We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay Waverley Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

561 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 559: English reviews
Rye, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

On arriving to hotel and given keys to my room, inspecting the toilet it had strong coloured urine in it, cleaner came and bleached etc. later after after the evening entertainment back to room...more urine!!! reception lady couldn't be more apologetic cleaned the toilet etc, next morning nothing but later a big poo had arrived, apparently the pipes are back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mejulie007
KEIGHLEY
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just returned from a five day turkey and tinsel break organised by Shearings. The hotel is in need of an update in some areas mainly the hallways and staircases. Our room was adequate but had a ripped duvet cover on the bed. The room was clean but the bathroom could have done with a re grout. The bed was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara E
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Arrived at the hotel thinking this looks nice till I saw the room, wallpaper coming away from the walls and damp patches. Spoke to a member of staff she said thats not very nice for you but its the gutters that are blocked....emmm I am not paying for the gutters. breakfast was good but evening meal was usually not very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magsuk23
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear maghsuk23 Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us and we are very disappointed you were not happy with your room. I would advise that if you are unhappy with your accommodation that you check with reception as an alternative room could of been offered to you. As you will see from many other reviews...

south tyneside
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

You always get some moaning minnies with the cheap hotels! No, it's not luxury (what do you expect for £140 for 3 nights - and that included the coach travel?).I have stayed at a bay hotel before and I have to say my expectations weren't disappointed. Actually the bedroom was a bit nicer than I expected. We had a large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank silverfliflop
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear silverfliflop Thank you for you lovely review and we are so pleased you enjoyed yourself. One of our core values is to provide value for money and it's great to see that you found this. We hope to welcome you back to the Waverley Castle in the future Kind regards James

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Solo traveller (relatively young widow) on a National Holidays coach break. My heart sank when I saw that it was a Bay hotel (had a poor experience with them last year in another British location). Main problem is always the room - small, with one small plug in heater that was inadequate to heat the room (had to ask for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank S K
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear S K Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay and we are disappointed you were not happy with your accommodation. I would suggest that if you are not happy with the accommodation that you contact reception on arrival as we can sometimes offer an alternative subject to availability. We also can cater for Gluten Free...

Belper, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night to meet up with friends. The hotel public areas are good however the lift was broken & we had an allocated room on the top floor. My wife was unable to tackle the very steep stairs therefore we returned to reception to request a replacement room on a lower floor. There was some reluctance from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John C
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John C Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We do apologise the lift was not working - it has now been fixed and we are installing a new lift starting January 9th 2017! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future Kind regards James

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of those "it was grand once but isn't so much now type of places. Two stress the positives, it was spotlessly clean, the food was tasty if plain, the staff were very pleasant and it was very reasonably priced. We were the for a large car club meeting and it suited us just fine. For that, I'd go back....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Brollyman
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brollyman Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us. We take on board your comments with regards to the size of the bathroom however to expand this would take away from the size of the bedroom where the guest spends most of their time. As you stated the entertainment is very popular and we get...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived at the hotel far too early to book in, but I recently had an accident and I believe it was the general manager noticed I had a sling and went out of his way to get the first available room for my wife and myself. I couldn't thank him enough for this kind gesture. The restaurant staff, the young...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 685jackie
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 685jackie Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and we are delighted you enjoyed your break with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Waverley Castle in the near future Kind regards James

Heiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel in superb setting on outskirts of Melrose a very historic town. The staff are very attentive, efficient, polite and helpful and the food of a high standard. Hotel fabric and interior needs some TLC, but leaving that aside, we had a very comfortable stay and would happily return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rhymer2014
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rhymer2014 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. With regards the decor we are constantly carrying out works to improve this and take on board your comments. We hope to welcome you back in the future Kind regards James

Hull
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My room was fine nothing special as they look in brochures .The food was very good as was the entertainment There was a good variety of shows the only one that got a bit to near the mark was the gay guy who really took the rise out of people who was disabled and larger people if he needs to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lucylouHull
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lucylouHull Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I have spoken to James (ents) regarding your comments and he apologises if he has caused any offence but his routine is very much tongue in cheek and meant to be fun. As you will see from many positive comments on this site...

197 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
1.6 km away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
229 reviews
6.5 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
807 reviews
1.6 km away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
131 reviews
32.1 km away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
28.6 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The stately looking Waverley Castle Hotel, situated one mile outside the town of Melrose, is set splendidly in five acres of rolling parkland at the heart of the Scottish Borders. Nestling between the River Tweed and the Eildon Hills, it is a stunning building boasting stunning views. Guests can happily relax in the Eildon Restaurant and enjoy outstanding views out over the Eildon Hills. After dinner you can continue your evening in the welcoming bar and ballroom where you can dance the night away to our excellent evening entertainment. The area is perfect for those who like to get out and explore. There are several sightseeing walks to enjoy nearby including one along the River Tweed. Historical Edinburgh is easily accessible by car for a day trip and is well worth a visit for the castle, shops, architecture and much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Waverley Castle Hotel

Address: Waverley Road | Waverley Road, Melrose TD6 9AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Price Range: $132 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Waverley Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Bay Waverley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Castle Hotel
Waverley Castle Melrose
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel Melrose, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Waverley Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Lee, United Kingdom
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Waverley Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for top floor when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles mejulie007, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“avoid room 212 its horrendous”
 of 5 bubbles magsuk23, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Probably no good rooms for single travellers”
 of 5 bubbles SK826, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask to see it first if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles paymonger, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I think that all rooms have been upgraded.”
 of 5 bubbles LivingstonSue, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay