We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Scotsman Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Scotsman Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,092: English reviews
Start your review of The Scotsman Hotel
 Click to rate
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We chose the Scotsman for our mini-moon primarily because unlike many of the neighbouring hotels it had spa and pool facilities. However, about a week before we were due to arrive Agodo with whom we booked (we couldn't book on the website because it would only accept two types of credit card of which we had neither) emailed to say...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greenakrebs
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Greenakrebs, It was great to hear from you. Thank you for taking time to share your comments. We are so sorry that we couldn't offer the leisure facilities to you. When we bought the hotel over from the previous ownership, the leisure centre was not part of the sale. We did inform all our partnering agents to let our...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed in the Scotsman for a 3 night break. Turndown service on the first night with bottled water added to night stand. Very clean although carpet was very worn. Stunning bathroom. And staff were very friendly and helpful always. Unfortunately the hotel was undergoing a change of ownership I believe so spa and restaurant were closed but we were notified...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah M
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hannah M, Thank you for your feed back. It was great to hear from you. We are sorry to understand your wee disappointment. As you have noticed, we are a new management and we are trying to do everything to make our guest's stay special and enjoyable at our hotel. Unfortunately when the hotel was on sale the leisure...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were only been notified upon checked in that changed of ownership & management only took place a week prior to our arrival and due to the change, spa, gym and restaurant are no longer available. We were disappointed as the pool, spa, sauna looks fantastic on the photos. So future guest needs to keep in mind that there's gym...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irenee H
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Irenee H, Thank you for your review. It was great to hear from you. We are sorry that we couldn't offer you the leisure facilities. As you have noticed, our hotel carries great Scottish traditional and historical values. Since the date of us taking over the hotel, We have introduced a new stylish and lavish breakfast room and our...

Dumfries
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked for one night bed and breakfast (through booking agency), the cost was £10 more than the Premier Inn, Haymarket without breakfast. Prior to arrival we contacted Scotsman reservations to request a room with a view, which they delivered. The room was spacious, well presented, clean and quiet. The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and could not do enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SharpKitty
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SharpKitty, Thank you for a great review. We are pleased to understand that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know about your next visit to us and we will be more than happy to look after you again. Kind Regards Kannan Nair General Manager

long island, ny
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is lovely! The staff were very helpful and accommodating; even replying promptly to my emails prior to my stay. We arrived early(hours prior to our check in time) and the cleaning staff were notified to put our room on a priority so we could get in early...and we did! It was wonderful to have time to rest after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3littlebirds
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 3Littlebirds, It was great to hear from you. We are glad to understand you have enjoyed your stay at The Scotsman. Thank you so much for a great review. Please let us know about your next trip to us and we will be more than happy to look after you. Kind Regards Kannan Nair

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, basic room was absolutely massive, lovely bed too. Pleasant staff and quite a good location. Loved the extras in the room such as the monopoly themed table! Breakfast was also really good. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashleigh F
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ashleigh F, Thank you for a great review. We are glad to understand that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in our products and services. Thank you for recommending us. We look forward to serving you in near future. Kind Regards Kannan Nair General Manager.

Salmiyah, Kuwait
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic experience in a great city. The room was spacious, staff helpful & courteous. The highlight of our stay was a real quality breakfast. Mr.Nair, the GM was friendly & a great host. Thanks to the team for a memorable stay. Jose Joseph & family Kuwait

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jose J
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Jose Joseph and Family, Great to hear from you. We are glad to understand you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let me know of your next visit and I will be more than happy to look after you personally. Kindest Regards Kannan Nair General Manager

Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago

Elderly centrally located hotel with friendly staff. Large room, decently quiet.The breakfast buffet was nice and the room which breakfast was served in quite grand. This room is also the lunch, dinner and late night drink place. Very short walk to the Castle. Approx 200 m to "The mile" and the dame to the centralstation. Add 100m and you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magnus K
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Magnus K, Thank you for a great review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know of your next visit to us and I am more than happy to look after you personally. Kind Regards Kannan Nair General Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I stay at a 4-5 star hotel I expect the rooms to be of the same category. The hotel location is amazing in terms of being so close to the shopping and action. The staff especially an honourable mention to the General Manager Kannan Nair offered excellent customer service and care and the breakfast was outstanding but where this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hindy1
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hindy1, I was great to hear from you. Thank you for your feedback. As you know, we are now under new management and we are in the process of upgrading the rooms and promise to make a difference to your next visit to us. I am glad to understand that you were happy with my service. Please let me...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this hotel as a special treat for myself and have to say I won't be returning. On booking I thought I had a superior room which sadly I realised before I arrived that I hadn't. I contacted hotel voicing my disappointed and asked if I could have an upgrade ( Wednesday evening) I was advised that I could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lauraburnett562016
64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lauraburnett562016, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We respect your comments. As a historic building, our rooms are different shapes and sizes. I am sorry to understand our rooms weren't up to your expectation. We are committed to improve our guest expectations. I can also confirm that all the rooms have white company toiletries. It was just the change...

929 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (618)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (147)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (55)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (243)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (62)
Viewed
Director Suite (71)
Viewed
Editor Room (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,629 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
870 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
865 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. Concierge service is available at The Scotsman Hotel to help you make the most of the city during your stay, simply let our knowledgeable team know if we can assist in any way and take the hassle out of planning your time in Edinburgh. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $229 - $712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Scotsman Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Scotsman Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Honestly we were upgraded to a suit and that was very dated so I recommend booking another property.”
Hindy1, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a view without having to look up!”
lauraburnett562016, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Views over central Edinburgh (mainly the rail station glass roof!!) from some rooms”
BigIanP, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try the cocktails !”
AJSWT, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose an Editor Room.”
Kittyboy2114, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5