We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ranald Hotel

Save
Traveller (119)
Room & Suite (117)
Dining (29)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Membership_Interstitial_for_Hotel_Review_Returners
We can monitor prices for you!
Sign up to receive alerts.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good31%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“baked eggs”(229 reviews)
“no lift”(87 reviews)
“compact room”(19 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
Pool
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (868)
There are newer reviews for The Ranald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveller rating
441
248
89
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
441
248
89
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaked eggsno liftcompact roommetro hotelgrand roommodern hotelgreat wee hotelpower showerthird floorferry terminalcentral locationbreakfast roomsmoked salmongreat showerhaggisstreet parkingcomfortable bed
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
71 - 75 of 813 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

We loved our two night stay here. The breakfast was great in the morning and the room was very clean. It's a very convenient location and we'll likely return once we head back to Oban! The street outside our room was a bit noisy at...More

Thank cchassaigne
Response from Siobhan R, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and are considering returning again. I understand there can sometimes be some street noise which is annoying but you can request one of our back...More

Reviewed 17 May 2017

We stayed one night at the end of April before travelling to Iona , then returned for a night on our way back. Able to get the same room (#2) which was on the first floor with window to the rocky hill behind. (No steps...More

Thank Elizabeth M
Response from Siobhan R, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our compact rooms are very cosy but we feel it is the perfect size for a quick visit before travelling further. I will be...More

Reviewed 16 May 2017

We were recently in the UK and stayed at The Ranald Hotel in Oban, Scotland. What a wonderful surprise after being in hotels in England that were just okay. The room was cozy, well-appointed, and spotless. Though our room faced the street, it was not...More

Thank Jennifer G
Response from Siobhan R, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Ranald Hotel. It is great to read such positive comments and i am so pleased you enjoyed our fresh breakfast selection. I will be sure to pass these comments on to our breakfast chef. Thanks again!

Reviewed 6 May 2017

The room we had was clean ,comfortable ,nicely furnished. 2nd floor, no lift otherwise this hotel is good. centrally located near all the transport links breakfast was fine, selection cereals,fresh fruit ,yogurts,orange juice.tea coffee.More

Thank william p
Response from Siobhan R, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. As you stated we unfortunately do not have a lift however our friendly staff are always on hand to help with luggage. I hope you have a...More

Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

The staff and facility were top notch. Staff was helpful in suggesting local activities. Rooms were good sized and furnished nicely. The included breakfast had great variety and their baked egg was great.

Thank Life4Living22
Response from Siobhan R, Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our baked eggs. I will be sure to pass your lovely comments onto the rest of the staff. Thanks again.

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Oban, United Kingdom
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 123 - USD 265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 123 - USD 265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (119)
Room & Suite (117)
Dining (29)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
setterboy
19 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Nicola M | Property representative |
Unfortunately we don't allow pets in the hotel. However we can allow assistance dogs.
1
Vote
Michelle934
19 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Maureen B | Reviewed this property |
In the room we had there was no dressing table but there was a large mirror on the wall
0
Votes
scchisolm
25 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Steven S | Reviewed this property |
Believe not, so bring your own
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Request a lower room in writing if you have mobility / health problems"
Read review
"Any room at the front of the hotel"
Read review
"If you want a view don’t take ground floor but please not there is no lift if you have a lot of luggage to..."
Read review
"Room 317, 3rd floor, nice & quiet."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing