We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Peebles Hydro

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Peebles Hydro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,686 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,671: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the Peebles Hydro last Thursday on our way up to Perth for a family party.what a lovely hotel,great views in fact stunning,friendly and helpful staff.We had our dog with us and we were given a great room on ground level with good access to the outside to take him out without ever taking him into the hotel.If... More 

Helpful?
Thank bassettavey
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Have not visited the Hydro for a few years - so looked forward to our two-night break. Staff were excellent - friendly and helpful. We had a refurbished room (side-facing) - which was not quite the front-facing one we were expecting - but it was nicely appointed and clean. It was slightly on the cool side, even with the radiator... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mazza932
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely Christmas decs on arrival. Staff efficient at the desk but not warm. Very little info, e.g. Where spa was, opening hours etc - had to ask on the phone. Little in-room info. Room v nice, obviously newly refurbished, with lovely views over Peebles to the hills. Not spacious but adequate. We had a deal for 2 nights with meal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brinylobster
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First time at Peebles Hydro although have stayed in the town on a number of occasions we were on a 5PM deal DB&B along with a bottle of Prosecco although deal was only £20 pp towards dinner, Nice old hotel with character, prompt check in (2pm) , large bedroom (just refurbished) with a 6ft 6 inch wide bed, separate area... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ianlivi
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My Partner and I stayed at this hotel on a Living Social Deal and had a lovely night away. We were checked in very efficiently and our room was beautiful. It was a newly refurbished room on the third floor at the front of the hotel with a superb view. Every aspect was of an excellent standard. We spent time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Room was barely even basic. Smallest single bed I have ever seen. Could see through gap in door into corridor. Questionable stains in bath tub. I had to open up the cistern and pull up ballcock to stop the toilet making a screeching noise. Window was open upon arrival so the room was freezing (0degrees outside) and the heating wasn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank John D
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

So sorry to hear of your disappointment John D, as yet none of our single bedrooms have been refurbished, so we can only apologise for this. We do hope this won't deter you from returning and we will be able to offer you a newly improved room next time. More 

Travellers are raving about these Peebles hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our 1st visit to the Peebles Hydro, 2 night stay, Restaurant was very nice for breakfast and dinner. The leisure club was good, modern gym equipment and also used the steam room and pool as well as the Jacuzzi. Overall very nice stay.

Helpful?
Thank PTB76BBT
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments PTB76BBT. We're so very pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay. We hope to welcome you back to The Hydro sometime very soon. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The public rooms have been beautifully renovated and the entrance was very impressive especially with the Christmas trees up the stairs. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. The reception staff were very welcoming. The hotel has a more family atmosphere and less corporate feel than some other hotels. I was staying with family and paid only £35 for... More 

Helpful?
Thank BoydElzbth
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us BoydElzbth. Work will continue to be carried out across the entire hotel and we hope when you return you will see more of our improvements. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I found the staff poorly trained and lacked direction.On our first night the head waiter recommended the sea bass which we ordered only to be told it was off.My wife ordered a chicken dish with no potatos but with extra veg.She received one spear of asparagus and one spear of broccoli.We were told that there was a shortage of vegetables.I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank johnrU3452QS
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback johnrU3452QS. So sorry to learn that you were disappointed in many areas. It's not clear if you had let our Management team know about these problems at the time, as they would have appreciated the opportunity to help resolve these for you. More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our first stay at this gorgeous Victorian Hydro hotel which is undergoing extensive improvement. Our room was modern, well furnished with a huge bed and a bath - an essential for me! The service from the staff is the best I've experienced for a long time, hats off to their training. Breakfast is great, lots of choice as there is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jinnie_G
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments Jinnie_G, great to learn that you had a lovely stay with us. We hope you will return in the near future when you can take advantage of our leisure faciltities. More 

463 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (453)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (236)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.9 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
0.6 km away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
347 reviews
7.2 km away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
679 reviews
0.7 km away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
177 reviews
1.0 km away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Peebles Hydro

Address: Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Price Range: $87 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peebles Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Peebles Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Peebles
Hydro Hotel Peebles
Peebles Hydro Hotel
Peebles Hydro Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peebles Hydro staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Peebles Hydro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front-facing rooms are best as the views here are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles Mazza932, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we had room 107 - Dual aspect great views across the Tweed and hills beyond”
 of 5 bubbles Ianlivi, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we had room 307 and it was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles margaretsT1507BA, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not sure. We had three separate rooms in two different parts of the hotel and they were all very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles BoydElzbth, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a front room above ground level”
 of 5 bubbles johnrU3452QS, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay