We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stay Central Hotel

Show Prices
#42 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Stay Central Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,148: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed yesterday NEW

A lot of effort has clearly been put into making the hotel look chic and stylish, however this was unfortunately let down by an extremely hard and uncomfortable mattress paired with rather lumpy pillows. I didn't sleep well. The bathroom was also lovely from a style point of view, but less practical than I would have liked.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank katrina_dring
Pune, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Its a great place to stay if you plan to only come back to sleep, but don't expect any typical "hotel" stuff like a phone in your room, free basic toiletries and room service. Might go back there for the location only.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kunal1357
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stay Central Edinburgh. The accommodation, staff, service and food were excellent. Although a little bit "up hill" it was only a 5 minute walk into Princes Street on the way down!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank womenmorococo
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Mixed dorm. Wasn't expecting that. Loo was partitioned in the room. Sink in the room. Really don't want to clean my teeth in front of loads of people. Receptionist on evening of arrival: excellent. The one the next morning was uncommunicative and grunted for speech. May suit loud, younger people who don't want any privacy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robyn D
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived in our room and the kettle was dirty and broken. I asked twice to have someone look at it and if we could have it replaced. It was only until I physically came down to reception with the kettle that the staff at the front desk gave us a new one. The weekend we were there the bar... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank anneG3186PF
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

booked here for an overnight stay after coming back on flight. was greeted by a nice lass on reception who was helpful. 6 of us sharing a room, we were a bit apprehensive, pleasantly surprised, plenty of space, everything you could need, only flaw was lack of privacy in bathroom as glass door, no lock, but all in all great.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for this great review of your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to have made such a positive impression on your short visit to Edinburgh and are thrilled that you found our receptionist to be so helpful. And it's great to read that you found our XXL rooms to be so spacious and that you... More 

Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my husband have just returned from this hotel, and we have already agreed we would definitely stay again. Yes our room was on the small side for a double, however it was big enough for what we needed. It was very clean and tidy (bathroom was spotless!), the walls could do with a fresh lick of paint but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DTMT0914
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I'd reserved a room with 2 single beds, but upon check in I was told I'd been upgraded to a 6 person suite! My friend and I really enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the free in-room perks were also a nice touch. This location is so close to lots of nice pubs and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kalynburgess
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi kaylnburgess, Thank you so much for this amazing 5 star review of your recent stay with us, we really appreciate your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you could enjoy a free room upgrade and all our complimentary goodies in the rooms! And it's great to read that you found our reception team to be so friendly -... More 

Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This is the first time we have stayed here it is a nice hotel but is squarely aimed at stag and hen parties the adjoining bar is very lively and loud I'd always ask for a quiet room even if you are a party animal, personally we wouldn't stay here again on a weekend but would through the week breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank fuggles1901
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi fuggles1901, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay with us, we appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests. We are sorry that you found the hotel was aimed mainly at stag and hen parties, although we have an excellent location for it we do hope that our rooms and facilities cater... More 

belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here from the 25/27 Nov. All the staff were friendly and approachable. Really nice, clean room if a little small, but you won't be there too much! Bathroom is modern with lots of great, free toiletries. We had the breakfast which was good value. The only issue I had with Stay Central, is that it's a real party hotel,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank julesoBelfast
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi julesoBelfast! Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review of your recent stay with us! We are delighted to read that you found our reception team to be so friendly and that you enjoyed our modern and clean rooms. Im disappointed to hear that you did not have a good nights sleep. Unfortunately, as you mentioned,... More 

572 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (256)
Viewed
The Dorm (88)
Viewed
The Hotel (106)
Viewed
The M Room, Twin-Double Room (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
222 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,888 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $89 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stay Central Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Stay Central Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Fix a landline in the rooms to help call the reception.”
 of 5 bubbles Kunal1357, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Variety of sizes for rooms, S to XXL. If you have worries about the party scene, request a room on the other side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles I4794MEmegang, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I always leave all my coins/change on the desk to serve as my room tip for the cleaner and just for me to say Thank You for an excellent customer service!”
 of 5 bubbles joseherbosa, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For heaven's sake avoid a room at the front!”
 of 5 bubbles Chopper48, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Clean, Nice, provided of all the comfort and a nice present in the mugs”
 of 5 bubbles hellgate75, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay