We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Edinburgh West

Save
Share
2 Research Avenue South Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh EH14 4AS Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
USD 115
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
USD 115
View deal
Priceline
eDreamsUSD 115
TravelocityUSD 115
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (111)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (18)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 30/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Courtyard Edinburgh West
Updated 30/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#110 of 161 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh West is ideally located to explore the capital city and all the famous attractions, while enjoying the green space around the hotel. The incredible Pentland Hills are just a short drive from the hotel where you can walk, fish, mountain bike, so you can visit the city and the country all in one stay.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Patio
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Car hire
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, Polish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
209Reviews13Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 94
  • 60
  • 34
  • 14
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
David wrote a review Nov 2020
Bangor, United Kingdom73 contributions71 helpful votes
Stayed three days two nights. Hotel is used by Scottish rugby and football teams due to proximity to training facilities etc. Hotel was Covid safe and clean. Not many staying, obviously. The menu is clearly limited in these days but it was fine. Food was ok. No alcohol outside of your room. Staff great. Rooms bright and modern. Bathrooms with big walk in showers 👍 20 mins drive to city/airport. Nice hotel. Business rather than tourist focus. Staff deserve praise. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Will Macpherson, General Manager at Courtyard Edinburgh West
Responded 11 Dec 2020
Thank you David for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly are restricted just now in what we can offer, but I do hope that we see this move forward in the new year and I hope we will be able to welcome you back to experience the hotel again. Thanks Will
Read more
northwestlass wrote a review Oct 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom58 contributions81 helpful votes
I stayed here in a double room -2 single beds with my daughter The room is very clean - lots of room and lovely view from the window - comfy beds and lovely white towels The staff are very polite and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble Parking outside is brilliant - lots of room We paid £50 per night which was very good value - breakfast is extra - full English is £8.50per person - you can pay less and get just a continental breakfast but as we didn’t go for this option - not sure on the price - the breakfast waitress was exceptional - nothing was too much trouble and really looked after us Dinner however was a bit of a disappointment - very little choice - bistro food curry /lasagne/pizza - no fresh veg/cooked meat etc and surprisingly exactly the same meals on offer on Sunday - no roast etc - Rooms are attended to every third day - so our four sachets of coffee and milk and two loo rolls weren’t really enough for this - we also had a tiny shower gel /shampoo/conditioner/soap these would never be enough for more than one day Would I stay again - yes def - clean hotel very good value and comfy beds - I will def be staying again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Will Macpherson, General Manager at Courtyard Edinburgh West
Responded 11 Dec 2020
Thank you northwestlass for your review, I am glad that you liked the hotel on the whole. I do appreciate your other feedback too as it helps us to keep focus on what we need to improve for our guests. During these uncertain times we are offering a limited food offering but I am hopeful that as things return to normal that we will be able to see this improve over time. I also note your comments about supplies in the room, next time you stay please let us know and we can replenish on a more regular basis. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you, Will
Read more
ne_quine wrote a review Sep 2020
Aberdeen, United Kingdom1,588 contributions176 helpful votes
This was my first stay in a hotel in our new 'Covid-19' world and any worries I had about staying in a hotel were quickly dispelled by the safe protocols the hotel had - plenty of hand sanitisers dotted around the hotel and I liked wipes being out too, so you could take them to your room to clean the room/your belongings if you'd been out. The room was spotlessly clean and the only difference to my stay in February was no mugs in the room, you got paper ones instead. There wasn't any housekeeping done, and I wasn't fussed about that and actually liked the fact nobody would be in the room during my stay. Food and drink was done very safely too - for lunch/dinner you could either order in the traditional way or you could order via your phone after scanning the QR code. I did it both ways and other than my drink taking longer to arrive via QR code, both methods were fine. Breakfast was well organised too - you could help yourself to (limited) boxed cereal and pre-packaged croissants. Drinks (inc milk for cereal) were taken by the server/delivered and you then went up to the buffet area and said to the server what you wanted and they placed it on your plate. Again, all done very safe. My only negative comments about the hotel was the use of masks - yes the front desk staff had them on... but more often than not, they were worn round the chin or not covering the nose... why bother wearing one! And I know people with legitimate reasons are excused too, but there seemed to be too many people walking through the hotel without masks on and nobody seemed to say anything to them. Other than that slight negative, I'd have no hesitation about staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Will Macpherson, General Manager at Courtyard Edinburgh West
Responded 11 Dec 2020
Thank you ne_quine for your great review, I am glad that you liked the stay and you felt the Covid measures in place made you feel safe during your stay. I note your comment regarding face masks being worn incorrectly so I will certainly follow up on that and ensure everybody is following the standards. I do hope you will visit us again soon. Thanks, Will
Read more
Kirsty W wrote a review Sep 2020
Mintlaw, United Kingdom23 contributions2 helpful votes
Different to previous stays. Room not being serviced for a 2 night stay wasn't great. Breakfast was awful toast was hot bread and sausage anemia. Hoping this will improve shortly. Nice room and friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Will Macpherson, General Manager at Courtyard Edinburgh West
Responded 20 Sep 2020
Thank you kirstyw900 for your review, however I am sorry that we did not hit the mark. Indeed we are operating in different times and are not carrying out mid-stay cleans to prevent infection for you and our teams. However, we should still be offering a good breakfast and I am sorry this was not the case. I hope these points do not deter you from staying again and I hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Thank you, Will
Read more
irene c wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We booked a quiet room.On arrival we discovered we had been expected the previous evening. However as the hotel was exceptionally quiet there was no problem in getting a room. Again we emphasised a quiet room.We were put in a room with connecting doors to the next room but it did not bother us as we did not expect this to be occupied.Later in the evening a party arrived and the emphasis is on the party. The screaming, laughing singing went on until at 2.30 I was forced to call down to complain. They were spoken to and moved along the corridor still partying, but moved back next door after a short interval.The door handle on the other side was rattled frequently. The singing continued until I complained at 4 a.m. once more. The noise did cease then but having had no sleep all night we packed up and left at 5AM. A nightmare.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 85 - USD 184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
160
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Courtyard Edinburgh West
Which popular attractions are close to Courtyard Edinburgh West?
Nearby attractions include The Realm VR (4.3 km), Escape Reality (7.5 km), and BobCat Alpacas (3.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Courtyard Edinburgh West?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Courtyard Edinburgh West?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Courtyard Edinburgh West?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Courtyard Edinburgh West?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Courtyard Edinburgh West?
Conveniently located restaurants include Skyline Restaurant At Tynecastle Park, Lynne's Scrumptious Snax, and Salt Café.
Are any cleaning services offered at Courtyard Edinburgh West?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Courtyard Edinburgh West offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Courtyard Edinburgh West?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Polish, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Courtyard Edinburgh West?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dean Village (7.6 km), Cramond Village (7.7 km), and The Great Hall (8.0 km).
Is Courtyard Edinburgh West accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.