We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Show Prices
#84 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,092: English reviews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Royal Mile for a three day family break (28th June to the 1st July), it is located on Cowgate a mere 10 minute (slow) walk to all the sights, just around the corner from the Royal Mile, the hotel was VERY clean and the staff extremely accomodating, every morning we were greated by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colin P
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

What a great review – thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on this website. Our housekeeping and maintenance team work tirelessly to ensure the hotel is clean and well maintained while our guest service team are on hand 24 hours a day and are always happy to help – The entire staff at the hotel read...

Abilene, Texas
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a lovely stay here. Edinburgh is a quite small city, in my opinion, so, we were less than 10 minutes walk to getting to the Royal Mile and Waverly train station. We had good service from the staff. They were attentive and helpful. While I do not know if any rooms have room safes, ours did not. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Howie G
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Although no rooms in the hotel have safes in them we do have safety deposit boxes available at reception, free of charge for guest to use throughout their stay. Our guest service team are available 24 hours a day and do all they can to ensure guests...

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at The Holiday Inn for two nights. Situated just off the Royal Mile which is ideal for the touist areas, restaurants and bars. Room modern,and very clean,breakfast very nice. Would recommend. We went through an on line agent to book..So do check direct with hotel first. If we had, we would have saved £20.00

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rookesrus
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit with us - we are very lucky to be located within such close walking distance of many of Edinburgh’s favourite attractions.

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Excellent location. Excellent staff. Excellent room. Excellent breakfast. There is nothing bad that I can say about this hotel. Holiday Inn should be proud of the great staff at this hotel as they are fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph W
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit - we could not ask for a better review. I hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Racine, Wisconsin
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our requirement list was simple - reasonable price, near Royal Mile, and free Wifi. Not only were all of these met, but the staff was friendly and informative. When we went to check in early, our rooms were not quite ready, but we were immediately offered tea, coffee, or soda. A great place for exploring Edinburgh.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenna F
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that we managed to tick the boxes of all your requirements. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Front desk staff were extremely helpful. Our luggage arrived long after us and they kept us informed and expressed genuine concern. Sleeping accommodations were very clean and roomy. Breakfast was standard, but filled the need, BUT the coffee was great. And all within a two block walk of the Royal Mile.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celia B
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and especially the coffee! I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.

PJ
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I booked my parents a night's stay at the Holiday Inn Express- Royal Mile only because the hotel they wanted me to book them in was already fully booked, and they wanted an alternate hotel that is fairly close to the central station. Since the reviews on trip advisor for this property seemed alright, I figured they would be fine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skeez
hiexpressrm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear Skeez Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I am very disappointed to hear of your parents' experience and it is certainly not the the customer service that we pride ourselves in delivering. I would like to have the opportunity to discuss this with you and apologise personally as well as getting further...

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Terrible experience! we were "hosted" under ground in a room which was 70% below the surface. 2 nights nearly no sleep, as I was suffering a strong allergy there. (nowhere else, despite of I am travelling a lot). - despite our reservation was for upper level rooms! Our friends were complained on the room, so they were put on upper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laszlo J
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry you feel you should not have chosen to stay at this hotel. The vast majority of reviewers on this site, and similar sites, share a different opinion to you and I am truly sorry you do not feel the same as them. Our guest...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 3 nights here. Considering we had already been in London and Oxford in budget-friendly B&Bs, we were looking forward to a familiar hotel chain. The hotel did not disappoint in many ways. The rooms were modern and clean. The front desk staff was incredibly friendly for our entire stay--meaning new faces each day and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brighteyes222
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the positive comments with regard to the staff and the level of service you received. I was sorry to hear you did not find the mattress comfortable – often this is dependent on each individual’s preference but...

Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is an excellent business style hotel in a central location. We were looking for a night's basic accommodation in between Waverley station and the university, so it fitted the bill. We had a family room with fold-out bed, which my daughter said was a little hard! The bathroom was nice with an interesting space-saving door that acted as either...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chingachgook2
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Our family rooms offer great value as kids stay free and our complimentary breakfast is a great way to start a busy day in town – I am sorry your wife did not like the sausages but I am glad...

193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
266 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,386 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#46 of 150 in Edinburgh
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $142 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Left side as you look at the hotel is quite with views of tenement blocks.”
 of 5 bubbles RichardB303, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on an upper floor at the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Aura9, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room at back so was very quite.”
 of 5 bubbles WilliamA10, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“1st floor just loved it.”
 of 5 bubbles 824ottoh, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“book without breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles 133drewr, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5