We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Show Prices
#40 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,339: English reviews
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

I recently had the pleasure of staying a night here,it's set many acres of countryside but not far from Edinburgh airport,the room I had was lovely and clean well appointed,I loved the TV at the end of the bath,the spa is great with a huge jacuzzi,we ate in the hotel and the food was nice with one minor quibble,I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kepale
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post a review following your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and that you found our Spa to be great. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the tiled television in one of our executive rooms, they are really popular. I take on board...

Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

Me and my friend booked to go here on Sunday 6th Sept for the rasul experience and ishga massage. After the initial welcome and tour we headed to the pool area to use some of the facilities before our lunch and treatments. We then headed for our pre-ordered lunch which was meant to be at 2pm. My friend is vegetarian...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Niknoo76
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review on Trip advisor following your recent visit to our Spa. All feedback is really important to us and whilst we naturally enjoy receiving positive reviews, we add just as much importance to comments letting us know where we did not do well. Please accept my apologies that certain aspects of your visit fell short...

Portsmouth
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Beautiful hotel sett in 55 acres of land with cows roaming, didn't feel like i was 10 mins from the airport.Service was friendly and responsive without being intrusive. Staff were cheery and motivated without being over-friendly or inappropriate. Comfortable and clean room with luxurious bed. Lovely looking spa, although I didn't use it.Hotel had a very relaxed atmosphere. Travelled on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SalinaTomlin
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review following your trip on business. I am delighted you found your room to be comfortable and it is great that the staff were friendly, cheery and motivated. I am pleased that you enjoyed your room service experience and that you found the food excellent. I do hope we...

Luxembourg
Reviewed 12 September 2015

My daughter and I recently stayed at Norton House and loved it! I was amazed to discover how close it was to the airport, yet while staying there, we felt like we were in the countryside. The hotel is charming with excellent amenities, friendly staff and delish dining options. We also enjoyed our visit to the spa! Going into the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lux5
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review following your stay in August. I am delighted you found the hotel charming and the staff friendly. We are very close to the airport and the park and ride facility near the airport is an excellent option when travelling to the city. I appreciate you recommending our hotel...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

Having been to the spa a couple of times I'm used to the professional atmosphere, good food and top notch facilities...it was a very busy day in the spa and unfortunately things slipped slightly on that occasion. Still worth the money especially if you manage to find a deal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachFor
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your spa day in August. It is great to read that you find our Spa to be professional, with good food and great facilities. Please accept my apologies that your recent experience did not meet expectations, as service levels should not change however busy we are. I am delighted...

Godmanchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015

I have stayed at the Norton Hall Hotel & Spa twice now. My sift visit was lovely but spoilt by noisy aggressive neighbours. The staff tried to deal with the situation but the walls are quite thin and the 'word' had by the staff fell on deaf ears. The 2nd time I stayed the staff were sure to place me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie D
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay. It was disappointing to read that on your first visit you were disturbed by noisy guests, but I am delighted that you returned and now have a better impression of our hotel. It is great you liked your room and I agree with you the Crispy Duck Egg salad is...

Bristol
Reviewed 7 September 2015

What a really excellent hotel. The organisation of every single aspect of the hotel is superb. I stayed for five nights and even though there was a conference one or two days and a wedding another day, leisure guests who are not part of the events hardly notice that they are even taking place. I had evening meals in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David E
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your experience and it was great to meet you personally during your stay. I was especially pleased to read your comments about the team. We are fortunate to have some very natural, attentive and genuinely charming staff who love what they do...

Reviewed 7 September 2015

The hotel staff is among the most thoughtful and considerate I have ever encountered - especially the manager Calum. Whilst on a tour, Calum came onto our bus to personally introduce himself and welcome us. But his customer service went well beyond the group level. At dinner, ordering from a prefixed menu, upon finding out I had a specific digestive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a lovely review following your recent visit. I am delighted to read that you found our team members to be the most thoughtful and considerate you have ever encountered. Our staff do read trip advisor and I know they will take great encouragement from your kind comments. I have thanked Callum personally for receiving special...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 September 2015

we stayed at the Norton house hotel in august as an emergency backup, as accommodation we had originally booked was unusable. we booked at short notice and the hotel were excellent at accommodating us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RegularTraveler1000
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your recent visit. I was please we could accommodate you at short notice and I am delighted you found your room excellent and the team very helpful. I do hope we can welcome you back to Norton House in the not too distant future. Kind regards Chris Monks

Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

This is the 2nd time I've had a spa day at Norton House. The 2nd time was just as amazing as the first and I compare all spa experiences I've been on to Norton House. It sets the bar very high and is a lot to live up to. The staff are friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Reception is calm and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kdlovescake
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a superb review following your recent Spa day at Norton House Hotel & Spa. I am delighted you had such a great day and that you enjoyed all aspects of your Spa experience. Thank you for recommending us to future guests and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind...

728 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (345)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (158)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (352)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
The Edinburgh Suite (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (150)
Viewed
The Kingdom Suite (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,581 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,676 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#88 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,204 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,156 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $187 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you have any special requirements The Hotel was happy to oblige”
 of 5 bubbles diddyd331, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Executive rooms are good and have balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles MarionM405, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only went for afternoon tea but family have stayed and found it very good”
 of 5 bubbles 763pams, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Executive rooms are first class!”
 of 5 bubbles EvieD63, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent but join the loyalty scheme”
 of 5 bubbles Rendatwo, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5