We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Backpackers Plus

    The Old Church | Breadalbane St, Oban PA34 5PH, Scotland
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    04/06/2017 05/06/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          No availability for your dates from these sites
          Traveller (29)
          Room & Suite (9)
          Dining (3)
          Corran House
          357 reviews
          #17 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
           
          The Ranald Hotel
          788 reviews
          #2 of 13 hotels in Oban
           
          Best Western The Queens Hotel
          870 reviews
          #3 of 13 hotels in Oban
           
          Oban Bay Hotel
          1,699 reviews
          #6 of 13 hotels in Oban
           
          Overview
          • Excellent66%
          • Very good23%
          • Average7%
          • Poor1%
          • Terrible1%
          Travellers talk about
          “common room” (17 reviews)
          “old church” (9 reviews)
          “sky room” (7 reviews)
          Free Wifi
          Breakfast included
          Non-Smoking Hotel
          Family Rooms
          Laundry Service
          Free Parking
          Pool
          Restaurant
          All hotel details
          Corran House
          357 reviews
          #17 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
           
          The Ranald Hotel
          788 reviews
          #2 of 13 hotels in Oban
           
          Best Western The Queens Hotel
          870 reviews
          #3 of 13 hotels in Oban
           
          Oban Bay Hotel
          1,699 reviews
          #6 of 13 hotels in Oban
           
          {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (190)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 190 reviews

          Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

          Great place to stay and an ideal base for travelling around this area. Comfy sleep, staff were great, very central location (for shops, pubs, cafes and Ferry), large communal chill out area. Not ideal for those expecting Hilton standards on shoestring prices. Thanks for being...More

          Thank Mitchell M
          Response from BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers Plus

          Hi Mitchell! Thanks for the nice review! We did enjoy having the rugby club staying with us! Hope to see you again!

          Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

          Couldn't hope for a better deal! I stayed two nights in a private room with ensuite bathroom and paid £25/night (and was upgraded to a double room with a bath tub!). The price includes a breakfast (tea, coffee, cereals, toasts, jam, honey, you name it...)...More

          Thank CECILE H
          Response from BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers Plus

          Hi Cecile! Thank you very much for your amazing review! We are glad you enjoed your stay so much! We hope to see you again in the future!

          Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

          I don't stay in Hostels too often, but if they were all like this, that would change. Great atmosphere, good wifi, the kitchen in the morning is excellent and the fact that breakfast is included impressed me. The dorm rooms are all well lit and...More

          Thank Michael H
          Response from BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers Plus

          Hi Michael! Thank you for your nice review! There isn't much we can improve about how big our showers are: we used all the space we had. And , as you point out, we are a hostel: our soul is a easy going one! :)...More

          Reviewed 11 April 2017

          Travelled here with about 40 students who slept in the church-converted hostel. I had a single room in the bright yellow building next door: room #5 on the top floor -- about 8 ft. x 12 ft., large enough for a twin bed, wicker chair,...More

          Thank FayFuji
          Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

          Maybe i am growing to old but i was disappointed in the hostel. We travelled with haggis and booked a private room. The room was very small( each side of the bed just space to stand up), no toilet and no shower in the room...More

          Thank Loadie1980
          Response from BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers Plus

          I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us! We do offer en-suite rooms, but they are not usually booked by Haggis. If you had let us know about your complaint on Thursday night we could have upgraded you to an en-suite. I'm certain we...More

          Corran House
          357 reviews
          #17 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
           
          The Ranald Hotel
          788 reviews
          #2 of 13 hotels in Oban
           
          Best Western The Queens Hotel
          870 reviews
          #3 of 13 hotels in Oban
           
          Oban Bay Hotel
          1,699 reviews
          #6 of 13 hotels in Oban
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Breakfast included
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Breakfast included
          • Laundry Service
          Details
          • Price range
          • USD 40 - USD 52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Family Rooms ,
          • Non-Smoking Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 21
          • Reservation Options
          • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Plus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
          • Location
          • United Kingdom >
          • Scotland >
          • Argyll and Bute >
          • Oban
          • Also Known As
          • Backpackers Plus Oban, Scotland
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (29)
          Room & Suite (9)
          Dining (3)
          Hotel & Grounds (36)
          Family and Play Areas (1)
          Nearby
          Columba Hotel
          1,020 reviews
          .33 km away
           
          Regent Hotel
          982 reviews
          .28 km away
           
          Bay Great Western Hotel
          693 reviews
          .10 km away
           
          The Alexandra Hotel
          244 reviews
          .32 km away
           
          Rowantree Hotel
          319 reviews
          .31 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Coast Restaurant
          699 reviews
          .21 km away
          St Columba Hotel
          106 reviews
          .22 km away
          Oban Chocolate Company
          847 reviews
          .14 km away
          Oban Fish and Chip Shop
          1,327 reviews
          .18 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Caledonian MacBrayne - Oban Day Trips
          433 reviews
          .64 km away
          McCaig's Tower
          1,875 reviews
          .32 km away
          Oban War & Peace Museum
          582 reviews
          .23 km away
          Oban VisitScotland Information Centre
          147 reviews
          .49 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          lovetravelling107
          how much is the rate for a room for 2 pax with en-suite?
          26 April 2017|
          Answer
          Response from BackpackersPlus | Property representative |
          Hello ! At the moment, our en-suites are £25 per person per night. The price will change from the 1st of June for the summer period, going up to £29 per person per night. hope this was useful.
          0
          Votes
          Karen F
          Hi. Just wondering whether photographic ID is needed to stay at the hostel?
          17 January 2017|
          Answer Show all 5 answers
          Response from BackpackersPlus | Property representative |
          Hi Karen, Thanks for your question! It would be great if all our guests provided photograpic ID (passport, ID, drivers licence, etc.) but of course if you don't have any of those you are still welcome to stay with us. Hope... More
          1
          Vote
          Room Tips
          "the bright yellow extension to the hostel has cozy private rooms"
          Read review
          "Multi bed bunkrooms make for the best conversations"
          Read review
          "The room heated up nicely once I realized I had to turn the heaters on."
          Read review
          "Ask for a room with private bathroom if available."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing