We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Show Prices
#32 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Panoramas (23)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,065 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,746: English reviews
Start your review of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
 Click to rate
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from a 3 night break. The hotel was excellent. Fantastic service from the minute we stepped through the door. All the staff were very friendly and professional. The hotel is very easy to get to from the station and a great location for exploring the new and old towns.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B9090HDemmat
Gateshead
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great hotel, great loacation. We had a family room and we were more then impressed with the comfort and size of room. There were 5 of us and plenty room for cot, pushchair and luggage. Breakfast was great and so was room service. Lady who was serving in the bar area was very friendly and an asset to this hotel....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L7nsb2
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear L7nsb2 Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us and for your kind words. I was truly pleased to read that you found our hotel great and that this was in a large part down to the team, as this is something at the core of what we do here at Apex Waterloo Place. I do...

Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only real downfall was the nightclub Pivo, on the other side of the road to our room. The noise was dreadful at 3am each morning of the stay when they threw everyone out of the club. There was shouting, screaming and noise for up to an hour. The disturbed...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruthp231
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ruthp231 Thank you for writing an review of your time with us. I was pleased to read that you found our hotel clean and the bed comfortable. I was however disappointed to read that your experience was marred by the goings across from the hotel. As you so rightly posted the options available to the hotel about controlling this...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely, spacious room with huge bathroom and separate shower. The room did not have a view as at the back of the hotel but it was very quiet. Service at breakfast was generally good and the lovely Scottish lady who served us at breakfast on Sunday 19th was exceptional. Breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked (no hot buffet thank goodness) and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DearNess
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel a few time before and always found it to be of good standards throughout the hotel.I booked through reservations , however when we arrived at the hotel the payment had not been taken from our bank, no the breakfast order was wrong, Our room was not ready for us so we went for some...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lillian W
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lillian W Thank you posting an online you review of your most recent stay here at Apex Waterloo Place. I was really pleased to see that overall your stay was enjoyable. I was sorry to see that your stay didn't get off to the best of starts, however I was pleased to see that Jen was able to put...

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed in a number of Apex chained hotels, and all have been good quality. This one didn't disappoint. The room itself, was on the 7th floor. It had full length floor - ceiling windows, in a high ceiling room. This meant i had lovely views out towards the city. Both during the day, and especially at night this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidTPtank
Isleworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We chose this as this was a short break and time was at a premium so we we wanted somewhere close to the station & Centre of Edinburgh but away from the "tourist trap" hotels that attract poor reviews about their service.We could not have made a better choice,5 mins walk from the station,10 mins walk from the restaurants around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerry F
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jerry F Thank you for leaving some online feedback about your recent short break in Edinburgh. I was really pleased to read that you were happy with your choice of hotel. It was especially pleasing to read that you found all aspects of our service excellent from start to finish as this is what we always strive to achieve...

Aberfoyle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice front staff, no sound privacy in rooms (one could hear neighbors using the bathroom very clearly), air in room made us sneeze and one of us got very red, allergic reaction, eyes. Symptoms disappeared when we went outside. Also, some of wait staff in the restaurant could not speak English. However, more conscientious housekeeping, using better products would probably...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Could hardly have been better. Location, service, facilities, helpfulness and friendliness of staff were all top quality. Wished we had had time to make use of the gym, pool, sauna, etc. but they looked fine. Perhaps on our next visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I3765HUchristopherl
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear I3765HUchristopherl Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words about our hotel and team. I was truly pleased to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially that you found our team top quality as this is something we truly pride ourselves on. I do hope we get to welcome...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel right in the city centre. The beds were particularly comfortable. Very convenient for public transport. Very close to Waverley Station and the tram from the airport. Nice pool and spa if you have time. I will return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindatN2391LO

1,084 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (915)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (239)
Viewed
Bathroom (118)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (366)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (142)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
City Double Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Superior Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
783 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
805 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,104 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $145 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel staff and other travellers.
49 questions
Ask a question
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
6 months ago
Merseyside
7 months ago
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
26 days ago

See all questions (49)

Questions? Get answers from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles lyndsay0, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Would ask for a front facing room”
 of 5 bubbles Tamandmarion, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room with tub and shower if you want both.”
 of 5 bubbles bobettemc, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“not suitable for smokers”
 of 5 bubbles KerryMaurice, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We have stayed on several occasions and never had problems of noise or comfort”
 of 5 bubbles dralexander1, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5