We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shaftesbury Lodge

Hotels.comUSD 104*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 104*
USD 104*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Shaftesbury Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shaftesbury Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
Enniskillen
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed in Shaftesbury Lodge for one night whilst visiting Dundee on business. I like a hotel that is quiet, comfortable and clean. Shaftesbury Lodge is situated in a quiet suburb within easy distance of the University and the city centre, good restaurants are near by, and there is good roadside parking (no pay & display required). The bed I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FromA2B
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting an excellent and informative review for other guests looking to stay with us. Delighted that both you and your colleagues enjoyed the hospitality and next time, I look forward to meeting your family.

Rhodes, Greece
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We been un this little house for only few days, the place it is very clean and good the service is good and the lady is very attentive and courteous at all. Tank you if we come again in Dundee dure we beck in this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giorgej
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review

That was kind of you to take the time to post your review and for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again should you be in Dundee.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have just returned from a most enjoyable weekend in Dundee and stayed at the Shaftesbury Lodge once againfor 3 nights. This is our third stay in 2 years at the Shaftesbury and it is such a pleasure to be looked after so well by the owners Heather and Martin. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanjoyce_12
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review

Gordon and Sue, lovely to see you both again and delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay again with us. It's great to know we are still on the right track! Hope to see you next year, all the best Heather

East Sussex
Reviewed 6 November 2013

read the reviews driving towards Dundee on business with my partner, was looking forward to checking into this old victorian building.... But... i was so disappointed, if it wasn't so late,cold and very dark outside i would have asked my partner to turn away and find another hotel/B&B. The lady who checked us in was very pleasant and took us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Susan H
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review and we were of course sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations based on the other reviews you had read. We believe that everyone has a valid opinion, however we were disappointed that you did not feel you could discuss your issues with us in person...

Marietta, Georgia
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We only got to stay one night at the Shaftesbury Lodge, but we got a great nights' sleep and felt that it was a great value. Upon arrival Heather provided us with walking directions to a number of restaurants (including a wonderful Indian place) and offered to help us with our luggage & the stairs. Be sure to remember that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank G_And_E_GA
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review

Informative and helpful for future guests - many thanks for posting your review Heather

UK
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel has a traditional feel but is very comfortable with spacious rooms and good facilities. Rooms are bright and very well decorated with free wifi, tv, hot drink making facilities. The proprietor is very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is situated in a quiet road but only twenty minutes walk from the city centre and ten minutes from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyWebUk
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review - hope to see you again if you are visiting the Dundee Rep Heather

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2013

What a discovery! Individually decorated, very spacious rooms with excellent facilities. Our only regret was that, after a copious evening meal at the local Italian, we were unable to do justice to the fantastic choice of breakfast dishes. Being a little way from the centre of Dundee, parking is easy and free. All in all, it's a winning combination.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review

Great honest review and informative for other guests - many thanks for taking the time to post it

Reepham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 night while visiting daughter at her Uni down the road. Really clean, large room, very friendly owners and really really great breakfasts. I would highly recommend staying here whilst in Dundee. We will stay here every time we visit Dundee.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul T
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your superb review and we look forward to your next visit

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Not old fashioned at all. Fresh decoration and high ceilings make for spacious bedrooms and comfortable lounge. The dining room has Rene Mackintosh style chairs. Delicious breakfast. Free wifi. It is a 30 minute walk to town but there are plenty of buses or £5 taxi. Friendly welcome. We couldn't get into Premier Inn and are pleased as we wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amber1943
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review

Excellent review and most informative - many thanks and hope to see you again.

Brandon, Canada
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We are two Canadian couples who stayed at the Shaftesbury in late August. The rooms were a nice size and clean. The breakfasts menu was varied and the food was great. The Shaftesbury has lots of character. We walked to Drouthys for supper the first night (a bar with good food) and liked it enough to go back again. Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ss987
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to complete your review - I know you stayed in a lot of different places on your trip to Scotland and delighted you thought us worthy of 10/10!

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
2.4 km away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
4.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
1.4 km away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Best Western Queens Hotel
3.8 km away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Shaftesbury is situated in the quiet west-end of Dundee. It is ideally located, close to the vibrant city centre, Dundee University, Ninewells Hospital, Dundee airport, Dundee Botanic Garden,BMI Fernbrae Hospital and the Riverside Technology Park. Only 5 minutes walk to the West Park Conference Centre. The Shaftesbury is run by Heather and Martin offering a warm welcome, great breakfasts, clean and comfortable accommodation, making your stay perfect and enjoyable when visiting Dundee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Lodge

Address: 1 Hyndford Street, Dundee DD2 1HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Price Range: $115 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shaftesbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Hotel Dundee
Shaftesbury Lodge Dundee, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shaftesbury Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bargara
11 months ago
Leeds
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Shaftesbury Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the suite of rooms overlooking the rear of the property.”
LynnS624, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Exceptionally clean and friendly.”
196dih, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
“We were allocated a room on arrival and it was more than adequate”
596junew, 16 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Room 6 was very spacious”
misstazangela, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms seem quite quiet as it's away from the main traffic areas.”
marianjones, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 104* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 104
Booking.com
Expedia.comUSD 104
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates