We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Tower Place, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ Scotland
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (994)
Room & Suite (506)
Dining (172)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#122 of 164 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
2557Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 857
  • 902
  • 499
  • 216
  • 83
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
SharonFerron wrote a review 1 July
Wrexham County, United Kingdom1 contribution
Not a good start !!! Filthy mattress cover - it’s being changed but not the point !! Not impressed in all uneasy- read reviews and thought it was just people being awkward - seems not - I really hope things improve- not a great start to anniversary weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
VintageChicMarkinch wrote a review June 2022
Maud, United Kingdom17 contributions21 helpful votes
The Edinburgh Mal has been our friend for so many years. Absolutely heartbroken at how badly broken it’s become. Where has our upmarket hotel gone??? As other guests have stated hotel is incredibly tired (including the revamped ?? Rooms) Hotel bar which used to be so so good has no soul and opening hours are very limited. We sit here on a Thursday evening at 10.45pm under advisement it’ll be closing at 11pm. No more are the olives and salted nuts served with your drinks, it’s uncomfortable red plastic ripped bench seats and cheap tables. When we arrived (on a Wednesday) we were informed hotel was full and no upgrades available, still trying to figure where all the other guests are as they’re clearly invisible.I remember a Mal which was ‘jumping’ and the Rangers football team were guests. Rooms have been redecorated and are cheap & nasty compared to previous. No extras, useless hairdryers and not even a complimentary bottle of water. Shower unbelievably bad. Goes hot, then warm, then loses pressure altogether. Trying hard to understand where the 4 star rating comes from as nothing here to suggest they currently deserve anything like it. Worst Mal we’ve visited and we’ve been in a few :(
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Brian G wrote a review June 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Staying two nights in Edinburgh, we thought that our pervious stay at Malmaision was good, so lets book again. Wrong, very shabby surroundings, out of date, dirty in parts, lack of attention to detail, none. First morning breakfast, ordered waiting 20 mins, not too bad? Food arrived cold, bad. A lot of the food items that were available earlier all finished. Second morning, after booking our time for breakfast, we were then told no tables available, please wait, 15 mins wait, we were then seated, ordered breakfast then 1 hour 15 mins later, breakfast arrived, and was of very poor quality. Several other guests were waiting, but had walked out, with no breakfast. After trying to complain, and the explanation from the supervisor saying it is what it is. So suck it up? After using the hotel on a few occasions, never again. Sad as it has dome very good resultants close by, which we have used on lots of occasions, disapointing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Stewart Campbell, General Manager at Malmaison Edinburgh
Responded 2 days ago
Dear briangE6186VG, Thank you for visiting Malmaison Edinburgh in Leith and for taking time to leave feedback. I'm terribly sorry for any inconveninace caused by the longer than usual wait for hot breakfast during your stay. The issues we experianced have alreday been discussed with the team and management. I'm also sorry to hear overall our decor and cleaning standards have not met your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will have a chance to visit our hotels in the future. Kind Regards, Beata, Deputy General Manager
Read more
Gordon A wrote a review June 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Malmaison, Leith, is a hotel I have used frequently in the past and have recommended to others. This time I recommended the hotel to some friends who were travelling back from a wedding, there were 7 rooms in total booked. We went for a drink before and after dinner in the bar and I have to say as the only Scot in the party I was absolutely shocked and embarrassed by the treatment of my friends , rude does not begin to explain the way they were treated by the bar lady. My friends were all courteous and polite in the face of what happened but I have to say it did not meet MM's own RESPECT policy they have dotted about the building. Shocking, truly shocking
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: choose a room with a fridge and chill your own wine as the bar service is shocking
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stewart Campbell, General Manager at Malmaison Edinburgh
Responded 2 days ago
Dear 764gordona, Thank you for taking time to leave your comments from recent visit to Malmaison Edinburgh in Leith. We are extremely disappinted to receive such feedback about our staff and are currently investigating the matter. As you have alreday contacted us direct through our Brand website we have sent two replies to your e-mail address with hope you could provide additional information that could be helpful in this matter. We very much appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards, Beatam Deputy General Manager
Read more
paulmatt49 wrote a review June 2022
Aberdeen, United Kingdom33 contributions19 helpful votes
Great location, superb room and excellent service from both the reception team and waiting staff. Cocktails at Chez Mal were brilliant and the waitress couldn’t be more helpful as well as informative. The signature suite we got an upgrade to was exceptional with great views of Leith as well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Stewart Campbell, General Manager at Malmaison Edinburgh
Responded 2 days ago
Daer Paul M, Thank you for taking time to leave this wonderful review of your recent stay at Malmaison Edinburgh in Leith. I'm happy to read you had a great time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Beata, Deputy General Manager
Read more
Ana Cristina Downey wrote a review June 2022
Rio de Janeiro, RJ62 contributions15 helpful votes
The hotel is renovated , the room is very nice , with a good space and a beautiful view . We had an english breakfast , it was delicious ! The hotel has a nice gym room. It is one hour walk to city . It has great restaurants and pubs next door . It is a very good choice . The staff are very kind.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: You can easily park outside. It has very good restaurants nearby
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Stewart Campbell, General Manager at Malmaison Edinburgh
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Anacrisdowney, Thank you for taking time to leave feedback from your stay at Malmaison Edinburgh Leith. I'm happy to read you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Beata, Deputy General Manager
Read more
MollieArchie wrote a review June 2022
London, United Kingdom661 contributions2613 helpful votes
+1
Hotel is in fabulous location surrounded by beautiful walks & lots of restaurants & cafes. Our room was perfect. Spotlessly clean & good condition. There is a huge staff problem in hospitality & this must be taken into consideration. There was a lack of staff here but they definitely tried their best. Free easy parking is huge bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Beware shocking traffic in area due to roadworks
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stewart Campbell, General Manager at Malmaison Edinburgh
Responded 2 days ago
Dear MollieArchie, Thank you for staying at Malmaison Edinburgh in Leith and for taking time to leave feedback. I'm happy to read you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Beata, Deputy General Manager
Read more
ro wrote a review May 2022
Hartlepool, United Kingdom37 contributions8 helpful votes
Excellent spot very quiet as no real road, opposite the docks. Free parking, professional friendly staff. Only 30 mins walk to the town centre or very easy on servers near by buses. Tram will soon pass near by. Great little area full of bars and restaurants. All good although seemed very priced at £137 a night when it was obviously quiet and this did not include breakfast and the room was nothing special.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Free parking Short walk to buses into town or 10 mins to shopping centre Can walk into central...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Stewart Campbell, General Manager at Malmaison Edinburgh
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Sexkenton, Thank you for staying at Malmaison Edinburgh in Leith and for taking time to leave feedback. I'm happy to read you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Beata, Deputy General Manager
Read more
AB2019 wrote a review May 2022
19 contributions38 helpful votes
This is a great building in a very good location but very tired and in desperate need of a makeover, the pictures on the website are definitely not whats on offer. The rooms are painted dark grey, the walls, woodwork / even the curtains are grey with black industrial steel furniture and very old fashioned. Its depressing, cant imagine anyone wanting to spend time in it. Really needs some colour / a refresh with the carpets needing a thorough clean or better - replaced. Some of the furniture both in the room and outside the lift areas should really be consigned to a skip. Considering the room cost its not really vfm, surprised Malmaison have let this one go as it could be far better. Breakfast was very good, the staff are all great, location is good with free parking which is a bonus and if your just looking for a room for the night its fine but not for an occasion. Hopefully it gets a renovation soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Stewart Campbell, General Manager at Malmaison Edinburgh
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dea Alan, Thank you for taking time to leave comments from your visit to Malmaison Edinburgh in Leith. We apprecisted your feedback very much, it has been shared with relevant departments and Management. We hopr you eill have a chance to vsist us again in the future. Kind Regards, Beata, Deputy General Manager
Read more
Ouisel1705 wrote a review May 2022
Wakefield, United Kingdom19 contributions16 helpful votes
Firstly, the good things! The receptionist was very polite and extremely helpful on booking in and with subsequent requests for help with buses and taxis. The breakfast was excellent and lots of choice if you didn’t want a full English. We ate in the brassiere one night and this was also excellent…the prawn cocktail was to die for! We liked the location but it was very noisy with the engineering company starting up at 7:30 each morning outside our window. The downside was the place is looking rather tired and our room, 225 definitely could use a makeover. The table top was dusty and had chipped paint, the windows were in need of paint but the bathroom was the worst. When one was sat, you could clearly see black mould under the rim of the sink, the shower was pathetic to say the least; definitely needs a new shower head, and the toilet very temperamental when flushing. The staff were great and very friendly but are let down by their surroundings. It’s not cheap to stay here so please invest some money where you can!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Stewart Campbell, General Manager at Malmaison Edinburgh
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Ousel1705, Thank you for staying at Malmaison Edinburgh in Leith and for taking time to leave feedback. It' sgreat to read you found our Rceeption desk polite and helpfull and that you enjoyed both breakfast and Dinner in our Brasserie. I'm sorry to hear ypur bedroom was in need of some touch-ups, your comments have been logged with our Maintenance department. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Beata, Deputy General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 140 - USD 278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
edinburgh malmaison hotel, malmaison edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghLeith
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Malmaison Edinburgh
Which popular attractions are close to Malmaison Edinburgh?
Nearby attractions include Padlox Escape Rooms (0.2 km), Kinloch Anderson (0.2 km), and Leith Market (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Malmaison Edinburgh?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Malmaison Edinburgh?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Malmaison Edinburgh?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Malmaison Edinburgh?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Malmaison Edinburgh?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Marmalade, The Kitchin, and Cafe Domenico.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Malmaison Edinburgh?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Malmaison Edinburgh?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Malmaison Edinburgh offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Malmaison Edinburgh?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Malmaison Edinburgh?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (2.8 km), The Real Mary King's Close (3.4 km), and Edinburgh Vaults (3.3 km).