We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

372 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Gretna Green M74
See the most recent reviews
Showing 363: English reviews
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2015

We normally stay here on our way south and usually everything is fine, we don't expect five star but we do expect a clean and tidy room. The standards have really dropped this time. We had an executive room as all the normal doubles were full. The bed wasn't made properly, obviously someone had struggled with the duvet cover and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 902janisa
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us compared to your previous visits at Days Inn Gretna Green. Please can you email me directly with your review, the date you stayed and also the name your booking was under so I can look in to the problems you encountered. Kind regards Jamie-Leigh...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2015

A little difficult to find but worth the hassle. The rooms were really large and very comfortable. The whole hotel and grounds are very very clean. The staff are fantastic, friendly and funny. They gave us a great tip for a restaurant nearby, it's somewhere the locals go, so you know it's good. Good value!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue M
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Sue, thank you for reviewing Days Inn Gretna Green. It is great to hear that you had a comfortable stay and overall pleasant experience with us. Myself and the team are very grateful for you taking the time to share your feedback so thank you, we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Best wishes Jamie-Leigh Rapp...

Driffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Booked a family room to break a journey up to Scotland. Room didn't look great when we arrived but thought it's only 1 night. When I pulled back the duvet the bed was full of mud and dog hairs, pretty obvious that the room had not been cleaned at all. We had to sit in reception for half an hour...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank foxholesfamily
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am extremely sorry for your poor experience you had with us at Days Inn Gretna Green. Please can you email me directly with your review, the date you stayed and also the name your booking was under so I can look in to issues you have raised. Kind regards Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Torshavn, Faroe Islands
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Finding the place was a little challenging, but I realized that I had stopped almost in front of it anyway. It could be a little better directions with signs, and with precise coordinates for navigation. The postcode isn't good enough here. It was an OK place to stay for a couple of nights. Bed was OK, and it seemed clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank okvalle
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your review for Days Inn Gretna Green, we appreciate all of our guests feedback so thank you for sharing yours in regards to the signage and breakfast. I do apologise that you were unable to have the continental breakfast, we do ask guests on arrival if they would like this so we can ensure that we have...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Today my family and I were unfortunate to be stranded at the Gretna services due to our car breaking down. We had already waited 2hrs for the first recovery man to come only to be told we had a further 1.5-2hr wait for a tow truck. As my children are 5 and 7 this wasn't ideal. We visited your hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank minilouise75
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your kind comments following your unfortunate event of breaking down at the services. I will be sure to pass this on to our team at Days Inn Gretna Green. Kindest regards Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here on my way to London, paid £50 for a room which had a double and single bed in it. Very very clean!! Comfortable beds, helpful staff, handy coffee making facilities!! Also for being so close to the motorway it's extremely quiet so had a fab night sleep!! Will definitely stay again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EllenHosk
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your review for Days Inn Gretna Green, it is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you would stay with us again in the future so thank you for sharing your feedback. Best wishes Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Be very wary of this place. The car park outside the hotel is apparently operated by a private firm with signs ...which we did not see...to tell you that you are only allowed two hours free parking. we received a notice of 100 pound fine a week after staying there. phoned hotel who were pretty unhelpful..although they did admit that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank doc-and-di
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for you review, all of our guests receive free parking so I am sorry to hear that you received a parking charge despite being a guest at Days Inn Gretna Green. I would be more than happy to have this cancelled if you could please email me directly with your parking charge reference number and the date you...

stonehaven
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

Arrived and payed for the most expensive room. It was disgusting and wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy. Didn't even stay asked for money back got no refund. This is terrible behaviour from a so called professional business. We stayed instead down the road 5 min at smiths hotel which was cheaper and 100x better and friendlier. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hendiinstoney
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Days Inn Gretna Green. If possible please can you email directly with the problems you encountered, the date you arrived and also the name your booking was under? Kind regards Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015

situated at the end of a 6 hour trip on the M6 when i had very little patience for anything the staff were great, very friendly and soothing. the place is clean and quiet, the "children in need" bookshelf was brilliant. and the spa bath in room 64 was superb, if a little loud. for a budget motel it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendyhippo
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at Days Inn Gretna Green. It is always pleasing to hear that our staff are doing such a great job in making guests feel welcome so thank you for sharing your review. Myself and the team hope to welcome you back again in the foreseeable future. Best wishes Jamie-Leigh...

Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015

BOG standard basic room. You get what you pay for at the end of the day. Ours had slight mould on the nets, but other than that the room was FAIRLY clean. It's a quiet location even though it's close to the motorway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarlUK1974
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Days Inn Gretna Green. I am pleased to hear that you were not disturbed by any traffic however in regards to the mould on the nets; please can you email me directly so I can ensure housekeeping take these down. Please can you include the name your booking was under and also the date of arrival?...

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
1.2 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
1.2 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
893 reviews
1.5 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
141 reviews
2.3 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
376 reviews
1.9 km away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Days Inn Gretna Green is close to the M74 and M6 motorways, and within easy reach of Carlisle. It has free Wi-Fi and free parking. Newcastle-upon-Tyne and County Durham are about 1 hour from the hotel. The famous wedding village of Gretna Green is close by. Tasteful en suite rooms and personal service make this convenient hotel an ideal place to break your journey. Each bedroom has a TV (with Freeview channels), a free hot drinks tray and newspaper, a hairdryer and a trouser press. All rooms have broadband Wi-Fi at an additional cost. Pets are permitted in the hotel. Please inform the hotel when you make your booking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Address: Junction 21/22, A74M Northbound | Welcome Break Services, Gretna Green DG16 5HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Price Range: $63 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Gretna Green M74 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Gretna Green M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gretna Green m74 Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Days Inn
Days Inn Gretna Green M74 Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Days Inn Gretna Green M74 staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Days Inn Gretna Green M74 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“our room had brilliant sound-proofing for being near a truck stop”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room at the front of hotel and was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 753deniset, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Executive Room was a lovely size.”
 of 5 bubbles ElaineM894, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't do it!”
 of 5 bubbles RosieF480, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just don't. We had one of their luxury rooms...it was awful. Much better and cheaper hotels within Gretna and the surrounding areas.”
 of 5 bubbles NoeleenH_13, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5