We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Ranald Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 12 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Ranald Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

755 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Ranald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 714: English reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Amazing Hotel same room as last time so was lovely to have memories from our honey moon. Staff were accomidating pleasent and helpfull. Advised me on what i could eat as im pregnant and they were just as nice as last year . We will keep coming here every year for our anniversary . My husband had the baked eggs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anni M
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. I'm so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate all feedback from our guests. I will be sure to pass these wonderful comments onto our team! We look forward to welcoming you back with us next year! Thanks again.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Me & my partner stayed @ The Ranald 28th & 29th Oct for a weekend break in Oban. The hotel is very central. Walking distance from the bus, train & ferries. I didn't have a car so I'm not sure about parking but there didn't look to be very much. We had a lovely stay, Staff were friendly, rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsphillips56
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass these comments on to our team! I do hope you can return in future, thanks again

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed there for two nights , had a very comfortable room which was spotlessly clean . Breakfast in the morning was excellent , the fresh fruit salad was superb and the baked eggs were very tasty . The staff were very friendly and helpful , they carried our cases up the stair as there is no lift but there are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gloria g
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass these comments on to our team! I do hope you can return in future, thanks again

Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Nice small hotel. Staff very friendly. The hotel although small it's very clean and modern and comforts.It is situated in the center near bus and train station but in a quiet side location. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise although continental it had a choice of hot food and cold meats,fresh fruit salads etc. excellent. Defiantly go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass these comments on to our team! I do hope you can return in future, thanks again

Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Small, friendly hotel. Room had no view at all, we were at the rear of the property and looked onto rock face. Feel that the carpet,in the room could have been doing with some attention from a Hoover. Bathroom was clean but not spotless. Nice breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank luvaholidayScotland
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass these comments on to our team. I'm sorry you felt the room was not clean. We are undergoing full deep cleans after...

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Just back from a weekend stay at The Ranald and cannot fault the hotel! It was fab...beautiful hotel room was spacious and clean, staff were lovely and helpful and the breakfast was great with plenty choice. Definitely will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass these comments on to our team! I do hope you can return in future, thanks again.

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Excellent place to stay, friendly staff, great room & comfy bed. Parking not the best, can be bit expensive, but found an all day 1 nearby. breakfast is different, but enjoyable would definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19aquarius51
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass these comments on to our team! I do hope you can return in future, thanks again.

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

This is a tough review for me. We stayed here a few years ago and we were very happy with the hotel for the price we paid. At that time it felt clean and offered basic amenities in an excellent location. This time we ran into a few things that need to be improved. First, I'd like to say the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MauiDude82
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I'm disappointed to hear your comments, I can only apologise you felt it was not up to standard this time. I'm pleased we could find a solution for you on the second night of your stay...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

I'm afraid the description of The Ranald on its website does not match the rather grim reality. The hotel is very basic; beds were uncomfortable and the decor very ordinary. However, the staff were delightful, and the location is good.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank prolegomena22
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I'm sorry to hear you didn't fully enjoy your stay with us. The beds are provided by hotel bed specialists who also cater for a number of 5* hotels around the UK, I'm sorry you felt...

Kitty Hawk
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

We slept great here. The beds are all doubles but very comfy. The room we had was tight but had everything we needed. Breakfast had very fresh fruit and croissants; wonderful, French Pressed coffee; and the most lovely egg soufflé. Staff were friendly. I think for the price, it was brilliant. Really enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belizeinit
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to hear how well you slept with us and how enjoyable our breakfast was. I do hope you can return in future, thanks again.

258 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (123)
Viewed
Double Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.0 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Oban
1,596 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.3 km away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 12 in Oban
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
414 reviews
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 12 in Oban
843 reviews
0.6 km away
Bay Great Western Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $112 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ranald Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
scotland
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
New York City, New York
over a year ago
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Ranald Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get in early for Breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles Matty1977, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Inquire about room sizes in advance”
 of 5 bubbles 776SteveS, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the second floor and we did not hear street noise”
 of 5 bubbles 542jessv, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a compact room, but it was very comfortable for a base”
 of 5 bubbles amandamoore15, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ground floor room g2 was situated at the rear of the hotel and was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Lornandstu, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay