We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Backpackers Plus

    The Old Church | Breadalbane St, Oban PA34 5PH, Scotland
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (41)
          Room & Suite (15)
          Dining (3)
          Corran House
          376 reviews
          #17 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
           
          Oban Youth Hostel
          151 reviews
          #3 of 19 Speciality lodging in Oban
           
          Best Western The Queens Hotel
          886 reviews
          #3 of 13 hotels in Oban
           
          The Ranald Hotel
          792 reviews
          #2 of 13 hotels in Oban
           
          Overview
          • Excellent68%
          • Very good23%
          • Average7%
          • Poor1%
          • Terrible1%
          Travellers talk about
          “common room” (17 reviews)
          “old church” (9 reviews)
          “sky room” (7 reviews)
          Free Wifi
          Breakfast included
          Non-Smoking Hotel
          Family Rooms
          Laundry Service
          Free Parking
          Pool
          Restaurant
          All hotel details
          Corran House
          376 reviews
          #17 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
           
          Oban Youth Hostel
          151 reviews
          #3 of 19 Speciality lodging in Oban
           
          Best Western The Queens Hotel
          886 reviews
          #3 of 13 hotels in Oban
           
          The Ranald Hotel
          792 reviews
          #2 of 13 hotels in Oban
           
          {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (194)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 194 reviews

          Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

          3 nights here in mid-June with my boyfriend. We had a privste double room with shared kitchen and bathroom facilities. It was perfect, really homely and cosy. All the thoughtful little touches really make the place stand out; the free breakfast is a great idea...More

          Thank Imogen M
          Response from BackpackersPlus, Owner at Backpackers PlusResponded 3 days ago

          Thank you very much for your kind review. We always love to have guests who enjoy staying here and that makes things good for the staff as well. We hope to see you back here soon.

          Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

          First came here in 2013 for 1 night on a coach tour and we'd agreed that we wanted to come back. We booked a family room with shared bathroom and counted down the days. When we arrived we'd been upgraded to an ensuite room in...More

          Thank deborahadams24
          Response from BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers PlusResponded 2 weeks ago

          Thanks for your review Mrs Adams! We are glad you enjoyed your staying so much. We hope to see you again soon!

          Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

          My friend and I stayed a night before going to Mull, but liked it so much we went back for another night afterwards. It was clean and affordable, but it was by far the nicest in terms of welcoming lounge /kitchen area. Very clean, fun...More

          Thank daniellehefer
          Response from BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers PlusResponded 3 weeks ago

          Hi Danielle! Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are always traing our best and we know that sometimes can be a bit tricky travelling here in Scotland. It is nice to find someone willing to help you out and enjoying the process,...More

          Reviewed 4 weeks ago

          This was the worst stop of our 2 weeks trip to Scotland. My girlfriend and I had booked a private room with ensuite for 2 nights. We both stayed at hostels in different countries before and our expectations were simple: basic but clean. I guess...More

          Thank mthib098
          Response from BackpackersPlus, Owner at Backpackers PlusResponded 3 weeks ago

          Thank you very much for your review, even though it is the worst review we have ever had! We are very sorry and apologise that you had such a bad time - it is not what we want for our guests. If you contact us...More

          Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

          Great place to stay and an ideal base for travelling around this area. Comfy sleep, staff were great, very central location (for shops, pubs, cafes and Ferry), large communal chill out area. Not ideal for those expecting Hilton standards on shoestring prices. Thanks for being...More

          Thank Mitchell M
          Response from BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers PlusResponded 4 weeks ago

          Hi Mitchell! Thanks for the nice review! We did enjoy having the rugby club staying with us! Hope to see you again!

          Corran House
          376 reviews
          #17 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
           
          Oban Youth Hostel
          151 reviews
          #3 of 19 Speciality lodging in Oban
           
          Best Western The Queens Hotel
          886 reviews
          #3 of 13 hotels in Oban
           
          The Ranald Hotel
          792 reviews
          #2 of 13 hotels in Oban
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Breakfast included
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Breakfast included
          • Laundry Service
          Details
          • Price range
          • USD 40 - USD 62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Family Rooms ,
          • Non-Smoking Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 21
          • Reservation Options
          • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Plus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
          • Location
          • United Kingdom >
          • Scotland >
          • Argyll and Bute >
          • Oban
          • Also Known As
          • Backpackers Plus Oban, Scotland
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (41)
          Room & Suite (15)
          Dining (3)
          Hotel & Grounds (36)
          Bathroom (6)
          Family and Play Areas (1)
          Nearby
          Columba Hotel
          1,030 reviews
          .33 km away
           
          Regent Hotel
          996 reviews
          .28 km away
           
          Bay Great Western Hotel
          697 reviews
          .10 km away
           
          The Alexandra Hotel
          248 reviews
          .32 km away
           
          Rowantree Hotel
          324 reviews
          .31 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Coast Restaurant
          717 reviews
          .21 km away
          St Columba Hotel
          110 reviews
          .22 km away
          Oban Chocolate Company
          873 reviews
          .14 km away
          Oban Fish and Chip Shop
          1,358 reviews
          .18 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Caledonian MacBrayne - Oban Day Trips
          446 reviews
          .64 km away
          McCaig's Tower
          1,909 reviews
          .32 km away
          Oban War & Peace Museum
          593 reviews
          .23 km away
          Oban VisitScotland Information Centre
          147 reviews
          .49 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          lovetravelling107
          how much is the rate for a room for 2 pax with en-suite?
          26 April 2017|
          Answer
          Response from BackpackersPlus | Property representative |
          Hello ! At the moment, our en-suites are £25 per person per night. The price will change from the 1st of June for the summer period, going up to £29 per person per night. hope this was useful.
          0
          Votes
          Karen F
          Hi. Just wondering whether photographic ID is needed to stay at the hostel?
          17 January 2017|
          Answer Show all 5 answers
          Response from BackpackersPlus | Property representative |
          Hi Karen, Thanks for your question! It would be great if all our guests provided photograpic ID (passport, ID, drivers licence, etc.) but of course if you don't have any of those you are still welcome to stay with us. Hope... More
          1
          Vote
          Room Tips
          "the bright yellow extension to the hostel has cozy private rooms"
          Read review
          "Multi bed bunkrooms make for the best conversations"
          Read review
          "The room heated up nicely once I realized I had to turn the heaters on."
          Read review
          "Ask for a room with private bathroom if available."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing