We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Show Prices
#70 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

995 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 920: English reviews
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 29 October 2015

From the moment we arrived, this was a wonderful experience. The desk staff was extraordinary--very gracious and friendly plus they know the area! Breakfast was superb and dinner equally so. Rooms are unique but each was upscale, clean and comfortable. Location is ideal to see the attractions of this beautiful old city. This will be our only choice on our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neal C
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Neal C I was delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay and managed to explore the city from our central location. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for other travellers and letting them know of your enjoyable visit to Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. Kind Regards Gillian

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

This is not the first time that I have had a meal at the Hotel du Vin but, as on all previous occasions, it was first class in quality, quantity and service. I agree that it is not cheap but it is, to my mind, one of the nicest places in Edinburgh to eat and we will continue to return...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davew99
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear davew99 Thank you for your positive review following your dining experience at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It's fantastic to hear that you have enjoyed every aspect of your meal from food through to service on each occasion and I am delighted we will be able to welcome you back again. Kind Regards Gillian

houston tx
Reviewed 25 October 2015

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of spending three nights at the hotel du vin in Edinburgh. An excellent location and a very helpful staff. We had dinner the first night at their restaurant and greatly enjoyed it. All in all a very pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Harry M Thanks for such a positive review following your stay with us this month at HdV Edinburgh. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit and the staff to be hospitable. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kind Regards Gillian

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2015

We went for lunch and had the "fixed price" Menu. Found the options a little short in variety and flavour. Soup was good. Chicken fricassee was tasty. The Sticky Toffee Pudding (minus the clotted cream, which never appeared) was obviously "bought in", which was disappointing and unacceptable for a restaurant of this perceived stature. Service was more than acceptable. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gastronaut_11
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear gastronaut_11 Thank you for your review following a visit to our bistro at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am disappointed to read that you did not find the choice to be varied enough on our prix fixe menu as we have just recently updated this to give a choice of 4 starters, 4 mains and 4 desserts to ensure...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Great hotel in a good location. Very comfortable room. Service in the restaurant a little slow. The kitchen had run out of several dinner options which was disappointing. I ordered crepes for breakfast and was presented with very thick, barely cooked stodgy pancakes which did not resemble crepes at all. Filled with a slice of ham, uncut and cheese which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deb603
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear deb603 Thank you for your review following your stay with us at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us yet disappointed that you did not enjoy the food in the bistro. I do hope this would not deter you from staying with us again in the future where I am confident...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015

We chose to have a quick lunch in the courtyard before catching a show at the Fringe. All of us chose Caesar salads, which, in our haste, we failed to realize did not include any chicken, despite costing around £14 - which is a total ripoff for what was essentially a moderately sized bowl of just leaves, croutons and some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank late_night_abyss
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear late_night_abyss Thank you for your review following a visit to HdV Edinburgh in August. I am disappointed to read your review of your experience during the summer in the courtyard. Despite it being a busy time we do our upmost to deliver the freshest food to our guests in a timely manner. With everything being made to order I...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Really surprised to hear negative reviews of this hotel. Really enjoyed our stay here and found the staff and the facilities to be excellent. The food is of a very high standard from breakfast, lunch and even room service. Good location near to Greyfriars and the museum. Would stay here again for the food alone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha E
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Natasha E Thank you for such a positive review following your stay with us this month at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that everything was enjoyable and you found the team to be hospitable and our food offering of a high standard. As mentioned we have a great location to explore Edinburgh so I am...

Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Have stayed here before and staff are always pleasant and friendly but was disappointed this time with some aspects of the room - Louis Jadot. The bathroom included a bath with a shower screen but the screen was fixed in such away that it was impossible for an average height lady to reach the bath plug or taps without standing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolinebenson
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear carolinebenson Thank you for your review following your recent visit to HdV Edinburgh. I appreciate you taking the time to pass on your feedback as this is the only way we can improve the quality of service and product we offer to all our guests. I can only apologise that the staff member did not offer to pop out...

Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed here for her birthday and we coildnt have asked for a better place to stay. From our arrival to our departure, we were made to feel very welcome. We were met by Marco who showed us up to our gorgeous Suite and offered assistance with our case. The room was very spacious and comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross H
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Ross H Thank you for such a wonderful review following your visit to Hotel du Vin Edinburgh this month. It's great to hear that we managed to deliver on every level and surpassed your expectations. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Gillian

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2015

It was a very special break fo my husband & I ...... a two city break in Scotland. My husband booked the hotel du vin in Edinburg as we had previously had an amazing stay at the Hotel du Vin Glascow. We booked a superior suite the "Tattinger". The location for the hotel is amazing...bang in the centre of Edinburg...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beespoke10
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Beespoke10 Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel du Vin Edinburgh and giving me such constructuve feedback. I am disappointed that this stay was not memorable for the right reasons and you had a few issues throughout your break with us. Please trust your feedback was taken on board and maintenance issues fixed as well as comments...

635 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (231)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (388)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Dom Perignon Master Suite (82)
Viewed
La Grande Dame Suite (65)
Viewed
Dining (66)
Viewed
The Hotel (165)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
870 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,538 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,412 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $227 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#39 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“some rooms are on the street side so can be a bit noisy”
jclewis80, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The attic suite showed the essence of Edinburgh.”
LM477, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid this overpriced slop”
ih716, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a courtyard room.”
J5938HNedm, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade your room if available, bathroom so much bigger with a bath in the main room too”
damedolan, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5