We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gretna Hall

Hotels.comUSD 90*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 93*
USD 90*
USD 93*
USD 93*
USD 90*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Gretna Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

905 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gretna Hall
See the most recent reviews
Showing 902: English reviews
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited for a wedding and found that all of the staff were lovely and the grounds were really nice too. The room was comfortable but a standard double is a little cramped, and ours was in need of a bit of dusting (not something we're terribly fussy about) - warm enough and included a few extra's which always go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anon_Opinion
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review, I am absolutely delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Gretna Hall! Your kind comments regarding our evening meals are greatly appreciated and have been shared with our hardworking chefs. As you mention in your review, we are hard at work renovating all aspects of the hotel. Once complete,...

Penzance
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed overnight, evening meal bed and breakfast. Room was fine except for the noise from the motorway, which was less than 100 yds away from our bedroom window (no double glazing). The evening meal was so bad all three courses were not edible. We were with a coach party of 56 and everyone had the same appalling meal. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine G
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review

Thank you Elaine for your review, I am disappointed to see you did not enjoy your recent stay with us at Gretna Hall. While it is rare, on this occasion we did fall below your normal standards. As you may have already seen, with the exception of the recent reviews from your coach party, the majority of our other customers...

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Lovely staff and had a lovely wedding here last weekend, we will be deffo going back on our wedding anniversary next year to see all the work they have done to the hotel, it's a lovely hotel dating back to 1710 , and the guys that have just purchased the old building are spending millions on it

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank garfy21
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, First and foremost, congratulation to you both on your recent wedding! I am delighted to see you enjoyed your Gretna Hall experience. As you point out in your review, we are hard at work renovating the hotel. I have no doubt that we will provide even higher standards of accommodation during your next visit. Kindest...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Over £14 for one pot of Earl Grey Tea (no extra hot water), one latte, 2 slim pieces of cheesecake decorated with a split strawberry and tiny piping of cream. I'm not faulting the tea, coffee or cake per se, I am just aghast at the price of it, served in a very shabby lounge that has seen far far...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scgirl102002
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to see you did not enjoy your recent visit to our Bar & Lounge. While I appreciate the bill might have come as a surprise, our prices are competitive with other providers within Gretna Green and are clearly displayed on our menus prior to ordering. As you may have seen during your...

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I was also with the party returning from The Highland Hotel , the food was totally inedible. After waiting approx 40 mins we were served white hard potatoes , warm turkey slices , 1 slice of carrot and almost raw parsnip , nothing else at all on the plate !!! My husband ordered fresh fruit salad and had chunks of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marmaduke_12
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to see you did not enjoy your recent stay with us at Gretna Hall. While it is rare, on this occasion we did fall below your normal standards. As you may have already seen, with the exception of the recent reviews from your coach party, the majority of our other customers often...

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here last night on a stopover on the way home with Lochs and Glens coach holidays-absolutely terrible end to a fabulous holiday. Waited 40 minutes for food-starter a rock hard piece of melon-prolonged wait for the coachload of guests to be served their main course one plate at a time. This consisted of a couple of pieces of processed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank netherlanddwarf
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to see you did not enjoy your recent stay with us at Gretna Hall. While it is rare, on this occasion we did fall below your normal standards. As you may have already seen, with the exception of the recent reviews from your coach party, the majority of our other customers often...

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on our way back from The Highland Hotel. We waited for over an hour for our main course to arrive, when it did the vegetables were hard and inedible. When a lot of our party complained no action or apology was forthcoming. Certainly not an hotel to recommend

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris P
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to see you did not enjoy your recent stay with us at Gretna Hall. While it is rare, on this occasion we did fall below your normal standards. As you may have already seen, with the exception of the recent reviews from your coach party, the majority of our other customers often...

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Absolutely love it here staff are fantastic as is the food well done keep up the good work . This is our 5th time staying we will definitely be back . Close to the Gretna gateway village and the train station.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret-ann D
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review

Thank you Margaret for your review, I am absolutely delighted to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Gretna Hall! Fingers crossed it won't be too long before we see you again. Kindest Regards Duncan

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Staff were lovely and attentive. Aneta was especially knowledgable as my mum has celiac and she had a lot of info on what food was gluten free. Dinner and breakfast were lovely! Hotel needs a bit of TLC but read that refurbishment is taking place. Hotel room was still very clean. Definitely need larger bath towels though!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rbaker92
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to see you enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel! Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and have been shared with our hardworking team, who are delighted to receive them (especially Aneta!). I hope to have an opportunity to personally welcome you back to Gretna Hall in the near future. Kindest Regards...

Nottingham
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Just arrived back from a Skills coach break to Settle - Carlisle railway, did the railway on the journey up onSaturday and stayed here overnight with dinner and breakfast included. Our room (102) was at the rear which meant some noise from the motorway and early morning birds, but it didn't stop us sleeping. The room was very nicely decorated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ratherbegolfing367
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am absolutely delighted to see you enjoyed your first visit to our hotel! I hope to have an opportunity to personally welcome you back to Gretna Hall in the near future. Kindest Regards Duncan

247 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (203)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.2 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
1.3 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
387 reviews
0.9 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
378 reviews
0.9 km away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
143 reviews
1.5 km away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gretna Hall Hotel is an ideal setting for your leisure break thanks to its great location, charm and character. Originally built in 1710 as a manor house, our hotel, set in 10 acres of beautiful gardens offers all the character of a substantial historical building with all the facilities you would expect from a leading contemporary hotel. We cater for weddings, family celebrations, business meetings and overnight stays and a very warm welcome awaits you at Gretna Hall Hotel whatever your reason for visiting us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gretna Hall

Address: Gretna Green | Dumfriesshire, Gretna Green DG16 5DY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Price Range: $102 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gretna Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gretna Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gretna Hall Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Hall Green
Gretna Hall Hotel Green
Gretna Hall Gretna Green, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gretna Hall staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
South Shields, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Gretna Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I found room 149 to be reasonably far from the disco noise if there is one taking place.”
H3518WPdavids, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Noticed the downstairs rooms have patio doors onto the grassed area, which looked great”
Q1059VCmichellen, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“keep away from rooms at the front train noise all through the night”
GuisboroughAgatha, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front will avoid the traffic noise.”
Ratherbegolfing367, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room to the front of the hotel to avoid road noise.”
jemmie, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 90* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 93
TravelocityUSD 90
TripAdvisorUSD 90
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates