We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Destiny Scotland - Princes Street Residence

140 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4BL Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#34 of 112 apartments in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Complimentary tea
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Room features
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Business
53Reviews3Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 10
  • 1
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
helpmabob wrote a review Dec 2023
Scotland, United Kingdom8828 contributions87 helpful votes
I wanted to spend some ME time and visit with family, but I wanted somewhere more comfortable than just a hotel room. Well, this Studio Apartment was perfect. Open plan kitchen with every mod con you could ask for, small dining area and a large sofa and chair with wall mounted tv. The double bedroom had sliding doors to access. Lovely bathroom with a walk-in shower, and the best part was a heated floor. I was on the first floor with 2 large windows with views of Edinburgh Castle, which was The West End of Princes St. There were lots of places locally to eat out at, also takeaways and local supermarket. I had a very enjoyable 2-night stay and loved the downtime I could have without the formality of a hotel setting. There was noise as you are on an extremely busy road but it is a city break, The only note I would say is this would not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues as there are stairs and no lift.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If you are travelling from the airport then the tram stop is 5mins from this apartment
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
GB wrote a review June 2023
23 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
Worst experience ever. The property is super dirty. The entrance had strong smell of pee, garbage all around, dirty stains, pukes all around. I paid $1000/€800 for 2nights thinking this would be a nice property. It is the worst ever. Bums and sketchy people at the entrance and made us very uncomfortable to go in and out. Please avoid this property. No elevator, no service, no live person on site, not enough towels, no luggage storage. For this kind of money we paid, we could have stayed at 4 or 5 star hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Enquiries Enquiries, Owner at Destiny Scotland - Princes Street Residence
Responded 6 Dec 2023
Hello, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear about your experience. Since we are self-catering apartments, we do not have people working on-site and unfortunately, we do not advertise this property as with a lift. As per your check-in instructions, check-in time starts at 3pm, but if you arrive early, you are more than welcome to drop your bags off at 28 Thistle Street, we are open daily from 9am to 5pm. We also do clean the entrance every day. Kind regards, Reda Destiny Scotland
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lisa F wrote a review Mar 2023
52 contributions9 helpful votes
Lovely apartments amazing view cannot fault - shutters kept out any noise from street. Tesco next door which is handy as was being able to drop off our bags before and after leaving the flat at the local office. Clean and tidy and felt authentic with a modern kitchen
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Melanie wrote a review Mar 2023
Adelaide, Australia158 contributions81 helpful votes
Wow... perfect location... beautiful clean room... fabulous view of Princess Street and castle... could not have asked for better... we stayed in apt 3... there are no lifts, which we were aware of but still hard work getting cases up 3 floors... but worth it... would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Tesco express next door
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Stormie C wrote a review Dec 2022
Pennant Hills, Australia127 contributions59 helpful votes
The apartment we stayed in had 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and was spacious and clean. Bit of a hike up to the 4th floor with luggage but we are pretty fit, so not a big problem. There were beautiful castle views from the lounge and master bedroom, and the apartment is well located in downtown Princes street . Only letdowns was the washing machine which was broken. There’s a bit of street noise too, if you’re sensitive to that. Overall pretty decent stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Aidan M wrote a review Nov 2022
Drogheda, Ireland29 contributions8 helpful votes
Just back from a 4 day break in the Princes Street apartments. We were in apartment No.4, a 2 bed apartment. From booking to leaving, this couldn't have been a better experience. Check in was very simple, the apartment itself was spotless and contained all mod cons. Showers brilliant ... beds comfortable ... everywhere warm and comfortable. Really couldn't find anything negative about this place. Absolutely recommended 100%. Just a heads up ... there is no lift so getting to the 3rd and 4th floors can be a bit of a hike, but we were told in advance and it wasn't too much of an issue.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
KellermansFanClub wrote a review Aug 2022
Fairfax, California192 contributions190 helpful votes
The good: decent sized space, good location if you want lots of conveniences nearby, full kitchen. The bad: the bums/transients camping in the doorway, the screaming and shouting in said doorway all night long meaning person in front bedroom gets zero sleep, the grimy entry, stairs, and hallway, the false advertising - booked an apartment with a king got a queen, the lack of extra towels/blankets/etc, the neglected state of apartment with nicks in walls, scratches In paint, smelly/damaged furniture, dead bird parts outside the main bedroom window: something clearly feasts on pigeons outside the window and no one cleans it up. Seems like more of a party pad then a luxury apartment. For 600 plus bucks a night we could’ve stayed somewhere much better.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid the princes street location
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Martin J wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
It is a beautiful appartement with sight on the castle and close to the old town and at the beginning of New town. It is a luxerous appartment, new and the furniture, kitchen and finishing was excellent. It was also very clean. We had a problem with the safe (empty batterij), after a call they immediately helped us. Top located, high Class appartment. Without an elevator! (we were at 3th Floor)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No elevator!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Colin Y wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
We were surprised at how lovely our apartment was once we were inside. An open plan living, dining room and kitchen area, very spacious and 2 good sized double bedrooms with plenty of storage, the sofa in the living room was super comfy All modern, seemed to have been recently refurbished and very clean with everything you need if you want to do self catering. Fridge/freezer, microwave, oven and hob, dishwasher, washer/dryer and plenty of cutlery & crockery. The bathroom was very big with a separate bath and shower within it, the shower was amazing by the way! Also supplied with shower/bath gel, shampoo and conditioner which smell amazing. Other reviews have mentioned about noise but honestly there was very little as our apartment was double glazed. We had a great view of Edinburgh Castle and also very close to an abundance of shops, restaurants, visitor attractions and much more and I would say the only downside is the lack of parking but it doesn't effect anything to do with our stay at these apartments. Highly recommended 👌
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MacRS4 wrote a review Jan 2022
London, United Kingdom45 contributions36 helpful votes
Surprisingly good apartment. Stayed here for a long weekend with my daughter mid-January 2022. It’s about a 15 minute easy walk from the train station and very easy to find. Apartment itself is in a great location (think it was apartment 2), facing Princes Street. It is directly above a closed shop, with a McDonald’s to the left. So noise may be a problem - we live in Central London so didn’t really notice it at all. Bedrooms are at the back of the property so the noise isn’t an issue overnight. As somebody else pointed out, the main door area is a bit dirty as it’s on the Main Street. When we found the place on Street View that did put us off a bit, but don’t let it worry you - it’s minor. Property itself was modern and well maintained - dishwasher (no tablets /detergent though that we could find), washing machine, coffee machine etc. Decent state of repair too although with some bits that could do with tidying up. Bathrooms had underfloor heating too which was good - and also pretty good water pressure in both showers! Important if you like that! All in all we had a great stay, and would happily stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$288 - AU$573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghNew Town / Princes Street and Gardens
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DESTINY SCOTLAND - PRINCES STREET RESIDENCE (AU$285): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Edinburgh) - Photos of Apartment - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Destiny Scotland - Princes Street Residence
Which popular attractions are close to Destiny Scotland - Princes Street Residence?
Nearby attractions include Edinburgh Castle (0.5 km), Georgian House (0.3 km), and Princes Street Gardens (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Destiny Scotland - Princes Street Residence?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, kids activities, and a clothes dryer.
Which room amenities are available at Destiny Scotland - Princes Street Residence?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a dishwasher.
What food & drink options are available at Destiny Scotland - Princes Street Residence?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Destiny Scotland - Princes Street Residence?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Caley Bar, Dine, and Peacock Alley at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian.
Are any cleaning services offered at Destiny Scotland - Princes Street Residence?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Destiny Scotland - Princes Street Residence?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (1.0 km), Palace of Holyroodhouse (2.2 km), and Gladstone's Land (0.8 km).