We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Ranald Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 12 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Ranald Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

749 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Ranald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 709: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Just back from a weekend stay at The Ranald and cannot fault the hotel! It was fab...beautiful hotel room was spacious and clean, staff were lovely and helpful and the breakfast was great with plenty choice. Definitely will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Amy G
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass these comments on to our team! I do hope you can return in future, thanks again. More 

Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Excellent place to stay, friendly staff, great room & comfy bed. Parking not the best, can be bit expensive, but found an all day 1 nearby. breakfast is different, but enjoyable would definitely stay again

Helpful?
Thank 19aquarius51
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass these comments on to our team! I do hope you can return in future, thanks again. More 

Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

This is a tough review for me. We stayed here a few years ago and we were very happy with the hotel for the price we paid. At that time it felt clean and offered basic amenities in an excellent location. This time we ran into a few things that need to be improved. First, I'd like to say the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MauiDude82
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I'm disappointed to hear your comments, I can only apologise you felt it was not up to standard this time. I'm pleased we could find a solution for you on the second night of your stay... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

I'm afraid the description of The Ranald on its website does not match the rather grim reality. The hotel is very basic; beds were uncomfortable and the decor very ordinary. However, the staff were delightful, and the location is good.

Helpful?
2 Thank prolegomena22
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I'm sorry to hear you didn't fully enjoy your stay with us. The beds are provided by hotel bed specialists who also cater for a number of 5* hotels around the UK, I'm sorry you felt... More 

Kitty Hawk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

We slept great here. The beds are all doubles but very comfy. The room we had was tight but had everything we needed. Breakfast had very fresh fruit and croissants; wonderful, French Pressed coffee; and the most lovely egg soufflé. Staff were friendly. I think for the price, it was brilliant. Really enjoyed our stay.

Helpful?
Thank Belizeinit
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to hear how well you slept with us and how enjoyable our breakfast was. I do hope you can return in future, thanks again. More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The Ranald is just behind the promenade in Oban. It seems to be a contemporary modern establishment, which is fine. Our room was on the top floor and there's no lift the staff will bring bags up for you which is good as I'm 57 and my friend is 62!! the rooms we had was very nice, didn't have a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do not serve a full scottish breakfast, however with our limited kitchen space we try our best to provide as many cooked items as possible. I do... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Based on previous reviews, I guess I expected something cool and nicely decorated. I was pretty disappointed. The restaurant / reception room in the front of the hotel was very cute, but the rest of the hotel kind of felt like a hostel. It was not really all that clean, and many of the walls were made out of cinderblock.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret R
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald hotel. I'm sorry you felt disappointed by the hotels decor and the rooms were not clean enough. Our staff would have been more than happy to assist your needs had you voiced them while staying with us. I'm happy to hear your comments regarding our staff members, I'll be sure... More 

Chico, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel was a disaster from the moment we set foot in the door. We arrived half an hour before check-in and found the elevator and public bathroom nonfunctional and no rooms yet available. We returned a couple hours later to check in and found the previous occupant of our room had been a very heavy smoker. The reception clerk... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Laura57279
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. I offer my apologies for the smell of smoke in your room. We have had the room fully deep cleaned and we are continually deep cleaning all fabric in the room as smoke can linger for a while. In that situation, our receptionist did try his best to air... More 

Portree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Loved my stay in the Ranald. Rooms were clean & modern, mine was slightly on the small side but they might not all be like that. At breakfast I had their specialty baked eggs which were fab. Service was great & Id stay here again. The only issue is there is no car park.

Helpful?
Thank Ashash4
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Please don't hesitate to book with us again. I will pass these comments onto our team. Thanks again. More 

Intervale
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016

The hotel is right downtown and easy walking distance to the shops and piers, and the Oban Distillery. Room was nice and clean and new. There is no elevator, but we were on the second floor so that was no problem

Helpful?
Thank cmoreskier
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. I'm glad your enjoyed your stay with us! I will pass these comments onto our team. Thanks again. More 

258 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (123)
Viewed
Double Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 12 in Oban
384 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
1.0 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Oban
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
414 reviews
0.4 km away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 12 in Oban
964 reviews
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 12 in Oban
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $116 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ranald Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
scotland
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
New York City, New York
over a year ago
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Ranald Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was on the second floor and we did not hear street noise”
 of 5 bubbles 542jessv, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a compact room, but it was very comfortable for a base”
 of 5 bubbles amandamoore15, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ground floor room g2 was situated at the rear of the hotel and was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Lornandstu, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is no lift, so ask for a lower room if this is a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles IanW_31, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“it is on deals”
 of 5 bubbles 261annim, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay