We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Gretna Green M74
See the most recent reviews
Showing 356: English reviews
belfast
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed with our 20mth son for 1 night on way back to Belfast. To say it was the worst decision is an understatement. We checked in an entered the room to find, what we can only describe as a filthy, dirty room!! In the bathroom there was hair all round the bath, the toilet bowl had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank irishm30
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I have responded to your partner in regards to looking in to the issues that have been raised. Please can you email me with your review, the date you stayed and the name your booking was under? Kind regards Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

No bar, only one plug socket to use, booked a room for three people, that's three mobile phones that need charging ( could have unplugged the TV and had two plug sockets to use ) no breakfast, and a noisy bathroom extractor fan that for some reason every hour or so would start rattling and knocking like the motor was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chealy1979
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

I am sorry for any disappointment you felt during your stay with us at Days Inn Abington. We do not have a bar in our hotel so I do apologise if you have seen elsewhere that we do; if you have seen this on a third party website could you please email directly so I can have this removed. In...

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

After an amazing holiday with all our family, my own family made our way back home. We decided to stay overnight around Gretna, allowing for a rest before the final leg of our journey via ferry. We chose to stay in the Days Inn located just off the M74. On arrival, from the outside, the hotel, looked lovely and I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lynne S
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry for the poor experience you and your family had with us at Days Inn Gretna Gretna. Please can you copy your review and email me directly so I can look in to all of the issues you have raised, please can you include the name your booking was under and the date of arrival? Many thanks...

Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Have stayed here before so knew what to expect. The room was fairly clean most important the sheets were very white and crisp with the towels the same. Stayed in room 41 near reception, didn't have any noise or disturbance. If you think how much you pay to stay, don't look too close to the finer details of cleaning. Hairdryer,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Angela, thank you for your review. It is great to hear that Days Inn Gretna Green was a suitable stopover for you and hearing that you would return if you were ever in the area again is also very positive. We hope to see you again in the foreseeable future. Kind regards Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015

We booked x 3 twin rooms for a family wedding in gretna .Most of the other hotels were expensive as we wanted to stay 2 nights .We paid £114 per room for 2 nights . no breakfast but you have harry ramsdens burger king and shops in the service area right outside the hotel door . check in was quick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arnoldino
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review following your stay at Days Inn Gretna Green. It is extremely pleasing to hear that your stay with us exceeded your expectations leaving you with a memorable impression. Myself and the team are very grateful for you taking the time to share your review, we hope to welcome you back again in the near...

Carisbrooke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2015

All 5 of us were travelling (2 adults and 3 kids) which meant we needed two rooms. Despite booking week in advance and asking for the two rooms next to each other, on phoning shortly before we found out this was not possible. Family rooms and double rooms are in different areas of the hotel and there is no such...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sk15kev
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry for any disappointment you felt due to the rooms; as you have discovered we do not have adjoining rooms, if you have seen this on a third party website that we do, can you please email directly with where you have seen this so I can have this changed? I am...

Staines, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Great place to stop off on way to Highlands. Lovely clean room, big enough for 2 adults and 2 teens. Comfy beds, hot and powerful shower. Receptionist delightful. Nice touches - donated books and DVDs to buy for only 50p donation to Children in Need. Nearby services have good choice of food for hungry family - Harry Ramsden's, Papa John's,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JEK710
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it is very pleasing to hear such positive comments following your stay with us. Myself and team at Days Inn Gretna Green hope to welcome you back in the near future, Best wishes Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Terrific receptionist, very professional and polite, I never understand why these kind of places get bad reviews, they do as they say on the tin. Great value, deffo would stay again as we have in the past!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Martingreddy61
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It is extremely pleasing to hear such positive comments following your recent stay with us, leaving you with a long lasting impression for Days Inn Gretna Green. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Very helpful receptionist. Our booking was not on the system but she managed to sort this out and checked on the other booking with another days in later in the week. Room very clean and was just what we needed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jr19612015
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Firstly what a great achievement and for charity - amazing! I hope the rest of your trip went well. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, myself and the staff at Days Inn Gretna Green really appreciate it. Kind regards Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Reviewed 20 July 2015

Parking outside the door.excellent shopping dinning and fuel stones throw away.No stairs all on the ground floor.Dogs welcome at just £5 nightly.you could not wish for more.Peace and quiet too at hight

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luka P
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Days Inn Gretna Gretna Hotel, we strive to ensure our guests have the best stay possible so its great to hear that your your stay with us was enjoyable throughout. Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience, should you wish to stay again please contact 01461 337566 Kind regards Jamie-Leigh Rapp...

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
1.2 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
1.2 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
862 reviews
1.9 km away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
820 reviews
1.9 km away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
140 reviews
2.3 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Days Inn Gretna Green is close to the M74 and M6 motorways, and within easy reach of Carlisle. It has free Wi-Fi and free parking. Newcastle-upon-Tyne and County Durham are about 1 hour from the hotel. The famous wedding village of Gretna Green is close by. Tasteful en suite rooms and personal service make this convenient hotel an ideal place to break your journey. Each bedroom has a TV (with Freeview channels), a free hot drinks tray and newspaper, a hairdryer and a trouser press. All rooms have broadband Wi-Fi at an additional cost. Pets are permitted in the hotel. Please inform the hotel when you make your booking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Address: Junction 21/22, A74M Northbound | Welcome Break Services, Gretna Green DG16 5HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Price Range: $62 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Gretna Green M74 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Days Inn Gretna Green M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gretna Green m74 Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Days Inn
Days Inn Gretna Green M74 Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Days Inn Gretna Green M74 staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Days Inn Gretna Green M74 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room at the front of hotel and was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 753deniset, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Executive Room was a lovely size.”
 of 5 bubbles ElaineM894, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't do it!”
 of 5 bubbles RosieF480, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just don't. We had one of their luxury rooms...it was awful. Much better and cheaper hotels within Gretna and the surrounding areas.”
 of 5 bubbles NoeleenH_13, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We have been twice, both times heard no noise”
 of 5 bubbles 641PaulD, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay