We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

1,113 reviews
Save
Traveller (271)
Room & Suite (222)
Dining (80)
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good33%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“roll top bath”(45 reviews)
“whisky snug”(20 reviews)
“cigar bothy”(17 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,113)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,027 results
Traveller rating
496
338
125
55
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
496
338
125
55
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroll top bathwhisky snugcigar bothyhdv edinburghoverlooking the courtyardroyal milesuperior roomfree standing bathlovely hotelmini bareggs benedictnational museum of scotlandnespresso machinebath and showerlovely roomedinburgh hotelcooked breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 1,027 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at many hotels and this one just misses on a number of issues. The room was ok but the bathroom needing a bit attention such as loose and broken fittings and tatty bath sealant. The rest of the room was fine and...More

1  Thank Andi V
Response from Dirk_HdV, Manager at Hotel du Vin & BistroResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Andi Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I don't believe you had made us aware of your issues and I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Please do get in touch so we can investigate and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a perfect hotel! The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much for them. Our Christmas was so happy, the food was excellent at breakfast and dinner and the wine was fabulous. We would very much like to return. Thank you to everyone who...More

Thank Emma H
Response from Dirk_HdV, Manager at Hotel du Vin & BistroResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Emma Thank you so much for this wonderful review, we are delighted you had such a wonderful time and we'll make sure to share this with the team! All the best for 2018! Kind Regards, Dirk Nols Deputy General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I chose the hotel for its immediate proximity to the McEwan Hall where my graduation ceremony was held. Also, the Royal Mile and all the highlights of the old Edinburgh are within a short/reasonable walking distance. Hotel doesn’t provide free parking but you can park...More

Thank Alcamimi
Response from Dirk_HdV, Manager at Hotel du Vin & BistroResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Alcamimi, Thank you for this great 5/5 review and your fantastic comments following your stay for your recent graduation ceremony. I am glad you had such a wonderful time but I am sorry to see the machine at the car park at Quartermile did...More

Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

Christmas lunch with the family - nice three course meal which was delicious ! Had trouble selection wine as they were out of our first three choices. However, it is a very good wine menu. Nice atmosphere with a relaxed feel. Would recommend and we...More

Thank Clinky123
Response from Dirk_HdV, Manager at Hotel du Vin & BistroResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Clinky123 Thank you for this great review, I am glad you had a nice Christmas lunch with your family and I hope you will visit again! Kind Regards, Dirk Nols Deputy General Manager

Reviewed 18 December 2017

My Husband and I came through to Edinburgh for the Christmas markets and having searched (exhaustively) online, decided that the Hotel Du Vin looked like a nice place to spoil ourselves for the night. On arrival, we were made welcome by the reception team who...More

2  Thank Dizzy80
Response from Dirk_HdV, Manager at Hotel du Vin & BistroResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Dizzy80, Thank you so much for this wonderful review, I am delighted you had such a great time and will make sure to thank the team for looking after you so well - especially it being your wedding anniversary! I hope you will visit...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456206
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 136 - USD 401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 136 - USD 401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (271)
Room & Suite (222)
Dining (80)
Hotel & Grounds (327)
Bathroom (35)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
pjfoc1
28 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from nhafkin | Reviewed this property |
Not sure if they would deliver your breakfast to the room --- but its worth asking. I found them quite willing to go the extra mile for their guests. Have fun!
0
Votes
Vince B
30 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Yoponz | Reviewed this property |
Yup
0
Votes
windygales
1 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Oligail42 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure we trained it!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"A suite they are lovely for a treat"
Read review
"Ask to look over the courtyard"
Read review
"We stayed in the Dom Perignon Suite, as it was a gift I do not know the price paid.Therefore, can't tell..."
Read review
"some rooms / floors are not accessible entirely by elevator. rooms face either into courtyard or to..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite