We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Columba Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Columba Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

996 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Columba Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 926: English reviews
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

This hotel's location is the best in Oban. It has a great restaurant called Bar Rio which serves a mean steak! Staff are great, rooms are very nice. There is a lady called Pooja who works there who really looked after me and my family. Also, they serve the best cappuccinos in there cafe!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kully S
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Darrell Williams

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

Great place to stay, fantastic rooms and amazing views. Staff are so friendly... Will not hesitate to be back for another stay! The food is absolutely amazing and the steak is so juicy it just melts in your mouth. It's a family run hotel and they have done a fantastic job of making sure all guests are taken care of.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunitak27
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the Team at the hotel We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Darrell Williams

Glasgow
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We arrived and they were a bit not even polite, and when we left they didn't even say thanks, have a good day, it was just very cold behaviour... The room was nice, but really old fashioned, the lift like from the Titanic, all the furniture was very old, our room had the TV where you couldn't almost watch it,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 980pablo
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your experience with us;Your comments have been passed on and improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments. Kind Regards Darrell Williams

perth
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Had 2 rooms booked both were very shabby, electronic keys did not work,lift did not work,would not use this awful hotel again.bar service and bar area was very bad.windows were so dirty that we almost could not see out of them

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alexandermH8343YB
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your experience with us;Your comments have been passed on and improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments. Kind Regards Darrell Williams

Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Had a great break away for my birthday . Stayed in room w12 . Had amazing views of the water . Went to a seafood place right next to our hotel (ee-usk) for birthday dinner . A must try in Oban . Hotel breakfast was lovely too .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 220nicole
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and review and we are pleased to receive such good feedback. love that room Looking forward to welcoming you back to oban soon Many Thanks Darrell Williams

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights and I have to say, the staff were friendly from the moment we arrived. The staff: Our two year old daughter was constantly made a fuss of and she loved the attention.the staff were friendly and efficient and are a credit to the hotel. The room: It's a very old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James O
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future Many Thanks Darrell Williams

Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed in the Columba hotel 22/7/15, nice rustic hotel, location was fantastic, staff were friendly, WiFi was good, room was very clean and the cooked breakfast was A+++. Only issues were that the double bed we booked was actually 2 single beds pushed together (see pics) which was extremely uncomfortable and the outer side of the windows were very dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RickyMortis
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and review and we are pleased to receive such good feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you back to oban soon Many Thanks Darrell Williams

Reviewed 25 July 2015

my wife and myself stayed in the hotel for 3nights ! It was a great location in the centre of town. We had a fabulous room with sofa and the room was always clean and the beds were really comfy . We were really surprised to see the decor of the restaurant it was just fabulous with lights and curtains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scotwx
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and review and we are pleased to receive such good feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you back to oban soon Many Thanks Darrell Williams

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

Very good, central location. The (seaside) view from our third floor room was quite nice. Though this is hardly a selling point for a hotel, the bathrooms had a very interesting, modern look (and towel warmers!). I would recommend going elsewhere for dinner as there are many more iconic restaurants in Oban, but the breakfast was suitable. Would definitely go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thehpman6
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we are Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Oban soon Many Thanks Darrell Williams

scottish highlands
Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night,excellent location but limited parking.hotel needs some updating in areas but our room was clean,comfy&quiet.Staff were excellent .Breakfast was ok,could have been bit better quality&had bit more choice but it was always well stocked.definitely visit pokey hat ice cream shop across road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiona g
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and review and we are. Looking forward to welcoming you back to oban soon Many Thanks Darrell Williams

301 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
1,655 reviews
0.3 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
768 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
400 reviews
0.1 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
953 reviews
0.3 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $85 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Columba Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Columba Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“sea view turret rooms are the best. avoid rooms above reception, especially on the first floor as you can experience some noise from smokers”
 of 5 bubbles wakefieldj, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles robertlang2, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want a sea view I would request this when booking”
 of 5 bubbles 933alisons, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“if solo 312 great choice”
 of 5 bubbles Whatbob, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Bay view is worth the extra price.”
  • Lovely view but could hear people talking below.
  • Torn sheet
  • peeling paint
  • Lovely view from tired room.
  • paint on the wall paper
 of 5 bubbles kathieAHPlanner, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5