We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

721 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 653: English reviews
Start your review of Ballantrae Albany Hotel
 Click to rate
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is in a great location only a few minutes walk from princes street. There are plenty of pubs, restaurants and cafes right beside it. The rooms are lovely, spacious and clean. The hotel is so quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for the Christmas Break. Had a lovely ensuite room. Excellent old Victorian terrance. Service was great. The night manager, Valentina, was so helpful. The heating wasn't working properly in the room and she provided a heater. She was also able to fix my broken lock on my bag. Buffett breakfast was provided for in the downstiars restaurant. Away from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neodouble
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I Strongly recommend this lovely hotel for any visits to Edinburgh .on arrival at the hotel we were lead to our room -it was in the cellar area of the hotel -al though it was ok .my wife wanted a room higher up in the hotel .-we asked could we have a move upstairs -not a problem was our reply...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garywooding
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your Five Star Review. We are glad to hear that you will be strongly recommending our hotel to future guests, and that you will definitely be returning next time you are in Edinburgh. Make sure to book through our website, where you will find the best possible rates (are guests are often upgraded when they book here)....

Oxford
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Highly impressed with this hotel. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The ensuite was possibly the biggest I have ever been in! Staff all very friendly and helpful. The only reason 5/5 not given is as the breakfast selection was a little limited given the high standards throughout the rest of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeccahO7811IY
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay - and your extra large ensuite! We always offer a Room Only Rate if guests prefer to have a cooked breakfast at one of the many delis and cafes on our doorstep - perhaps you could book this rate the next time you stay. Kind regards, The...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for only one night at the Albany hotel for the RBS 6 Nations Rugby Tournament. Our room was fabulous. Staff were really friendly and efficient. We didn't avail of the continental breakfast as we were meeting friends elsewhere. The only negative was that there was no bar at the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank orla b
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review We hope that you enjoyed the match at Murrayfield! And that your room was fabulous. We are looking to re-open the bar in the near future. Kind regards, The Albany Hotel Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the room. We had a lovely executive double and the price was very reasonable for the brilliant location. What lets it down is the breakfast - fine for cereal and a coffee but the options are limited and there are no cooked meals at all (toast doesn't count). When croissants come in wrappers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seanchapman
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We always offer rate without breakfast if you would prefer to book a room only rate. We are glad that you enjoyed your room, and would definitely stay again - make sure to check out the nest possible rates on our website before you book next time. Kind regards, The Albany Hotel Team

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is an excellent hotel ideal for a little break away. Stayed here for 2 nights in a twin room and pushed beds together as this was the last room available. Room was excellent, well furnished warm cosy modern room and bathroom was excellent too with plenty of hot water and clean towels. Room service done what it said on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scousemarkyboy
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that everything was perfect for you, and that you will be recommending us to future guests. As you noted, the best rates are available on our website - make sure that you book there next time you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Albany in the near...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spend a couple of very comfortable nights here, lovely bed, great shower room (although water pressure a little disappointing), and easy to access. Breakfast is continental, which suits me, pastries freshness left a bit to be desired.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlSedge
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the Albany in the near future - keep an eye on our website for exclusive offers and great deals.

Sheffield
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Ballantrae for two nights whilst working in Edinburgh. It was lovely. Everything you would expect from a four star hotel. I stayed in room 403, a single that was more than adequate for me. It was warm and quiet. I was booked room only and so can't comment on the breakfast, and I think that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katehSheffield
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that everything was perfect for you, and that you had a pleasant stay. Next time you book, make sure to check out the best possible rates on our website, and the exclusive offers on our Facebook page. Kind regards, The Albany Hotel Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this hotel for a long weekend trip as a treat for my husband. We had a very enjoyable stay here. As previous reviewers have said the hotel is converted from 4 townhouses so the layout is a bit quirky but I quite like that sort of thing. We were impressed with our room as it was a very decent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bart_Littlebird
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and will be recommending us to future guests. Next time you book, be sure to check out our website for the nest possible rates and exclusive deals. Kind regards, The Albany Hotel Team

235 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#129 of 150 in Edinburgh
488 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#98 of 150 in Edinburgh
293 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#60 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,267 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
687 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Address: 39 - 47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $96 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ballantrae Albany Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Ballantrae Albany Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if not disabled upstairs rooms are very good -disabled bottom floor is fine.”
 of 5 bubbles garywooding, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“double bed”
 of 5 bubbles AlSedge, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 403 a cosy single in a quiet spot.”
 of 5 bubbles katehSheffield, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“My room at front of hotel did not have great sound proofing”
 of 5 bubbles F7581JUpetero, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I was in a basement room at the rear which suited me as it was quiet and I only used it for sleeping.”
 of 5 bubbles 375RonK, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5