We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Horse and Hound Country Inn

Save
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (1)
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good32%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“steam shower”(7 reviews)
“the pub”(14 reviews)
“new chef”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
97
69
21
10
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
97
69
21
10
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam showerthe pubnew chefthe owneritison vouchertwo night staywell worth a visitborder townsgreat weekenden routeweekend breaklounge areaenjoyable staycomfy bednice rooman evening mealstayed one night
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 214 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Came here for dinner very recently just passing by in the borders and was very impressed.A couple have taken over the pub just recently and have both come from Famous Cooking courses.They were both very friendly and the staff were polite. The food itself was...More

Thank Harold12312
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pub recently taken over by a young couple. We live locally and have been in for food a couple of times recently (and regularly for drinks). Thursday night Pizzas are excellent! We also had a very good steak here. I like my steak rare and...More

5  Thank crazeemaz
Response from Daniel C, Owner at The Horse and Hound Country InnResponded 2 days ago

Hi crazeemaz Thank you for your feedback, so glad to hear that you enjoyed the local heritage beef steak with hand-cut chips, sauteed mushrooms, salad & béarnaise sauce. Hope you get the chance to come back and enjoy our new menu All the best, Daniel

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Can't begin to tell you how disappointed we were with the meals at this place. My partner had some sort of fish in a small shallow shell with few green leaves priced at £9.50. I had roast lamb and mash plus a few veg more...More

1  Thank heatherO56
Response from Daniel C, Owner at The Horse and Hound Country InnResponded 2 days ago

Hi heatherO56 Thank you for your feedback, very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing visit, my Wife & I have just taken over ownership of The Horse and Hound Country Inn a few weeks ago and hope you get the chance to come...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived on Saturday for a two night break. We had to wait to be shown to our room. Funny sulphur smell about the place. Once in our room we decided to watch the boat race downstairs on the TV. Had to wait at least 1/4...More

5  Thank ronni2018
Response from Daniel C, Owner at The Horse and Hound Country InnResponded 2 days ago

Hi ronni2018 Thank you for your feedback, we are very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay, my Wife & I have just taken over ownership of The Horse and Hound Country Inn a few weeks ago, but unfortunately were away while you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sandwiches appeared to have been made up days earlier, many were dried up bread. Filling was lacking and unimaginative, lettuce in the filling was on the turn, they could never be sold from a sandwich outlet and get repeat business, and who eats very thinly...More

1  Thank wai-ai-man
Response from Daniel C, Owner at The Horse and Hound Country InnResponded 2 days ago

Hi wai-ai-man Thank you for your feedback, my Wife & I have just taken over ownership of The Horse and Hound Country Inn a few weeks ago and hope you get the chance to come back and enjoy our new menu. All the best, Daniel

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 70 - USD 106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 70 - USD 106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Neil H
2 June 2015|
Answer
Response from irene e | Property representative |
Hi.we no longer own the horse and hound, the new owners are Kathryn and Martin. There isn't a family room as such but if you ask for rooms 1 and 2 they are together but apart from the other rooms. I hope this is of help to... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Very friendly pub."
Read review
"Didn't use accommodation"
Read review
"Don’t go there"
Read review
"Bedrooom we stayed in was up stairs, not suitable for disabled but food is excellent and worth a visit"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing