We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Waverley Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Waverley Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,951 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Waverley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,787: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My sister and I booked 3 nights BB&EM in a twin room and loved every minute of it. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Love that you have a porter service to carry the suitcases up the stairs from the pavement. Food was delicious, especially the evening meals. Great control over the heating in our room. Good view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bluesue189
Calgary, Alberta
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A great location being steps from the Waverley train station. Dramatic views of the castle and Princes Street from the room. Good sized room. Bar and restaurant were very nice as well. Breakfast included in the room tariff was a very good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LanceAce
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your feedback. We would love to welcome you back the next time you visit Edinburgh. Kind Regards, Leon Kiteley. General Manager.

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As many reviews indicate the location is so convenient... for the station + wedding venue near St Giles Cathedral that I was attending. Food also very average... both at breakfast & the bar food. Room small also bathroom... short bath! Manhole cover in road at the side where we overlooked clunked very loudly when run over.. needs sorting?! Fair price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jude084
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A great location, but a bit expensive for what it was, we had a room overlooking Princes Street which was lovely but the room had very squeaky floorboards and on the day we were checking out there was a leak from the room above, don't think I will return to this establishment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eilish M
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review a regarding your recent stay at Old Waverley Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not find our hotel up to your standards on this occasion. Kind Regards, Leon Kiteley. General Manager.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Best hotel in Edinburgh. Great window views. Great staff. Great and very clean room ! We were there after christmas with hogmanay 2016/2017. Love this hotel. We booked again and come back to your great hotel at 24 june this year ;- ) .... We love room 612 ..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vkhk1969
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review! We appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback regarding your stay at Old Waverley Hotel, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards, Leon Kiteley. General Manager.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was clean. Sheets were clean. Bathroom was clean. But the portions experienced by our party were rather tired. We have stayed in old buildings before that reflected an obvious renovation for purposes of both function and appeal. That was not in evidence here. The greatest advantage was proximity to the railway station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HillarysDad
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review a regarding your recent stay at Old Waverley Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not find our hotel up to your standards on this occasion. We hope this experience will not discourage you from staying with us in future. Kind Regards, Leon Kiteley. General Manager.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not a good overnight stay, The room we were given had no view there was no natural light at all , I think we were in the basement, not clean , ripped carpets , A rail for a wardrobe , The towels instead of fluffy and white were a loverly grey, Breakfast was ok but have had better , A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grange5
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay at Old Waverley Hotel. We deeply apologise that on this occasion, the hotel did not meet your expectations. We always aim to make sure our guests have an enjoyable experience at our hotel, so we are sorry to hear that this was not the case here. Kind...

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a lovely stay in this central Edinburgh hotel! Arriving at Waverley station midday, we were able to leave our luggage ahead of check in time and check out our surroundings. The rooms were comfortable, staff friendly and efficient, great breakfast and we had a good bar meal in the evening. Fairly noisy, but to be expected in city centre...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue M
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Old Waverley Hotel. We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Edinburgh. Kind Regards, Leon Kiteley. General Manager.

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Within walking distance of alot of Edinburgh's main attractions. Clean rooms & bathroom etc. Breakfast menu will cater for all and the food was always hot as well cooked to a great standard. Staff were friendly, polite and efficient. Good value for the money. The only negative would be road noise if you were on a low floor facing Princes...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank lstacey2
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and found the room and food to be of a good standard. We do, however, apologise for the noise of Princes Street but this is out of our control. We hope it didn't disrupt your visit too much and...

Cork
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very 'olde worlde' I booked for five 3 rooms in all. They blocked my card for the full amount for the longest time - even though the other guests paid on arrival. It's a strange hotel really - rooms fine small but serviceable - food poor everywhere but fabulous dining area where one can sit & enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hotshotsolicitor
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Old Waverley Hotel. However, we are sad to hear that you did not enjoy the food. In regards to the cheapest rate, we do offer the cheapest price directly on our website. But you must book this specifically. It is called 'Best Available Rate'....

692 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (345)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
View from Room (55)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
1:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (139)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (331)
Viewed
Castle View Room (79)
Viewed
Princes Street View Room (62)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,536 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
280 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,695 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Princes Street and Gardens

Neighbourhood Profile
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street is only half one, since buildings only line one side. But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views are from Princes Street as a result. From here you look onto expansive and decorative public gardens beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look the other way, as they’re concerned with chain store shopping or catching the tram or a train at main train station Waverley. But it’s not all utility here; the Scottish National Gallery rewards purposeless wandering, and December’s huge winter market in the gardens begins a season of revelry which ends with Hogmanay, Britain’s largest New Year’s street party.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Cranston's Restaurant
Cranston's Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Price Range: $153 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Waverley Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Waverley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a higher floor room as Princes Street is very busy and can bee noisy at the weekends.”
MikeMcDonough, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Princes street rooms are more expensive but some of the rooms on the Jenners side have great views of the castle”
roseh161, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Twin room on the side street gives a lovely view of the castle”
  • The Castle lit up at night from our room
Bluesue189, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not in the basement”
grange5, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Road noise on lower floors facing Princes St.”
lstacey2, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5