We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Elm Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Elm Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 111: English reviews
Start your review of Elm Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I have stayed here a few times and it is good value for money. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy. It's dog friendly and the staff are helpful. A full breakfast is included and parking is more than adequate. There is a nice Indian across the road. The double rooms inside are really nice with coffee machines...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey M
Droitwich Spa, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival you may need to call a telephone number, but thats not an issue as the guy is extremely helpful and directions to the car park are easy to follow. A real bonus is the presence of a rather good Wetherspoon at the rear of the Hotel. Our double room was fine and breakfast was a lovely start to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
north scotland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Door locked so had to call a telephone number then told to go round the back. However after that things started to look up. Pleasant welcome and room was in annexe but upgraded from single to double at no extra cost. Clean and comfortable and peaceful round the back. Own door to come and go as I pleased. Everything was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlene518
Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

hotel in center of town .only stayed one night had a room for three adults two singles and a double bed .Got a top floor room .small twisting stair .bathroom could do with renovation very small knees hit vanity unit when you sit down on toilet . ..bit expensive 150£ and was up early so did not have breakfast .so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug694
Long Buckby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017

First impression wasn't good but don't be put off! This is now run as a B&B and not a hotel so it is generally locked as was the case when I arrived. However once inside, the room was a really good size with a very comfortable bed, decent shower and proved to very quiet. The Breakfast was amazing, great choices,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandyHd
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Only there for one night but very comfortable stay.Good comfortable bed, night porter very helpful .Breakfast lovely , very accommodating in that we needed breakfast half hour earlier than usual time they started .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sweetcountrybumpkin1
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Elm house hotel as part of a trip around Scotland and to see where my wife's family were from. The staff were extremely friendly & the hotel was very clean. Unfortunately however, the bedroom was tired & bathroom was in much need of an update!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
Surrey
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Elm House Hotel ( or perhaps more accurately B&B) is located between two streets at one end of Hawick town centre. The car park entrance is on the opposite side to the main entrance so a negotiation of the one way system is needed to go from one side to the other. There's about 10 spaces for 16 rooms so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Albermarle
Stephen M, Manager at Elm Guest House, responded to this review

We like to thank you for your review. We do have few points of your review that we like to respond too. Our car park is indeed to the rear of the hotel but there is no one way street to negotiate as it is indeed a two way street to the rear of the building and the one way...

Wallingford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Elm House fitted us in as a last minute booking, but I wish we had gone elsewhere. The only good thing about it was the bed. The decor is badly in need of refreshing, and the breakfast was about the worst I've ever had in a hotel. We were faced with a bowl of tinned grapefruit, some generic cereals in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaureenB897
bournemouth
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Love this hotel, we have stayed in another very nice hotel Hawick just down the road, and for this trip thought we would try the Elm. We were so impressed we have booked to stay there again in February next year. Staff are really friendly but not too in your face, which is what we like. Rooms are lovely with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VICKY374

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawick
1.6 km away
Mansfield House Hotel
8.6 km away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
1.2 km away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Hawick
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 km away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
140 reviews
0.5 km away
Wiltonburn Farm
Wiltonburn Farm
#4 of 8 in Hawick
20 reviews
0.4 km away
The Bank Guest House
The Bank Guest House
#2 of 20 in Hawick
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Elm House Hotel is in old area of Hawick the hotel is family run by Stephen, Lynn and family. The Elm serves coffee in mornings in our new refurbished bar. We have 8 Annex rooms which are budget rooms starting at £ 50.00 Per person which is good for workers, walkers and cyclists. In main hotel we have 8 rooms done to a high standard starting from £65.00 Per person inc breakfast. We can cater for bus runs for tea and coffee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elm Guest House

Address: 17 North Bridge Street, Hawick TD9 9BD, Scotland (Formerly Elm House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Hawick
Price Range: $112 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elm Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Guest House Hawick, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elm Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Elm Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Awkward entrance round the back but annexe is comfortable and quiet.”
charlene518, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“plan ahead-book ahead-probably a popular location”
NICHOLASGILROY, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“room had very high ceiling”
GuysieH, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“get one of the rooms in the proper hotel building, not out back”
deacondawn, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't pick room 12 unless you have mobility issues and need a ground floor room”
yvonnem21463, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5