We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Show Prices
#32 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,655 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,465: English reviews
Holmfirth, Yorkshire
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We went for a weekend of shopping and treats and were totally bowled over by the Missoni. We stayed in the Rosa Suite (beyond perfect) and have never experienced such fab service. All the staff here are totally dedicated to making your stay here feel special - from the Missoni kilted door staff to the lovely reception staff. Our beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waxy13
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Waxy13, Congratulations! I am pleased to inform you that the 5 star review you left us following your stay is our 1000th which means that you are a winner! We really appreciate feedback and always encourage our guests to inform us of their experience so we can continue to provide the very best at all times. With that in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had a great night staying here. The hotel has a great bar with amazing cocktails and even better rooms! The rooms are decorated in a quirky fashion which was a nice change from other hotel rooms. The mini bar free supplies was a nice touch as was there being a free selection of films on the tv. Perfect location for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SiggiSm
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear SiggiSm, Thank you for your review and for the 4 stars you awarded us overall for your stay. It is a shame you found the breakfast disappointing, which may or may not have been the catalyst for not awarding us with the 5 and final star. We honestly believe that a Hotel Missoni breakfast is the very best way...

Salzburg, Austria
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The best: the location and the “freebies” The worst: hardly any place to put your clothes and no separate toilet The hotel is located right off the top of the Royal mile and the corner of George IV bridge and thus ideally located for sight-seeing and shopping in this area. And even Princess Street is only an about 10min walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJN
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear MJN, Thank you for your valued feedback. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed our inclusive pricing and the location of the hotel. Further thanks for your comments about the hardware of the bedrooms, namely the storage and the bathroom, which have been duly noted and passed onto our Management Team. It is important to mention that the...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I chose to stay here for my nephew's 30th birthday and the staff were just fantastic at making the whole time extra special for him. Nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was spectacularly good with service to complement. The hotel is in a superb location for access to Edinburgh's many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Paula B, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel Missoni. We really enjoyed the chance to look after you and your nephew for his 30th birthday. Many happy returns once again! It's great that you both had such a fabulous stay and I am pleased you managed to get out and enjoy what...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed for a long weekend and enjoyed the stylish interiors and great service. Location was perfect and within easy walking distance of all the best attractions and lots of nice restaurants. We had breakfast out each day mainly because we don't like hotel breakfasts and would rather try out the local cafés. We found some excellent places down the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank competentcrew
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear competentcrew, Thank you so much for your review following your stay with us in Edinburgh. I am delighted you had such a fabulous time in our wonderful city. Our Guest Services has a detailed understanding and relationship with many attractions, restaurants and bars in Edinburgh. We pride ourselves on being able to offer a unique “universal concierge” approach to...

Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel which was spotlessly clean and very chic! The location is perfect half way up the royal mile. One let down for us, being a 5star hotel, we did expect a pool, but were disappointed to discover there was none, should have checked first I guess. Breakfast was nice but when a bill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Heather B, Thank you for your review. I am pleased you had a great weekend in Edinburgh. It is a shame, however, you were disappointed to discover that we do not have a pool at Hotel Missoni. Our sister property, the Radisson Blu on the Royal Mile, has pool facilities which we should have informed you of, my apologies...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2013

After weeks of deliberating where to stay in Edinburgh, we decided on the Hotel Missoni. I have a disabled back/leg so comfort and location were top of the priority list. This is a fantastic boutique hotel located really close to the Castle on the Royal Mile. You are 2 mins from the castle / whisky tour, 2 mins from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jes C
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Jes C Thank you so much for your all round review, following your stay with us in Edinburgh. I am so pleased you found our team to be so friendly and knowledgeable. One of our mission statements at Hotel Missoni is “to be the friendliest 5 star hotel in the world, “so it is very reassuring to read that...

Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here the night after our wedding. We were treated to an upgrade and had an amazing experience! The hotel itself is modern and funky and the staff are fantastic. The suite we had was spectacular with superb views of Edinburgh. We wanted for nothing the facilities were great and every last detail perfect. Breakfast in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haz3333
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear haz3333 Many congratulations again on your Big Day and thank you so much for choosing to share your experience with us at Hotel Missoni. We are all so delighted that you had such a magical time in Edinburgh. I cannot wait to look after you again for your 1st wedding anniversary. Please, get in touch with me personally and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Missoni hotel is very closeto the castle in the old part of Edinburgh. The rooms area modern and comfortable with free video on demand and mini bar, which is great. Breakfast was nice too so I would definitively recommend it to anyone staying in Edinburgh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LionessQueen
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear LionessQueen, Thank you for your review. It’s great that you mentioned the location of the Hotel. For the benefit of other Tripadvisor users that might be planning a trip to Edinburgh, look no further! We are located right in the heart of Edinburgh’s Old Town only 5 minutes from anywhere in the city, which makes us such a popular...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The service could not be faulted at this hotel, and the complimentary mini bar was a nice touch, although it may be more useful to actually find out what drinks the guest prefers, as much of ours was wasted on us! There is only a single pillow per guest, and although very luxurious, I would have liked two! I know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cleoc4t
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear cleoc4t, Thank you for your glowing review of Hotel Missoni. We really appreciate you taking the time to inform us, and other Tripadvisor readers, of your experience in Edinburgh. I am very pleased that you had such a positive time with us. Thank you for letting us know that you prefer 2 pillows in your room. I would like...

1,512 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (862)
Viewed
Room/Suite (272)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (83)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (92)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
4:18
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (316)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (539)
Viewed
Amenities (136)
Viewed
Dining (132)
Viewed
Signature Room (128)
Viewed
The Hotel (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (111)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
841 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
830 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
268 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,515 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#88 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Price Range: $262 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top rooms for fabulous views”
 of 5 bubbles annier0sie1, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No need to upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles Blethers, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms have the better views”
 of 5 bubbles victormQ2396HJ, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try scottie and kipper for breakfast. There is complimentary bottled mineral water available in the gym.”
 of 5 bubbles evabA4287PA, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Top floor offers spectacular views”
 of 5 bubbles bennetbabe, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5