We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street

Save
Share
20 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2AN Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 176
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/09/21
Priceline
USD 176
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
USD 148
View deal
eDreamsUSD 176
Booking.comUSD 176
StayForLongUSD 155
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (448)
Room & Suite (133)
Dining (79)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#89 of 161 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Newly refurbished hotel within a traditional Victorian building situated opposite Waverley Station on Edinburgh's main street - Princes Street. With rooms overlooking Princes Street our guests can sit back, relax and enjoy a good book over Edinburgh's finest Street. Home to the award winning Twenty Grill & Smokehouse, serving the finest Scottish produce in a relaxed but stunning environment. The Juniper Cocktail Bar has one of the finest cocktail and bar lists in Edinburgh, with a focus on the amazing Gin's of Scotland. Come and explore our neighbourhood!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
493Reviews29Q+A89Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 242
  • 165
  • 48
  • 22
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
walkerd23 wrote a review Mar 2021
Leeds, United Kingdom19 contributions5 helpful votes
The C-19 pandemic has clearly passed the owners and management of this hotel by, the room I was allocated was absolutely filthy, the communal areas of the hotel are also not hygienic and the hotel management don't seem to care about the cleanliness or value its customers. I strongly recommend you do not use this hotel there are far nicer hotels in Edinburgh which are C-19 safe. The General Manager has an attitude problem and not helpful at all when dealing with complaints, he needs some re-training in the customer service department, if he's the front of house for this hotel then no wonder its standards are unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Nawrot, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello walkerd23, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. As I said privately I make no excuse for the issues you encountered and apologise unreservedly. I do however feel it is important regarding this matter to clarify; 1. We fully accept the room you initially were assigned when you booked had dust on top and under the wardrobe as was your complaint on the night and as I have said privately and now publicly, this is unacceptable. 2. In line with the IHG Clean Promise, we immediately relocated you to another room where you found the cleanliness acceptable and this was checked back with yourself on the evening and then by myself on check out. 3. You made no mention at all of the other areas, which I had cleaned during the previous day, initially and in fact were very complimentary about the hotel in comparison to other properties you stay at in the city. 4. Your version of events changed significantly when you found the amount of points issued to compensate you not to your satisfaction and requested I increase this 5 fold or you would escalate the issue and I believe this is where you have identified my attitude problem. I apologised privately and will do so again publicly that the compensation you sought was more than I felt appropriate and again thank you for your feedback. Many thanks, Michael Nawrot General Manager
Read more
Ben wrote a review Feb 2021
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Do not stay! This hotel clearly does not care about guest safety/sanitation and customer service. It should be important to ensure rooms are sanitary under any circumstances but this is absolutely critical due to the Covid-19 pandemic! There were a few issues with my room including the shower being dirty, grime and hairs on the floor of the shower, and also half empty miniatures of shampoo and body wash left from the previous occupants. Clearly the room had not been adequately cleaned for even normal circumstances, let alone during a global pandemic. Disgraceful. To make this worse they clearly don't care. I raised these issues with reception, the response was totally disengaged and showed no compassion, care or real interest. The response was I will talk to housekeeping, and the bill is paid so we cant offer anything on that regard. Then I was told by the manager that he would email me so that I could contact him for future bookings (terrible response that doesn't take any ownership as I would only get any compensation for re-booking and giving them more money) BUT TO MAKE THIS WORSE, HE DIDN'T EVEN FOLLOW UP AND SEND ME THIS PITIFUL EXCUSE FOR A RESOLUTION. Complete jokers
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Nawrot, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Responded 17 Feb 2021
Hello Ben S, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we have joined your other 1 star reviews on this occasion. As I said when I checked you out, the cleanliness issues you encountered were unacceptable and inexcusable and I apologise unreservedly for these. I would, however, like to add some detail and clarification to your review which in my opinion does not reflect the conversation we had. 1. The offer of a resolution via email was in response to the fact the booking appeared to have been paid by your company and not by yourself and I had intended to make amends with you personally when personal travel is allowed again. I have sent you an email detailing the personal circumstances that occurred that day which resulted in the email not being sent on the day. 2. Your representation of the issues with your shower tray here are different to those presented on check out where you stated there were a couple of dark marks. There was no mention of hair and grime at this stage. The dark marks were not acceptable but feel it is important to highlight the worsening of conditions since you left. 3. I am sorry that you stayed 6 nights in a room you did not feel was adequately clean. IHG operate the Clean Promise which was highlighted on the card you brought to reception ‘If your room is not clean to your satisfaction, please contact the Front Desk and we promise to make it right.’ We would have happily moved your room or re-cleaned the areas you were unhappy with on arrival or at any point through your stay had you raised the issues with us. 4. I would have like to discuss further on the day but when trying to engage you you said ‘I’m not bothered but others might be’ and were constantly edging towards the door which I read as you needing to leave rather than engage in conversation. I reiterate my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered and understand we have lost a customer. Michael Nawrot General Manager
Read more
Diane wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Loved the stay overnight in our home city , much needed Sister “bubble” time bought as a treat for my birthday ! Had the most amazing meal in “Twenty”, top quality food of a very high standard and exceptional service from the restaurant and reception staff . Would love to go back again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Nikki R wrote a review Oct 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom125 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
With Covid putting a stop to a lot of life, booked a surprise shopping trip for my daughters 11 birthday. Hotel staff were lovely, the room was great and so cosy and quiet which was great as in centre of Edinburgh right next to station. I had said it was a double birthday trip and was great surprise to arrive to birthday treats in each room and when trying to pay for dinner we were surprised with a full and fabulous chocolate cake with candles. Dinner menu was a little limited for the kids and to be fair if we weren’t in restriction it wouldn’t have been our first choice for a family meal. But food was lovely and staff made it great. With COVID-19 the hotel we’re talking loads of precautions and we were made to feel safe and special, everyone who were there was friendly and attentive. A return visit is a must - thanks for bringing some sunshine in a rubbish time
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sarah Harney wrote a review Oct 2020
11 contributions
+1
We booked in advance, told them the nature of the trip for our 20th wedding anniversary and got given a grubby attic room instead of the King Superior room we booked. The photos online look beautiful, the size of the beds specified online are kings at least, we got a small double with less than 2 feet to walk around the edge of the bed, the room was decorated with the same grubby beige paint as the hallway and did not have 1 whole square foot that wasn’t stained or scuffed, the bedside lamps smashed in, wardrobe from a charity shop, one bathrobe to share, and no complimentary snacks or drinks in the fridge as advertised. Bathroom filthy and shower in desperate need of regrouting and cleaning of mould. Windows splatted in pigeon poo and on the inside there was something just plain disgusting and sticky on the frames - god only knows what that was... We called reception and got told a king room doesn’t mean king bed regardless how small and filthy the room is, we begged to differ given the online room spec. She was unapologetic. Called back some time later and said she might be able to relocate us to a standard room... we dreaded to think what that was, possibly the filthy ledge outside this room with the dead mouse and beer cans perhaps? At this point in tears and no offer of a complimentary drink or meal to apologise for the disappointment we decided to look for another hotel. Unable to get anything of a better standard in the centre of Edinburgh at that time on a Friday evening we started our long journey back home. We have to wait for our money back too... It’s been a thoroughly crap year, the one light for us was a romantic luxury weekend away to celebrate our anniversary in the city where we met and again honeymooned Thanks for ruining it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Nawrot, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Responded 5 Oct 2020
Hello Sares75, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am so sorry that your room was not up to standard on this visit. I am so sorry that you didn't want to see any of the rooms Laura offered as alternatives for that night with an upgrade to a room with a superking bed and complimentary breakfast for the two mornings. I can assure you our bespoke wardrobes are not from a charity spoke but a bespoke boutique furniture maker. With regards to the ledge, unfortunately access is limited and we were unable to conduct our regular clearing of this as it was too wet and windy last week to make it safe to clear. The refund process does take 3-5 working days but we issued the refund immediately and without contest but the banking system does not allow this to go any quicker. Once we issue the refund there is nothing more we can do to return the funds quicker. This room is being redecorated fully this week. I am sorry this has ruined your special occasion, we would have been hapy to turn this around with you had you stayed. Many thanks, Michael Nawrot General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 113 - USD 337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal british edinburgh, hotel royal british
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Royal British Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghNew Town / Princes Street and Gardens
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street?
Nearby attractions include The Real Mary King's Close (0.4 km), SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Edinburgh (0.4 km), and Jeffrey st. Whisky and Tobacco (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street?
Conveniently located restaurants include Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, The Piper's Rest Public House, and Number One at The Balmoral.
Is Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.1 km), The Real Mary King's Close (0.4 km), and Gilmerton Cove (6.4 km).
Is Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.