expect to pay £ 15 for 12 hours. rip off 2) Reception was a desk at the back...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jeff T
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments, I would like to firstly apologies as well as respond to the points you have made. Although we don’t provide a car park at the hotel; our guests receive a discounted rate at the local public car park which is only a 5 minute walk away from the Scotsman. I’m...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were a party of 6, taking my mother in law out for her birthday. I was disappointed to be taken to a room at the back of the hotel, and would have preferred to be seated in the brasserie at the front. Portions were generous, and we were invited to try several different teas. Service was fine, although I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Penguinz
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your afternoon tea here at the Scotsman hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed to be seated in our drawing room, I am pleased however that you did indeed enjoy your afternoon tea and will return. Please contact myself directly and I will be happy to...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Fantastic central location! Ivor the porter and his tartan trousers will stay with me forever lovely attentive guy, breakfast choice was great including continental, Scottish or even eggs Benedict, the room was huge with rooftop views of the royal mike, comfortable and homely, we took advantage of the pool, steam room and jacuzzi one evening and it was soooo peaceful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie416
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review regarding your stay with us here at the Scotsman. We are very proud that each of our stay knows the importance of making our guests feel welcome and I will personally pass your comments onto Ivor ! I am sorry that your room was not ready on arrival...

Montreal
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have always wanted to stay at The Scotsman - now I'm not sure why. The hallways and carpets were shabby, room was ordinary and fitted with badly-made built-ins. You would think that a luxury hotel would merit a step up from instant coffee in the room - not so. I must say that the bed was comfortable; view of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anne D
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was one of the most interesting hotels I've stayed in. We had booked an Editor's room and our room was a 2 story loft. It also had 1.5 baths which was nice with a seperate sitting area with TV on the main floor and the bed and full bath upstairs with another small sitting area. The bathrooms were both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura B

903 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (606)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (55)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (147)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (231)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (62)
Viewed
Director Suite (71)
Viewed
Editor Room (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,578 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
840 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#49 of 150 in Edinburgh
426 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
829 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. Concierge service is available at The Scotsman Hotel to help you make the most of the city during your stay, simply let our knowledgeable team know if we can assist in any way and take the hassle out of planning your time in Edinburgh. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $218 - $790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Scotsman Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Scotsman Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try the cocktails !”
 of 5 bubbles AJSWT, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose an Editor Room.”
 of 5 bubbles Kittyboy2114, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Somewhere else for the money!”
 of 5 bubbles simonhL3336FF, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a view of the city,”
 of 5 bubbles 725susans, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“the views of the city are great”
 of 5 bubbles ashleymF6543BQ, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5