We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Palace Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Palace Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 105: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2014

A lot of the reviews on here seem to ignore the price they are paying when they review. We had a room here, the price was cheap, we had just dropped in as we had no reservations anywhere and the lady on the reception was both friendly and helpful. The room is basic and a little tired, but the location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UrbanGorilla
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. This room is due for renovation and we hope that you will find it has improved for the next time that you are here. You are correct that the 22" tv has only the free television channels. However the large screen tv in the lounge has even more channels.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2014

Stayed here for one night recently. Our hosts were very friendly and welcoming. We were pleasantly surprised with the room which was more up to date than the rest of the hotel and had everything we needed. Dining and lounge areas were a little tired (and had strong smell of fried food) but overall a pleasant place to lay your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ejm1170
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to start renovations to the areas you mention shortly. The special offer on our fresh fish with chips was more popular than we had anticipated and apologize for the smell of all the cooking. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Peel, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2014

This hotel is perfectly adequate for a couple of nights stay. The breakfasts were superb and the whole stay enjoyable. This is not a boutique hotel or anything fancy at all. The rooms are rather tired BUT the view over the harbour was superb and the price.....well, only a half of what others were charging.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianElliott1
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. we are constantly repairing and improving the hotel and try to do so whilst limiting disruption to guests we hope that you will wind these changes to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again.

Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Was looking for a cheap hotel in Oban at short notice phoned the Palace hotel was given a double room en-suite for £50 ( could have had one with a sea view but that was £70). Arrived a couple of hours later to be met by a very friendly owner and her granddaughter who checked us in. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jan c
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We try and offer clean comfortable accommodation in our home. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Nottingham
Reviewed 10 September 2014

As others have stated the Hotel is a narrow building on the sea front in bustling Oban. Parking is possible on a meter outside if you are very lucky but generally using an off road car park some five minute walk away is required As my wife had difficulty with stairs I had requested via Booking .com a room on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank macca1191
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. Firstly we would like to apologize that we were unaware that you required a lower room as this did not come through on the booking form to ourselves. We have tried to replicate the luxury of our recently refurbished king size room in this smaller more affordable double. Along with...

uttoxeter
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Where to start... The hotel is in a great place, right on the front with a great view BUT... the room was very poor. There was a catalogue of issues. The double bed was so hard I couldn't sleep, the other bed squeaked, the sash windows rattle in the wind and let the cold air in and this then makes...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank clare h
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay was not as enjoyable as you would have hoped for. We try where ever possible to let the guest choose the room that is most suitable for their needs and budget. The room in question is due for renovation and was offered at a significant discount due to this. We have a couple of recently...

Newark, California
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We paid for a night here so I feel entitled to review it, even though we didn't actually spend more than 40 minutes on the property. The location is nice near the water and bustle of Oban. The hotel itself is a faded beauty, though. Squishy carpeted floors led to a room that has been unloved for decades. Desperately outdated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dstormyt
ManagerOban, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. Our twin rooms are as shown on our website and we do state that they are compact. We have wifi routers on every floor and usb modems in every bedroom in addition the the internet in the public areas. The bedding is new and regularly replaced. The appliances with the...

Mwanza Region, Tanzania
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

There is nothing essentially wrong with this hotel, but you need to be aware of its limitations. It is an old narrow building and does not have many modern features. Our room was on the top (4th) floor and there is no lift. Believe me, even if you are fit the stairs will tire you after a couple of ascents....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shedheadabroad
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. We are a small family run hotel and each of the rooms in this 100 year old building are of different shapes and sizes. We try and remain competitively priced for the area for peak season. We have a couple of rooms that have had major refurbishments and more expensive....

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed here as part of my tour of Scotland. The hotel is right on the harbour and has amazing views. The rooms are clean and not as noisy as expected being in the middle of town. The hotel needs some attention but nothing too drastic. There is an interesting Lounge area that has TV and games consoles, although looked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bruce S
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would say that you have hit the nail on the head as the owners live in the building and we have tried to create a guest lounge that feels more like a home from home for our visitors however with the wonderful scenery we find that it is mainly...

new jersey
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Palace Hotel is a very nice place to stay for a short trip to Oban. Nothing fancy. The room we stayed in was clean (and cleaned daily), a bit cramped but tucking luggage into corners is really no big deal. The bathroom was large, provided toiletries, and had a towel warmer. The water pressure wasn't the greatest but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rndbrm
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 12 in Oban
857 reviews
0.0 km away
Kings Arms Holiday Apartments
0.2 km away
Invercloy Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Maridon Guest House
Maridon Guest House
#44 of 98 in Oban
85 reviews
0.2 km away
McCaig's Return Hotel & Bar
0.7 km away
Don Muir Guest House
Don Muir Guest House
#22 of 98 in Oban
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Palace Hotel is a small family run hotel with traditional decor.It is a purpose built hotel dating from around 1905. Where ever possible be have tried to retain the original features of the building.There is a feature staircase and unfortunately no lift. The bar/dining room and reception are on the first floor while most of the guest accommodation is on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors.located in the centre of Oban overlooking Oban Bay. We offer a choice of rooms from a small single to a family room for 2 adults and 2 children. The recently added lounge bar offers stunning views over Oban bay. Light meals are available and booking is required for dinner. Wifi available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: 20 George Street, Oban PA34 5SB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $78 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Palace Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Nottingham, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Palace Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles floraj303, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Surcharge for a room with a sea view - which actually meant located on Main Street so very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 560sheilav, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors, less steps!”
 of 5 bubbles SnowDreamers, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles FBMargyll, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Clean but decor could be improved.”
 of 5 bubbles kennyd0, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5