We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Show Prices
#63 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

922 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 851: English reviews
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2015

I stayed at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh last week for 3 nights because I wanted to show the Scotland to my family. The hotel is located in the hearth of Edinburgh, just 5-7 mins walking distance from the Castle (the main attraction). Magda, the Front Office Manager, warmly welcomed us and offered us tips about the city. We stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SergioForce
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear SergioForce Thank you for your kind comments following your stay with family at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I was delighted to read that you received a warm welcome and managed to enjoy all the amenities including our fantastic breakfast! We look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh again soon! Kind Regards Gillian

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2015

The hotel itself is beautiful and you see that the moment you walk up to it. It is right in the heart of the city so you are within walking distance of lots of places. We were visiting friends and business colleagues while we were there and the location of the hotel made it easy for us to be where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katiekins101
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Katiekins101 Thank you for your positive review following your stay last month at HdV Edinburgh. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the city and that you were well looked after by the team. Make sure you come back in the Summer to enjoy the courtyard fully! Hopefully see you again soon. Kind Regards Gillian

Reviewed 25 March 2015

We visited as a large group and booked a private room. Before dinner we were given exclusive use of a bar area. Service was friendly and efficient. Considering the large number eating the food was very good and arrived simultaneously. I would strongly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NM590
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear NM590 Thank you for your review after your private dining event with us at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am glad that you enjoyed the use of the Whisky snug prior to your meal and that the food was enjoyable. Should you be looking for any future events then please do get in contact with the events team. Kind...

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights for a treat. This hotel is breathtaking, we had a room upgrade to the Saintsbury room with an enormous waterfall shower and a huge roll top bath. The bed was covered in diamond white sheets that hugged you when you jumped in. We took advantage of the steak chataubriand offer for dinner & it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trace H
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Trace H Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Edinburgh Hotel du Vin. It was wonderful to hear that you were so well looked after, especially by Ashley - she was delighted to have made such an impact! We hope to welcome you back very soon! Kind Regards Gillian

Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2015

we stayed here in January for a two night weekend break booked direct from an offer from the hotel du vin website. the cost was £118 per night for a superior room including breakfast and dinner in the bistro (reviewed separately).the hotel is situated near the royal mile and just up the hill from the grassmarket. on arrival the girl...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark h
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear markh Thank you for your review following your stay at HdV Edinburgh. I appreciate your constructive comments regarding the layout of the room and am glad that overall you had a great stay with us! Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Gillian

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2015

My partner and I booked a night away from the kids as a birthday celebration - one night of grown up decadence and Hotel du Vin delivered perfectly. Our room, a superior double was lovely; big bed, crisp white bed linen and a fabulous free-standing bath as well as a fantastic, huge rainfall shower area - really great use of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynda G
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear LyndaG Thank you for your fantastic review following your stay at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that we are your luxurious haven away from the kids! We hope you have another special occasion soon so you can manage another escape. Kind Regards Gillian

Reviewed 16 March 2015

We stayed here late last year and found the hotel to be of a lovely standard with a beautiful, large room. The decor is tasteful and top notch and the beds comfortable and luxurious. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was really lovely and the service was spot on. Breakfast was delicious and nice choices away from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helenokane
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Helenokane Thank you for your feedback following your visit to Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I was delighted to read that we are your favourite HdV and you found the service to be perfect as well as the wonderful breakfast. Hopefully we will see you again at HdV! Kind Regards Gillian

Reviewed 15 March 2015 via mobile

Attended here as a birthday gift. First impressions.. Wow. We were offered a table which we politely declined due to its position and the staff offered another without any problem. We had a 3 course lunch from the fixed price menu. The food was of a good standard with no complaints or criticism from either of us. The wine list...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Almcfet
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Almcfet Thank you for the wonderful review you posted following your birthday celebration at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It is always fantastic to read that your experience was extra special due to the service you received from the team and that this adds to the stay. We can't wait to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards...

London
Reviewed 15 March 2015

Having decided on a staycation for our annual spring break, we decided to visit Edinburgh, and we're pleased to see they had a Hotel du Vin as we use our local one in Tunbridge Wells on a weekly basis. The hotel is conveniently placed, a short walking distance from the Royal Mile. We received a lovely warm welcome on arrival,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeannius24
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Jeannius Thank you for your kind review following your stay at HdV Edinburgh. It is always great to read that regular Hotel du Vin guests enjoyed visiting another property and that we did not disappoint! We will hopefully see you back in Edinburgh soon! Kind Regards Gillian

Reviewed 12 March 2015

Right in the centre of Edinburgh, this lovely old building really works as a hotel (for me). I'm always impressed if I have a super comfortable bed (tick) and a powerful shower (double tick - it's like being in a rain forest). And on top of that there is a 24 hour bar. The breakfast we OK, nothing too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Simon F Thank you for your positive review. It was good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially liked our monsoon showers, they certainly wake you up in the morning! Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kind Regards Gillian

605 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (206)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (82)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (388)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Dom Perignon Master Suite (82)
Viewed
La Grande Dame Suite (65)
Viewed
Dining (66)
Viewed
The Hotel (165)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
735 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
648 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
988 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#27 of 150 in Edinburgh
933 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $173 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I can only say that our room was large and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles H9255FGanneb, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I suggest upgrading to a superior room. Great wine and whiskey selection as well as the menu options. Great selection of cigars”
 of 5 bubbles farronh2016, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles sarahpZ7039VR, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask how big your room is when reserving and don't bring a large suitcase if you book one of the smaller rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles atdrg, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on courtyard but fairly quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Herndontourist, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay