We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merchiston Residence

4 Merchiston Avenue, Edinburgh EH10 4NX Scotland
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
Traveller (75)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (7)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good16%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Certificate of Excellence
A grand Victorian property of 8 luxury serviced apartments set in the cosmopolitan district of Merchiston where visitors are now offered an unrivalled home from home experience. The sumptuous interiors at Merchiston Residence are contemporary and bespoke, exuding sophisticated elegance. Merchiston Residence is a minute’s walk from the fashionable area of Bruntsfield which is home to designer boutique shopping and a myriad of independent eateries, and is a 15-20 minute walk or 5 minute bus or taxi ride into the city centre and the surrounding landmarks.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Self-Serve Laundry
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Trendy
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Location
Full view
77Somewhat walkable
Grade: 77 out of 100
360Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
68Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
161
30
10
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
161
30
10
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft bed city centre these apartments washer dryer great apartment enjoyed our stay dvd player kitchen area minute walk full kitchen lovely building tesco express all mod cons up to date your doorstep top floor visit edinburgh
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 208 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I booked this last minute on booking.com on a Sunday due to work requirements and the need to be close to the airport. I did not receive any pin to get in, made my way there and stood for 30 minutes trying to get in!...More

Thank weelyns
Property's Favourite Review
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Loved the neighborhood and was a perfect studio/1bed with loft bed for our family. We were able to walk to restaurants, shops and still easily walk to Edinburgh Castle and other sites. It was a nice to see how those living in Edinburgh live vs...More

Thank cakingstl
Response from LateralC, General Manager at Merchiston ResidenceResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive review following your stay with us here at Merchiston Residence. We are delighted that you and your family found our facilities, location and service met your needs perfectly. We LOVE IT when guests...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Apartment was great, spacious & comfortable. This was a hen party with 3 of my closest friends so very ideal for this type of event. I would definitely recommend this to anybody. The email received should be very specific in terms of where the apartment...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Seaside41364267476
Response from LateralC, Guest Relations Manager at Merchiston ResidenceResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for sharing this LOVELY review following your recent stay at Merchiston Residence. We highly value our guests' point of view and we really appreciate your constructive feedback in regards to our arrival email. We are delighted to read you and your...More

Reviewed 27 October 2018

Cleanliness great, bed quality great but kitchen area very small (oven unusable due to baked on grease on filament). 3 chairs with dining table (4 people), heating not working (provided with some electric radiators). Taps loose. Perfect location for us, lovely building but apartment needs...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sburgi282804
Response from LateralC, Guest Relations Manager at Merchiston ResidenceResponded 2 November 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay at Merchiston Residence. I am extremely sorry for the issue you experienced during your stay and I would really appreciate if you could contact me directly and give me some more details ( apartment numbers,...More

Reviewed 24 October 2018

this charming hotel is located in the beautiful area of Bruntsfield just few minutes away from the city center and all the main touristic attractions. Despite the hotel being unmanned, their office is 24/7 and the staff - very friendly and knowledgeable - is happy...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank b_olivnot
Response from LateralC, General Manager at Merchiston ResidenceResponded 24 October 2018

Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review following your recent stay at Merchiston Residence. We really appreciate your feedback and we are delighted to read you loved our apartment and its superb location in the beautiful neighbourhood of Bruntsfield. We are looking forward...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Abbyb100
16 May 2018|
Answer
Response from LateralC | Property representative |
Hello, Yes, all of our apartment come supplied with Hair Dryers. Best wishes, Gavin
1
Vote
Jem_holi
10 August 2017|
Answer
Response from LateralC | Property representative |
Thanks for your question. We partner with a company called Tom Thumb here in Edinburgh who you can hire all sorts of equipment from - take a look at the 'Staying with Us' section on our Lateral City Apartments website where... More
0
Votes
rockshah
18 November 2016|
Answer
Response from j_the_travelbug | Reviewed this property |
There is no parking deck, however, you're able to park on the street in front and around the building. I didn't have a car, but I believe you have to pay for street parking using the kiosks along the streets. I'd contact the... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Lower floor if you don't want to carry heavy bags upstairs"
Palman13
8 Aug. 2017
Read review
"Families should take the ground-level apartments, the basement apartment is better for couples."
ghostwriter_ger
17 Jun. 2017
Read review
"Read check in details as unmanned and a code is needed to get in the building and your apartment and for..."
janbV6760ZJ
16 May 2017
Read review
"warm and modern"
weivein
11 Feb. 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
USD 81 - USD 284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
merchiston residence hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing