We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ranald Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Ranald Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

778 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Ranald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 737: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 August 2016

While the rooms were comfortable, our view of a rock wall was not exactly inspiring. The service at breakfast was quite poor with all breakfasts including cheese. Because I'm allergic to cheese, milk and cream, they really were very unhelpful in helping me find an alternative. The final product - scrambled eggs was quite unpleasant and showed a complete inability...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T3324ZCsarahw
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'm sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay with us! We take all comments seriously and I'm apologise as you did not receive the service we aim to provide during breakfast. We do offer a few options on our menu without cheese therefore there should have been more options available to you...

London
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Had booked through booking.com and ended up with a double not a twin. Wasn't sure if that was my mistake or the website's but the receptionist cheerfully swapped it round to make two singles and wouldn't accept any help. The room and bathroom were compact but had everything you need including coffee making facilities. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emm C
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review! I'm pleased you had a wonderful stay with us and we were able to swap your room for you! I'll pass on your comments to our team! Thanks again, we hope you do return!

Scotland
Reviewed 11 August 2016

This is our second visit to The Ranald Hotel in Oban this year where we have throughly enjoyed ourselves once again and have visited the hotel several times since it opened, Staff as always only to pleased to help from the moment you check in till the moment you check out, and have always found the hotel to be of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobSco
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We love to hear so many positive comments! I'll be sure to pass this onto our staff members. I'm glad you enjoyed your second stay with us. We do hope you will visit us again soon!

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The Ranald is a small and modern hotell in Oban. The service in the reception/bar was pleasant. The room was large and modern. The bathroom was clean and nice. Our room faced at the back of the hotell, so it's quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 9 August 2016

Room modern and well presented. Room & Bathroom quite small. Staff ranged from unhelpful to average. Building had about 6(?) storeys and no lift, access: uncomfortable. Probably not much good for anyone with mobility issues unless they have special provision I'm unaware of.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We only have 3 stories here at The Ranald as a small 17 bedroom hotel. Staff are always available to help with luggage. We do state on all marketing material we do not have a lift in the hotel and offer ground floor rooms if needed.

Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I found this hotel after being booked at another hotel by our travel tour, which we had found to be unacceptable. For the price, this is a great little hotel. The room and beds were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very nice, and the staff were kind and pleasant, as well as extremely supportive and patient as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debra D
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff will love to hear your comments, I'll be sure to pass them on! We hope you can return to stay with us and enjoy a visit to Oban again soon! Thanks again.

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We recently stayed for two nights in two rooms. Firstly the good points, the rooms were large and the beds were good and thats it.The showers were small and the grouting between the tiles was black in both rooms,when you operate the shower the shower tray filled up and we had to turn off the shower so the bathroom did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelajevans
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. I would like to apologise for you not enjoying your stay with us. We take all feedback on board and are always looking to improve. Firstly I would like to point out that we state on all marketing materials that we do not have a lift in the hotel....

Jonestown, Texas
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location (although not directly on the bay) and is within walking distance of pretty much anything in town. Free parking nearby, which is great. A smaller hotel but it's nice, for the most part. The only issues we had was the bed was super hard, almost uncomfortably so. And the carpet in our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hollaleigh
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast with us, the baked eggs are so yummy! I do apologise for you not having a comfortable sleep, our beds are usually a strong point! As for the carpets, they will all be undergoing a deep clean process shortly. Thanks again, we...

Florida
Reviewed 30 July 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and sadly it was a bit of a fiasco. I was there with 6 people, 2 in each room. In our room (I think it was 204) we discovered the shower did not drain, the phone did not work and the light above the TV was falling out of the socket. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelissafromFlorida
Rosyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Stayed here for two nights, members of my party had rooms on the ground, 2nd and 3rd floors. Staff very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately hotel had no wifi due to (I believe) issues outwith their control, this meant there was a little bit of chaos at check in as they could not access their usual booking system. However, staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RemyLB
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Ranald Hotel. I'm so sorry for the confusion, as with most places these days when the internet stops working we're left with no certain alternative. Thank you for alerting us to the issues with the low wardrobe in our disabled access room, we will definitely look into this! I'm glad you...

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (123)
Viewed
Double Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
406 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
1.0 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
426 reviews
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
905 reviews
0.4 km away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $146 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ranald Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
scotland
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
New York City, New York
over a year ago
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Ranald Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at rear of hotel would be quieter. No parking. Excellent location for town centre.”
GrahamN968, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the front of the hotel”
MaemiG, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“This is a smart modern boutique hotel, so don't expect the grandeur of the Ritz.”
MaryfromEdinburgh, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Grand plus has a seating area.”
kjsss, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't do it shop around”
Scottyshe, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5